We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art Deco gem with great design, location and service, but not flawless” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sagamore

Save Saved
You added Sagamore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sagamore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1671 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Suite Life
Ranked #20 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
Cent FL
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Art Deco gem with great design, location and service, but not flawless”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Sagamore is a lovely hotel with a great location on Collins Avenue. It provides a respite from the craziness of Ocean Drive, but is just a short walk away from the action. Convenience stores, pizza and other small eateries are just steps from the hotel. It's also within a couple of blocks of Lincoln Road and Espanola Way, which are pedestrian-friendly areas with all kinds of shops, galleries, restaurants and entertainment.

This self-described 'art hotel' lives up to that moniker, as the hotel's public areas contain sculptures, paintings, photographs, and other artistic elements. The mix of art and Art Deco make for a visual and intellectual treat. The hotel's decor is done in mostly white, as a backdrop for the art. The ambience could best be described as 'museum-chic'.

The outside areas at the rear of the hotel have well-manicured bushes and shrubs as well as palm trees that cover the small but beautiful pool. There is also a 'video garden' where there is additional outdoor seating, but the video garden as 'art' didn't come across as interesting as it sounded. The outdoor areas were all nice, feeling private and lush despite their small size.

The rooms also have a white theme, but furnishings help to provide some color. Small touches, like a coral-base lamp, gently remind one of the beach. These elements give the rooms a slightly warmer feel than the main hotel areas.

Our room was a corner/oceanfront suite with absolutely STUNNING oceanfront views. There were sliding glass doors that opened to a small but lovely balcony. The balcony itself overlooked the hotel's courtyard and pool area below, with the beachfront and ocean just beyond--it was a spectacular sight. (Keep in mind that views and balcony availability vary by room type).

There was a large, white L-shaped couch, and a mirrored bar area with a large flat-screen incorporated into it. There was also a large desk with chairs and a translucent, modern coffee table. An iron and ironing board, mini-fridge and a microwave were included. Thankfully, the mini-fridge was only half-stocked, allowing guests some room for their own items.

There were also nice lighting touches in the room with table lamps, track-lighting, as well as dimmer switches to 'set the mood'. The suite (possibly because it was on the top floor), had very high ceilings, giving it a sense of grandness throughout.

The living room and bedroom were separated by glass-paned double-doors, so you could still enjoy ocean views from the bedroom area. There was a second, smaller flat-screen TV in the bedroom, and a mirrored closet in the wall next to the bed.

The bed itself was fabulous in terms of looks and comfort. It was plush without being 'mushy’, and my wife and I slept very well. The bed linens were crisp, white and of high quality. There were two tell, modern, chic lights on both sides of the bed, and there was a very high, padded headboard that made it feel even more luxurious.

The marble bathroom was clean, beautiful and functional. There was a large white sink (that also acted as counter), and a tall mirror. Towels and toiletries were all neatly arranged. The bathroom was lit by modern, museum-style track lights. There was also a large Jacuzzi tub for good soaking baths. The toilet had its own little room, which could be closed off for privacy with a frosted glass pocket door.

The rest of the hotel and public areas were clean and elegant. The restaurant sat near the back of the hotel on the lobby level; it was also elegant and chic in the white decor, but rarely did it have anyone dining there except for breakfast. I did not eat there, so I could not comment on the food.

The check-in process was very smooth and handled professionally. All of the staff were friendly and seemed to go out of their way to make us feel welcome throughout our stay. Doormen and valets were also efficient, friendly and prompt. Housekeeping had the rooms looking as immaculate as possible. I have nothing but positive things to say about the staff.

As slick and as artsy as the Sagamore was, it was not without flaws. The Jacuzzi jets in our bathtub did not work. To be fair, we didn't mention the problem until check-out since it was not that important to us during our stay...but it is worth mentioning for this review. The water pressure was on the lighter side, which meant quite a wait for the large tub to fill.

