We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST South Beach has to offer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sagamore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sagamore to your Saves list
Sagamore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1671 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“THE BEST South Beach has to offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

If you want a fantastic hotel with great service and location but none of the obnoxiousness of South beach this is the place for you. We LOVED it. We have stayed just about everywhere in South Beach and this by far is the best. A boutique gem in a fantastic location. All rooms are suites and very clean and roomy. We stayed in a ground level bungalow and it was fantastic. What makes this hotel even better is the service. Cannot say enough about the people who work here. They are very polite, responsive and just wonderful. Gregory at the pool is about the nicest guy you could meet. Always there to help out and very pleasant. I was looking at the hotel for meeting space and their sales director, Ken Tutt is the very BEST. I worked with him in the past and can say he is wonderful - if you are planning a meeting in SOBE, I would highly recommend working with him.
This will be our hotel of choice when we return to Miami every year!!

Room Tip: A ground floor bungalow is the best. Plenty of room and just wonderfully comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Kastamaran000,

Thanks for sharing your feedback after your recent stay at Sagamore. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay here in one of our bungalow suites. The Bungalows have become one of our most popular room types as they are the most spacious rooms here at Sagamore and are especially a favorite for families traveling together.

We are very glad that you had such great praise about the service that our staff provided you during your stay as that is something that we at Sagamore take considerable pride in. We always try to deliver a memorable experience to all our guests and its obvious that our entire staff did their part to make sure your stay here was a flawless one.

We are happy to hear that you plan on returning to Miami for meetings in the future as you will find that our staff will treat your guests and clients with the same great level of service as you experienced.

Thanks again for choosing Sagamore!

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    336
    128
    67
    50
See reviews for
318
427
39
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

I recently spent 4 days at the Sagamore hotel. The Sagamore is a boutique hotel in a great location on South Beach. From the moment I arrived, the staff was friendly and helpful. I have been to Miami many times with friends. But this time I traveled solo for a short vacation, and found this hotel to be a very comfortable place to stay for a solo vacation. If you like art, the hotel is alot of fun because there is art everywhere. If you in the mood for a more low key place to stay, this is a great place. The one thing I suggest is for the hotel to find creative ways to use their space. They have alot of space that could be used. But all in all, a really great stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
2000Ali_B,

Thanks for your recent review of Sagamore. We are happy to hear that you had a great time on your first solo vacation.

Sagamore is the perfect getaway for a place to enjoy by yourself as there is always a staff member nearby to lend a helping hand. Whether it is delivering a mojito to your beach chair or arranging for a private tour of the art collection, you will never feel like your by yourself when you’re a guest of ours.

We hope you will choose Sagamore again in the future when returning to Miami. Thanks again for choosing Sagamore!

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The Sagamore is one of the classic art Deco buildings on South Beach. Does it have the most modern decor, the widest range of restaurants and the largest and most sophisticated pool - given it's vintage of course it does not. What is does represent is an opportunity to stay in a hotel that has the best location on south beach, has rooms that are twice the size of most hotels in the area, has a private section of south beach which offers some of the most fantastic swimming I have experienced (why anyone would want to use the pool is beyond me) and has a very obliging staff. I know that I would choose the latter every time.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Sean W,

Thank you for sharing your feedback after your stay here at Sagamore. We are very pleased to hear you speak so highly in regards to the service that you received from our staff.

What we lack in size we certainly make up for in our staff’s willingness to go the extra mile and as you mentioned our rooms are indeed nearly twice the size of many of our surrounding properties.

We thank you again for choosing Sagamore and hope you will return soon for another spectacular stay!

Best Regards,
James D’Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The Sagamore is known as the Artist Hotel; at the heart of the Sagamore Miami art deco hotel is the Cricket Taplin Collection of contemporary art. There is art everywhere you turn; quotes by artists, murals in the stairwell, videos in the garden and other artsy installations throughout the hotel.
Situated within the historic Miami Beach Art Deco District at the crossroads of the Lincoln Road Mall and Collins Avenue,the Sagamore is an easy walk to anywhere you want to go.There is a stunning breakfast room, a poolside grill, and a great bar, where you can watch the sun go down. At the time we were there the Sagamore did not have a dining room, but they say there are plans to open one in 2015. The Spa offers "deals" to guests, so ask when you check in. The swimming pool and its environs are extremely relaxing, with chaise lounges, thick towels, waiters who will take your drink order and other amenities.

