We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was great as usual, but avoid it during the Ultra Music Festival” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sagamore

Save Saved
You added Sagamore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sagamore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1671 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Suite Life
Ranked #13 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Bonner Springs
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Service was great as usual, but avoid it during the Ultra Music Festival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is always my favorite place to stay on South Beach. My one complaint, not about the Sagamore, but their neighbors to the north, The National. The National has always been a party hotel, loud pool and DJ's, but during Ultra Music Festival it was on steroids. They had feature DJ's that cranked up the volume and really ruined the vibe at the Sagamore. This was the first time my kids stayed there with me, two college age and one high school. They thought the music next door was too much, and that is saying a lot considering two of them wanted to attend Ultra. The crazy thing was that by 9 the National pool was cleared out, but they kept the music cranked until past midnight.

This was the first time I stayed in the bungalows, I normally stay on the top floor ocean front suites. It really worked well for the family, especially how the bathroom was set with separate bathtub/sink and toilet/shower sections with an entrance to the room and the hall. The sofa sleeper which are usually uncomfortable nightmares was fairly comfortable; this one had a memory foam mattress. My kids loved the hotel and would be happy to come back.

Room Tip: If you are staying with the kids, the bungalows are great and open to the pool. The nice thing is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
StealAway71,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay here. Ultra music festival certainly is one of the busiest and loudest times here on South Beach and we apologize in regards to the noise coming from the neighboring hotels.

We are however happy to hear that you and your family were still able to enjoy your stay here with us despite the noise. The bungalow is a great choice for a family as it provides the most space and the separation of the upstairs and downstairs also provides plenty of privacy as well.

We hope that you will return soon to Sagamore so that we may provide you with another wonderful experience for you and your family. Thanks again for choosing Sagamore.


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    586
    309
    119
    61
    45
See reviews for
275
395
33
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from 5 nights at The Sagamore (our first time in SoBe). Amazing! Garden View Suite was beautiful (and big!), we had two teens who slept on the sofa bed. The bathroom is accessible from the hall or the bathroom, so plenty of privacy (and french doors between the bedroom and living areas). I really didn't know what to expect but WOW our week was just perfect. I can't complain about one single thing: super room, pool and beach awesome, staff wonderful. It was just a fantastic week. Can't beat the location, walk out the door take a left and Lincoln Rd is right there. Most times we're ready to get home after being away, but we had such a great time we (all 4 of us ages 12 to 52) wanted to stay another night but couldn't work out the flights. Sad to come home!
Pick this place if you want a neat Art Deco boutique hotel. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
M M,


Thanks for your terrific 5 star review of Sagamore. We are delighted to hear that you had such a great time here in one of our garden view suites. These suites are definitely spacious enough to accommodate a family, but also provide the balcony which is a perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine when the kids finally go to bed.

We are sorry that you were not able to extend your stay but now you have all the more reason to return for another great stay. I suggest next time trying one of our oceanfront suites as it is very similar to the garden view, but with a better view.

Whichever room type you decide, we greatly look forward to welcoming you back here on another visit. Thanks again for choosing the Sagamore!


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was my second time at the Sagamore and it is definitely a Miami favorite!

I was in town for a meeting at the convention center and the location (walking distance) could not be better...and, the hotel is steps away from Lincoln Road, close to all South Beach nightlife and amazing restaurants, and is literally on the beach with direct access and lounge chairs/umbrellas. The hotel also has a gorgeous pool. What more could we ask for?? After spending long days at the convention center it was a pleasure to come home to a beautiful suite with modern, yet cozy decor, and the view of the pool area and the ocean was serene and relaxing. 

Our bedroom had a huge bed with crisp and clean white linens with luxurious pillows. We were even able to plug our iPhones into the stereo by the bed to listen to our own playlists - very nice perk! 
 
The bathroom was spacious with a jacuzzi-style tub and delicious bathroom products. We felt like we were at a spa! 

Lastly, the service was excellent. From the check-in process to the late night room service to the breakfast buffet, the staff was attentive and professional. The artisan pizza and apple crisp we ordered for room service were above par - I'm still thinking about the dessert :) 

We would definitely return to this hotel in the future, whether it be for business or for pleasure, without hesitation! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
NYCgirl,


Thanks for your terrific feedback after your recent stay at Sagamore. We are very happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay here with us.

It is obvious that Sagamore was an ideal destination for you to be able to not only work but at the same time enjoy all the other benefits that Miami has to offer. Our proximity to the convention center makes us a perfect choice for anyone that is coming here and looking for a hotel that is close enough to walk there and also provides with enough luxurious amenities to be able to enjoy oneself when they finish a long day of work.

We hope to see you again at Sagamore soon! Thanks again for sharing your review.


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a place for those who are interested in art and a more relaxed hotel. You live next door to all the bars and clubs of south beach, but stepping into this hotel, the owners are not too keen to have a Hakkasan or a Nobu combined with a fancy bar in order to protect their collection of modenr art. We have paid less than USD 300 off-season and got upgraded to a penthouse suite - the best value ever in SB. Good service and the food is very good, but you are a bit lonely at this hotels food-outlets. The hotel is a bit used, but so are the other trendy hotels in the are

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Gudleiy,


Thanks for taking a moment to share your review of Sagamore. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here. Sagamore is a little more quiet than some of the surrounding properties, but many times that adds to our appeal.

It is however the perfect place to begin the night with a drink or an appetizer at our pool bar as we are surrounded by many of the best bars, clubs, and restaurants that South Beach has to offer. Our spacious suites make even a long stay here a comfortable one and there is no better spot to spend the day than our pool or beachfront in our lounge chairs.

We greatly appreciate all your feedback and we look forward to your next visit to Sagamore!


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located, convenient, but not too loud. The staff is really friendly, especially Rudy at the reception, 5-star service! The staff really go out of their way to assist you. Great vibe, chic but not snobby.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Highpanda,

Thanks for your 5 star review of Sagamore. We are thrilled to hear such wonderful feedback about our staff. We always pride ourselves on our 5 star service and it’s nice to hear that it did not go unnoticed.

I will be sure to pass along all of your praise to Rudy and the rest of the team here at Sagamore. We thank you for your great review and look forward to your next stay here.


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are Getting shabby as are Interior hallways. So so service. Cleaning crew especially, were oblivious to our leaving in the middle of the day. They wanted to clean at their convenience. Even though a DJ party next door (which no one warned us about) made the pool a nightmare they still charged for beach chairs.

There are so many hotels in Miami beach I would keep looking if I were you. The location is awesome, but the Ritz Carlton is right next door.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Kimgavin,

Thanks for your review after your stay here at Sagamore. We apologize as it is obvious that your stay was not up to par and that you may have had a few issues here that effected your overall experience.

We apologize if your room received service late in the day as we always do our best to try to get all the service done as early as possible. We also apologize about the music as there can be several special events going on at nearby hotels with loud music that are out of our control.

I would like the opportunity to speak with you directly about your stay. Please contact me at your convienence to discuss. I have provided my information below. I look forward to the opportunity to speak with you directly. Thank you again for choosing Sagamore.


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The older guy with glasses works at the pool is extremely rude to everyone, and complains that no one tips him (I wonder why!). it ruins the entire experience for us. The breakfast selection is very limited, not recommended. The location is great.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagamore

Address: 1671 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagamore 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Suite Hotel, guest rooms with individual decors, private art collections; set on the ocean, near convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sagamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagamore Miami Beach
Sagamore Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sagamore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.