There were a few other minor things like scuff marks on the translucent coffee table and the cushions on the white couch showed slight signs of wear. The closet in the bedroom was difficult to open, and the long table in the bedroom and the table and chairs on the balcony felt a little on the cheap and flimsy side. As long as keep your expectations in check and realize this isn't quite at the level of the Ritz-Carlton or Four Seasons, you should really enjoy this unique, beautiful property.

Overall, the Sagamore is a great hotel with a fantastic location, large rooms, beach access and provides a sense of privacy in the busy SoBe area. My wife and I loved the suite and the incredible beach views from the room and balcony. The art and Art Deco architecture certainly made this a unique and special property worth a stay. We felt the rates were very good for the high quality of hotel that it was, and I left feeling very impressed with our entire experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dbfoodie,

Thanks for sharing your review after your stay here with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here at Sagamore. We take great pride in our extensive art collection and we are glad that you took notice to just how stunning our collection here is. We also take pride in our garden area as well as the rest of our property as our maintenance staff as well as housekeeping department are constantly striving to make the public areas looking as nice as possible.

We urge you on your next visit to try pur wonderful restaurant either in the main dining room or even poolside as we have a terrific menu with many items that have become favorites of our past guests. We thank you again for your choice to stay with us and we hope you will return in the future for an even better stay!

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    322
    121
    63
    48
See reviews for
299
404
35
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northeast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for four nights from September 7th to 11 as a couple and a friend . We weren't happy with the way our first room was configured. Great for two but not for the three of us. The front desk staff were fantastic, Jose showed us another two rooms and left us to decide which one suited us best.

The rooms have doors which divide the bedroom from the sitting room. Ours had clear glass, some are frosted. Not a problem, the reception staff (sorry,I didn't get their names) had some curtains sent up and they clipped them on to the doors.

There was plenty of storage space in the bedroom.
The sitting room had a pull out sofa bed, it wasn't the most comfortable. The turn down staff made it up in the evening.

There's a set of drawers but no closets in the sitting room. Again, the reception staff had a solution. A rail that they use for their fashion shoots was quickly set up in the corner, fantastic customer service. All done with a smile.
Our friend could access the bathroom from a corridor off the sitting room.

We were on the 3rd floor and had a balcony that overlooked the garden.
We weren't charged any extra for this. Thank you, once again.

Housekeeping was great, the hotel is very clean. The rooms were nicely kept with a good range of Aveda toiletries. Plenty of good quality towels.
The sitting room had a sink a microwave and a fridge. There was a coffee maker, plenty of coffee, tea and dreamers.
The mini bar was expensive, water was $10! No worries, the is a Walgreens in the next block.
The location to Lincoln road and its shops and restaurants is fantastic, just a five minute walk.

The breakfast was good, a choice of eggs, bacon ,cheese, meats, salmon etc. Cold choices were, muffins, croissants, pastries, fruit, yoghurt. The orange juice was great.

We didn't eat at the restaurant so can't comment on the food but the dining are was nicely set up. The hotel bar was closed.

We did buy the " Sagamore plan " which costs $18 per day, this gets you a breakfast, a beach chair ( an umbrella is extra ), shame on you Sagamore and allows internet access for 24hours. Again a bit of a shame that the hotel is charging for Internet

The pool area is very nice. Steve made up our beds for us and made sure we had some shade. The pool is small but wasn't busy when we were there so was great for us
The bar staff were good too.
Beach access is easy ( room key needed to return so good security) you also need your key to use the elevators.

The Sagamore is a lovely hotel, well priced in a great location.

The owners should feel very proud of all of the staff, everyone greeted us with a smile and we were made to feel very welcome. If I was ever back in South Beach I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Seedy2,

Thanks for sharing your review of Sagamore. It sounds as you received a first class experience from our staff as they had an answer for any issue you may have incurred. They can truly be the difference in starting someone’s stay off on the right foot as they have the ability to handle any situation that comes their way.

