We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated Hotel in South Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sagamore

Save Saved
You added Sagamore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sagamore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1671 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Suite Life
Ranked #20 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sophisticated Hotel in South Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

My friend and I stayed at the Sagamore for a girl's weekend. South Beach is congested yet the Sagamore is extremely calm; it's quintessential South Beach with white and chrome decor. Artwork is funky yet glamorous. The location is great for walking the Art Deco area. The Set is literally one block away, and a great hot spot for nightlife. Food and drink are high (Jack&Coke, $12) but everything in South Beach is expensive. Grab groceries on your way into town. Even the vallet is $37.50 per night. The pool itself is small yet adequate; a piece of art itself. There are great places to lounge under an umbrella and the boardwalk is steps away. The beach is just past the boardwalk and there are chairs to rent. The 2 bedroom was spacious with a clean, modern kitchen and updated furniture/bedding. Nice flat panel on the wall. There is a safe in the room. The closet was not easy to get in/out (it was near the bed) yet overall, there was good space for a stay of a few nights. If you want to "feel" South Beach, I highly recommend the hotel. It has a boutique flair yet spacious living and social areas. Fab dinner at Prime (near Nikki Beach).

Room Tip: Request a room with the most updated decor/bedding. Some have views/some don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Midlandmom,

Thank you for your 5 star review of Sagamore. We are delighted to host you and your friends for your girls weekend getaway.

Our 2 bedroom suites can definetly make for a comfortable and enjoyable stay as they provide great living space with the benefit of a second bathroom as well which is most appreciated by a large group of girls getting ready for a night out on the town.

We look forward to your next stay with us and thanks again for choosing Sagamore.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    322
    121
    63
    48
See reviews for
299
404
35
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

I searched and found the hotel on trip advisor. Most reviews were positive but you always get a few negatives. We selected the hotel based on reviews, location and price. I was a little on the high side, but we did upgrade to ocean view, top floor. The room was fantastic, redone art deco, but modern, comfortable, separate living area and our own balcony viewing the ocean, and back garden area. Best part was the room was very quiet as I had requested. It was the weekend before the 4th of July but hotel claimed to be sold out. Especially nice is back gate going to boardwalk that goes along Ocean blvd. Location was close to Lincoln Way walking street with bars/restaurants and walking distance to craziness on Ocean. Micky the bartender was cool and you better brush up on eastern European history to chat with him!
Had a great time for the two days in Miami Beach at the location........
Kerry and Karla

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
BCHCITY,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your terrific experience here on trip advisor. We certainly are proud of our rating on here and brings us great pleasure to share with the staff all the wonderful comments we receive.

Quiet rooms in South Beach are not always easy to come and we are thrilled that we were able to provide that for you. Our central location is also one of our best assets, as we are just minutes away from all the best restaraunts and nightclubs.

I will be sure to pass along your great praise to Micky and all of our staff here and we would like to thank you again for staying with us. We hope we have become your hotel of choice when traveling to Miami. See you next time!


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

A wonderful property in the heart of South Beach. This boutique property provides quiet refuge in a bustling location. Inside rooms are larger than in most hotels and are clean, hip and modernly furnished. Poolside room bungalows could use a little updating (furniture a little worn) but are still recommended as a better option for family/friends to share than on top of each other in a typical hotel room set-up. Would not recommend eating here as it was extremely expensive and there are plently of other options in walking distance.

Most importantly and why I was moved to write a review was to let you know about the incredible staff who were all friendly and extremely helpful--most especially Richard Montenegro the Head Concierge. I can't say enough nice things about this gentleman who always had a smile on his face while helping us plan our daily activities. He knows all the great places to go and really took his time making sure we were happy. Thank you Richard!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Janeshaber,

Thank you for your recent 5 star review of Sagamore. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our boutique property during your stay in South Beach. We greatly value the feedback we receive as it is such an important tool in trying to make us the best hotel in South Beach,

In regards to updating our furniture, we do have several projects in place that will bring a newer vibe to the look and feel of our property. Also, you will find that our restaraunt prices are pretty competetive to many other hotels and restaraunts in the area, however there is such a large variety to choose from we understand if you do find an alternative.

Richard is just one our many staff members who is always there with a smile on his face and a positive attitude. We will be sure to pass along all of your good praise to him and we are happy to hear that he was able to enhance your experience with us.