All in all a wonderrfully inviting experience. My husband and I stayed in one of the comfortable and modern studio rooms the week before Christmas last year and have already made reservations to return the week before Christmas this year. The difference in price between the week before Christmas and Christmas week is considerable so plan carefully when you want to be there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Jopyxis,

Thanks for taking a moment to share your review of Sagamore. We are glad that you got the opportunity to truly enjoy the Sagamore collection as there truly is no other hotel around with such an extensive array of artwork. Our collection rivals that of many museums and we are very happy that you truly appreciated just how special it is.

Our location is also second to none, as our proximity to Lincoln Road and the surrounding shops and cafes makes Sagamore a perfect place for our guests that want to explore the local area and see exactly what South Beach has to offer.

We are very happy to hear that you plan on returning again this Christmas and we will be sure to provide you with an experience even better than your last. Thanks again for choosing Sagamore and we will see you in December!

Best Regards,
James D’Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Nevis
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Lovely staff & great art. The rooms and the pool area needs an upgrade. Great location. But it did not give us the wow feeling we were looking for. Not much charm either. Overall ok. It's so many of these kind of hotels in South Beach, so it's hard to know wish one has been upgraded and wish has not. I would probably try an other one next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Hedda W,

We appreciate your feedback after your stay with us at Sagamore. We are sorry that your experience here fell short of your expectations, as we never want our guests to leave with a negative experience.

We are happy to hear that despite your displeasure with the facility, our staff was able to do their part to stand out as a bright spot of your visit here. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to provide you with a better experience. We thank you again for choosing Sagamore.

Best Regards,
James D”Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This hotel was the worst hotel on South Beach. The bar was closed through out the whole week of our stay. When asked about this we were told that due to the end of the season everything was slowing down but there was no mention of this in the brochure. There are only a few sun beds around the pool and every day 8 beds were reserved by the pool attendant on the instructions of Kevin the manager regardless of whether the guests were at the beach all day,when asked about this we were told they were returning guests and this is what happens,even though we had to sit on chairs for the day. We complained and the managers' idea of resolving the matter was to reserve 4 beds for us and put our room number on the beds for the other people to see even though we had not asked for this nor would we have wanted this . Check your bill thoroughly before you pay it as there were 2 amounts we did not recognise and when we pointed this out they were taken off the bill. We asked for a late check out when we arrived and was told the hotel was not full and this should not be a problem but when Kevin was asked on our final day he told us the hotel was full and we had to be out of our room at 2pm. We checked with reservations who told us there were plenty of rooms available. We questioned Kevin who was rude and abrupt and put the phone down on us. We proceded to call the manger over Kevin who apologised and gave us a room until we left for the airport. Never will I go to this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were told we had an ocean view. All we saw were the palm trees right infront of room with a side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
396Lisa,

Thank you for your feedback after your stay with us here at Sagamore. We are very sorry to hear that your experience was not up to par as you will notice from our many wonderful reviews that this is certainly not a normal occurrence here at Sagamore.

We always do our best to make sure that all our guests experience the service they are looking for and it’s unfortunate that you left with such a less than stellar time. We hope we do get the opportunity in the future to host you again and provide you with a true “Sagamore experience,” and show you exactly why Sagamore has become one of the top hotels here in Miami Beach.

Thanks again for choosing Sagamore and please feel free to reach out to me directly when you would like to return. I have provided my contact info below for your convenience.

Best Regards,
James D‘Agostino
James@Sagamorehotel.com
305.728.3224
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had a great vacation one of the best time in miami beach. The hotel is clean, good food, nice pool, lovely staff!!! We met Louissaint, a very nice person and very professional!!! He made the sofabed for the kids and talk to them very nice! Give them all informations about where to go, where to do good shopping! We had a child with physical problem and Louissaint was so nice and patient with him!!! We will absolutely comeback!!! Thanks Louissaint.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Louvens C,

Thanks for your terrific 5 star review of Sagamore. We are thrilled that you and your family had such a great time here with us.

It is obvious that our staff went above and beyond to make sure all aspects of your stay were flawless and Louissaint seems to have especially been a part of this.

We hope you will indeed comeback soon for another “dream vacation.” Thanks again for choosing Sagamore!

Best Regards,
James D’Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagamore

Address: 1671 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagamore 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Suite Hotel, guest rooms with individual decors, private art collections; set on the ocean, near convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sagamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagamore Miami Beach
Sagamore Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sagamore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.