We are glad that your were able to find the right room to fit your particular needs while here and also that we were able to upgrade you to one of our garden view suites with a balcony.

We are glad to hear that you would like to return to Sagamore and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Thanks again for choosing Sagamore!

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Where do I begin?. I was slightly apprehensive having chose this hotel with British Airways holidays after we had to change from a previously booked golf resort due to some of the tripadvisor reviews. I needn't have worried as the place is excellent. The staff are all lovely, especially Jose ( at the front door). Anna, young waitress at breakfast . Then you have Steve, the pool attendant. He goes out of his way to make sure everybody's bed is made up as and where they want it and is usually spot on with his weather predictions . We spoke to Danny at the beach and don't know what all the negative comments are about him, he's very pleasant.
The management guys are great too and a special thanks to James Dagostino, who insured we had a great stay.
Rooms are lovely, huge beds and lovely bedding. The towels in the room and at the pools were thick and fluffy, good stuff!
We had a garden view room with a partial view of the ocean. Was a lovely room with a balcony. We paid extra to upgrade to this direct to the hotel and was worth it. Our cleaner had to be spoken to about not hoovering and not replenishing the toiletries by myself, but once that was done we had no issues regarding cleaning .
The breakfast was good. Scrambled eggs , the usual hotel streaky bacon, lovely pancakes and maple syrup. Croissants, lots of different breads, fresh fruit, smoked salmon and great juices and teas and coffees . Great staff in the restaurant, never any dirty plates on the tables here.
The hotel is central and close to all the main South Beach areas.
It would be great if the bar was open in the hotel at night. I think it would encourage guests to eat in the hotel restaurant more if the bar was open, don't know why it's not, I never got round to asking!!
My only criticism is the white leather seating in the rooms and the public areas. Some of it, and only some, has seen better days and would be much better as black leather. A lot easier to keep clean and would still suit the ambience of the hotel....BUT don't let that put you off staying at the Sagamore, it's a great hotel !

Room Tip: Ask for a high room, garden view, 309, 409.509 would be great value if you don't fancy laying fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Flutterbyer,


Thanks for your terrific 5 star review of Sagamore! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time here with us.

We are very happy to hear such great feedback about our staff here as it is evident that they had a big impact in making your stay so special. They truly are what makes the Sagamore what it is and we are happy you got to see that first hand.

In regards to the bar area, as of now the only bar that we do keep open in the evening is the one located at the pool area. We urge you next time to take advantage of this as it is the perfect place to have a cocktail before a night out on the town.

We hope that you will be returning to Sagamore soon so that we may provide you with another fabulous stay here with us. Thanks again for choosing Sagamore.

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Wow! When we first arrived, the very friendly staff (thank you, Jose!) met us at our cab & immediately made us feel comfortable and at ease. The ocean side view is beautiful ... We spent a lot of time out by the pool and enjoyed the relaxing environment - Zoran at the pool bar is an absolute delight and I just can't say enough about him; he is one of our favorite parts of our stay! Everything was clean & easy to navigate - well placed with close shopping and restaurants. Just an amazing few days in beautiful, sunny Miami!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
John_DA3989PA

Thanks for taking the time to share your terrific feedback about Sagamore. We are delighted your stay here in Miami was so amazing.

We are happy you took advantage of our close proximity to the many shopping areas and restaurants that our right outside our door, as our location is right in the heart of South Beach.

I will be sure to share your great praise with Zoran, Jose, and the rest of our great team here at Sagamore. We hope to see you again soon and perhaps next time you can stay even longer as Miami can be a difficult place to leave!

Thanks again for your review and we appreciate you making Sagamore your first choice here on South Beach!