Thanks again for choosing Sagamore and we hope to see you again real soon.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

My girlfriends and I stayed at Sagamore for my bachelorette party in mid June. We had the best time! The hotel was so beautiful, classic art deco style like a museum, pool area was gorgeous, delicious food and the beach was perfection! We were treated like queens on the beach by the hotel waiter and got some great advice on where to go out for the night in Miami. The best part of our stay was Robert, hotel concierge. We heard great things about LIV nightclub in Foutainebleau Hotel, but were warned the line for club is outrageous and could take us at least 2 hours to get in. When we approached Robert about getting on the list for LIV, he said there would be no problem for us to get in with him and gave us his cell number... I was skeptical but Robert definitely lived up to his promises! We let him know we were outside waiting at LIV, he came within a few mins and lead us through the crazy crowd right into the club! We had an incredible night all thanks to his help!! Wonderful hotel to stay in Miami!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Marta1224,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your 5 star review of our wonderful beachfront property. We are delighted that we were able to provide such a nice setting for your bacherlorette weekend.

Our spacious suites are perfect for large groups as we can accomadate up to 4 people in each of our suites. It sounds like our concierge Richard really made you feel like VIPs as LIV is definetly one of the top nightclubs in the country despite having to be somewhat of a mission to enter.

We hope that you and your friends will return to Sagamore soon and thanks again for such great feedback,


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the sagamore for my wife's birthday in the beginning of June. I was most impress with the absolute service I was given upon arriving to the hotel till our departing. The bell staff were promptly on stand to assist us at all times. Once we started to check in we were so delighted to meet Darla, they surely do have a very attractive reception staff with a very genuine care to all of our questions and needs. Once we arrived to our nicely upgraded suite we were amazed of how spaciously and nicely decorated the suite is. What had us sold was the view from our balcony having a direct ocean front view from then on we both new our decision to stay at the sagamore has been the best decision by far we had made. They also have beach services available which they also had a plan to have breakfast, beach chairs, and internet all included it very well came in handy of using especially for my wife to take advantage of the Miami whether and myself to have Internet and be updated with a few work updates every now and then. Our only dislike was the parking charges which was $37 for overnight parking but then again most major cities that have popular destinations usually have high pricing. Never the less we are highly satisfied with our choice at the sagamore and will be looking forward to return even if we need to come up with excuses to celebrate.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
TaylorU,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience that you had here with us at Sagamore.

We are thrilled that you spoke so highly of the service you received by all of our Sagamore team. Our dedicated staff is just one of the reasons that Sagamore has such a high volume of repeat guests.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your oceanfront suite, as it does provide some of the best views south beach has to offer.

Thanks again for choosing Sagamore and we hope indeed you choose us again regardless of the celebration!



Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

The Sagamore is the Art Hotel of Miami There is art everywhere set off by the cool white deco modern interterior, all very well done. The Taplin's collection of Elliott Erwitt's photos was a real treat. Next year we will schedule a tour.
Service was always with a smile and the staff was very knowledgeable and helpful.
On the corner of the ocean and Lincoln Road the location couldn't be more perfect.. Our suite was very spacious and comfortable. The fully stocked kitchen, bar and the champagne reception were appreciated.
The hotel's pool/lounge area was absolutely fabulous and we even had a full moon over Miami that night. We all agreed to do it again same place and same time next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Ddk021

Thanks for sharing your recent review on our property. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here as well as our fabulous art collection.

The Elliot Erwitt photos are a favorite of mine as well and are just a small part of what makes the Sagamore Collection so wonderful. We definitely recommend a tour of the collection with one of our art docents on your next visit.

We are thrilled that the staff here provided you such a warm welcome and I will be sure to share your great praise with them. We look forward to seeing you again next year during the same time. Thanks again for choosing Sagamore.


Best Regards,
James D'agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

This Glam Deco boutique hotel has it all-, beachfront location, poolside/ beach cabanas, lounge and breakfast bar, an art gallery lobby , as well as b&w original photographs lining the walls in nooks and hallways, even waiting for the elevator is an artful experience viewing unusual animations . The suite is tastefully done in minimialistic decor with all the necessary upgraded luxuries from Aveeda bath products,overstuffed bedding, to Italian coffee. The staff was very accommodating, knowledgeable, and punctual-from retrieving our car,offering art tours, to bringing up that third wine class for our champagne toast! Best of All we felt like VIPS in South Beach.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Watsonoz,

Thanks for taking a moment to share your feedback with us in regards to your recent stay here. We are thrilled that you had such wonderful things to say about not only the property, but the staff as well.

It is obvious you truly enjoyed your time here and it seems as the décor and styling of the hotel suited your taste perfectly. We like to think that we give all of our guests here a VIP experience as that is our goal each and every time.

Thanks again for shairing your review and we look forward to seeing you again at Sagamore.



Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagamore

Address: 1671 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagamore 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Suite Hotel, guest rooms with individual decors, private art collections; set on the ocean, near convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sagamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagamore Miami Beach
Sagamore Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sagamore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.