We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biggest Rooms, Best Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sagamore

Save Saved
You added Sagamore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sagamore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1671 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Suite Life
Ranked #21 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Kensington, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Biggest Rooms, Best Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I have stayed in Miami Beach/South Beach on a number of occasions. There are many great hotels and many are quite expensive. What makes the Sagamore unique is the size of the rooms. It is not one of the beautifully restored art deco properties but is instead modern and art filled. Our suite consisted of a large bedroom, separate living room, kitchenette, and large bathroom. The room was spotless and bathroom filled with Aveda products. Perhaps most important is that the room was very quiet at night allowing for a restful sleep.

The location is the best. It backs to the beach and is far away enough from the road that noise is not an issue. It is two blocks from Lincoln Rd. There certainly is not much of a late night scene but that can be found nearby. The pool is lovely and beach service attentive.

I would not recommend buying the daily Sagamore Plan which is $18 per person. That gives you breakfast and a free chair on the beach (chairs at the pool are free without the plan). There are so many nice coffee shops near by for breakfast and we did not sit on the beach everyday of our trip thus paying for the plan would have made little sense (We had payed for it on a previous Sagamore stay). In summary, the Sagamore has the best location and best rooms for the money, it is however very expensive, and the quiet which I enjoy may not be for everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hivedoc,

Thanks for the terrific review of Sagamore. We are happy to hear that you have stayed here with us on several occasions. We certainly are unique as we have one of the largest art collections you will find in any hotel and also have some of the largest suites here on south beach.

Our location is second to none when it comes to our proximity to Lincoln road and Ocean Drive, where you can find some of the best restaurants around.

We thank you again for choosing Sagamore and we hope that you will continue to do so when traveling to Miami in the future.


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    606
    322
    121
    63
    48
See reviews for
299
404
35
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is delightful from almost every point of view: great location on the boardwalk, excellent Argentine chef for lunch around the pool, tasteful design, spacious rooms, good service. But there is one fatal flaw: the noise from the adjoining hotel is unbearable. Disco music with mega bass speakers overwhelms the room until 2AM, and then canned music takes over from 6AM on. We had to buy earplugs at the CVS down the street for our second - and last - night at the hotel.

I strongly recommend avoiding this hotel until they soundproof the bay windows in the "luxury" bungalows.

Room Tip: Stay away from the bungalows until they soundproof the bay windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Robertonathan,

Thanks for taking a moment to share your review after your stay with us. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced as a result of our neighbors. South Beach is full of many clubs, hotels and restaurants, many of which do have private functions with live music and entertainment. We always do our best to let our guests know when we do anticipate something which may cause extra disturbance, however sometimes this is beyond our control.

We hope that our level of service and our overall facilities did in fact leave a good impression with you and we hope in the future you will give us another opportunity to show you that Sagamore is truly one of the finest properties on South Beach.

We thank you again and hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moutier, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is the perfect place for a stay in South Beach. The location is fantastic: the beach, Lincoln Avenue, nice shops and restaurants, everything is very close. Furthermore the local is very peaceful and wonderfuly decorated. The staff is very efficient, friendly and helpful. Difficult to imagine another place with all those qualities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Zina T

Thanks for your review of our property. We are very pleased to hear such wonderful feedback about our entire property.

Our staff is very dedicated to making sure that everyone who travels to Sagamore has an experience similar to yours and we are happy that you were able to see this first hand.

We hope that you have found your new home away from home here at Sagamore and we look forward to your next stay here with us.

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w0rldtraveller-360
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I had to find a place to stay at the very last minute and I remembered this hotel from many years ago from before South Beach became too commercial.
I was pleasantly surprised to find out that this hotel managed to keep the magic of that time . We only had an issue with the magnetic door keys and the place should be a bit cheaper considering the barebones breakfast and lack of views of the rooms assigned to us . The concierge people were very accommodating but lacked experience. Over all a good stay and the location is very convenient .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Cool room but overlooking a building site and woken up at 8 am with very noisey and crude builders. Staff are quite frienfly but nothing special. It's a good enough hotel but missing something. Unless you get a very good deal it's probably overpriced.

Bottom line - ok but pricey

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed as a family of three for 3 nights in September. The rooms are very nice....Lovely and clean too. The kitchenette is very handy and products are good.Very attractive hotel and good value too. Very handy for walking in to SB also.
The only creative criticisms I/we have: The music is a bit too loud by the pool and when we were there....it took a while to have our things cleared away.
The pizzas need a little more flavor!
The 'White lights' on the balcony are not very nice....I am sure a low watt bulb would be better...the curtains do not quite close...so we had constant light coming in.
These are minor but thought it was good to note these details!
Overall though a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Domenge3,

Thanks for sharing your review after your recent stay here with your family. We are very happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us.

I have made note of your several suggestions in regards to the room and it is certainly something that we will take a look at. We always let our guests know to make us aware of any issues they have while here so we can try to correct them on the spot.

We thank you again for your feedback and hope that you will be returning to stay here with us again soon!


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Well I honestly didn't know what to expect at first, I chose the "Sag" primarily because of its legendary reputation, unbeatable price, and location of course. My first impression was that it certainly wasn't the largest hotel, but it had charm, and so did the staff!! Let me say that the service was first class all the way!!! From the moment I entered this place I could feel the positive energy from the lovely girl Dailin at the front desk. The barage of bellboys was orchestrated by a professional named Linford, these gentleman handled my luggage as if it were their own. The Man who appeared to be in charge, James, made me feel like I was the president of the United States!! He accomodated every request my wife and son could possibly think of, he even gave my son a piggyback ride to the room! Danny the beach attendant was also quite accomodating, he helped my lovely wife with her tanning lotion while I enjoyed the warm torquoize water that South Beach had to offer. I could go on for hours about our stay at this exquisite luxury hotel, but to sum up the experience, The Sagamore is truely the jewel of southern Florida.

Room Tip: Ask for james!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Amin n

Thanks for sharing your terrific review of Sagamore. We are thrilled to hear that our staff made such an impact on your families stay here with us.

We always consider our staff to be the backbone of this property and it is the one aspect that can set us apart from similar properties. It is obvious that our entire team went above and beyond to provide you with quite the memorable stay and we hope that you will now choose Sagamore each and every time you decide to travel to Miami.

We thank you again for choosing Sagamore and look forward to your next stay with us!

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagamore

Address: 1671 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagamore 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Suite Hotel, guest rooms with individual decors, private art collections; set on the ocean, near convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Sagamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagamore Miami Beach
Sagamore Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sagamore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.