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was a girls trip to celebrate my 25th birthday and my bachelorette all in one. We arrived around 7pm to a friendly young woman at the desk who helped get the 5 of us situated. She quickly reviewed the reservation and gave us our keys and congratulated me on my up coming wedding and birthday. Before heading to our suite she asked if she could send me a bottle of wine or champagne which I thought was very nice. Miguel who was helping us with all our luggage said as soon as he got us relaxed in the room he would bring my bottle up. So said so done! The room was okay nothing over the top but it was clean but my girlfriends who divided up the cost of the room were a bit disappointed. One major eye sore was the couch looked horrible it was literary flaking off every time we sat on it. It looked really bad but we weren't too focused on that. We were to busy getting ready to head out for the night and toasting with the bottle of Moët they sent. While getting ready we noticed the iPod dock only worked for IPhone 4 and older. Also the iron was leaking and made ironing anything a challenge. Another observation was the tub/ shower was very dated and the pressure was really low which really irritated me. Now onto the housekeeping, yes the beds were made, trash was taken out after we came back from breakfast but that was about It. Nothing really looked wiped off or refreshed. Later on we ventured to the pool which we thoroughly enjoyed the palm trees and complete setting with the lounge chairs and cabanas. The beach was literary a step or two away were we soaked in more rays and enjoyed the pretty blue waters. The staff was great but the hotel needs to do some serious upgrading

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
A_Hatcher1319,

We appreciate your feedback after your stay here at Sagamore for your birthday/bachelorette weekend. We apologize for the minor hiccups you mentioned as we always want our guests to have the best experience possible while here with us.

We are sorry to hear that the pressure in the bathroom was not suitable and we would have loved the chance to have been able to correct that for you while you were here. Our housekeeping department typically pays great attention to detail when servicing the suites however it appears as a few things may have fallen through the cracks as you mentioned.

We hope that overall our staff was able to provide you with a great overall experience and we look forward to the opportunity to provide you with a flawless stay on your next visit to South Beach. Thank you again for choosing Sagamore.

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed there 9/10/13 thru 9/12/2013 and it was fabulous. Zoran and Mauricio at the pool bar were amazing. The hotel is sparkling clean and everyone was so friendly. I will definitely go back. Oh, and the breakfast buffet for 18 bucks is well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Kidznp,

Thanks for your 5 star review of Sagamore. We are happy to hear that you felt like a queen during your recent visit with us.

Our staff always tries to go the extra mile for our guests and its obvious their efforts did not go unnoticed. We will make sure to share your kind words with our bar staff as it seems they played a key role in your memorable experience during your time here.

Thanks again for choosing Sagamore and we look forward to welcoming you back with us again soon!


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Hit it at the right time you can live like royalty at a reasonable price. That's what we did when we purchased a Social Living coupon for the Sagamore for a two night/three day stay in the heart of South Beach just after Labor Day weekend. No crowds, no congestion, and no tropical storms.

The hotel automatically upgraded us to a suite that normally runs $500 a night in peak season. Our cost: $169.00 not including taxes. Still, it was less than $200 a night. The deal also included complimentary breakfast for two (full hot & cold buffet) plus a complimentary bottle of wine.

The Sagamore is truely unique in that it's nickname is "The Art Hotel." Art work is everywhere: in your room, the hallways, by the pool, and even in the stairwells.

The staff is friendly from the general manger down to the custodian. Everyone there asked how we are doing, is there anything they can do for us, and went all out to make our stay fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
FloridaGuy55,

We appreciate your feedback after your stay here with us. We are glad that you took advantage of the living social promotion as it certainly was a tremendous deal with many incentives for our guests.

Labor day weekend is a gret time here in Miami as it is not as crazy as some of the other holiday weekends and it seems like you chose the perfect time for your staycation. We urge you to keep an eye on our website or contact us to be on our mailing list so that we may keep you up to date on all the latest promotions that we are offering here at Sagamore.

We thank you again for choosing Sagamore and we look forward to your next stay here with us!

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagamore

Address: 1671 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagamore 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Suite Hotel, guest rooms with individual decors, private art collections; set on the ocean, near convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sagamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagamore Miami Beach
Sagamore Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sagamore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.