We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sagamore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sagamore to your Saves list
Sagamore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1671 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Suite Life Promotion
Ranked #26 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Wedding Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

On May 14th 2011 we stayed at Sagamore Art Hotel in South Beach for our wedding day. Head Concierge Richard Montenegro helped us with reservations, recommended excellent restaurant and reserved a great table for us (That is on Saturday night in South Beach Miami, on short notice in a very popular restaurant that has two hour wait). Guest Relations Manager James D’Agostono made us feel most welcome and made sure we had everything we needed for this special day. Our magnificent two level oceanfront bungalow with two balconies and a beautiful honeymoon suite upstairs with complimentary bottle of champagne on ice waiting for us was breath taking.
We enjoyed the pool area as well as the beach. Hotel staff made sure we had everything from excellent drinks from the bar to fresh towels. In the morning we had outstanding breakfast at the restaurant on the first floor (Compliments to the Chef).
We are very grateful to the people of Sagamore Art Hotel for making our special day unforgettable.
Best wishes from the bottom of our hearts.
The M Family.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Mayster11,

Thanks for taking a moment to share your experience that you had here at Sagamore while in town for your Wedding. We are honored that you chose Sagamore to stay for your special day and we are thrilled that we were able to be a part of your memorable wedding weekend.

Our staff here is always willing to go the extra mile for our guests, and when we know someone is celebrating a wedding we definetly seem to go even further to try and provide the best time possible and help take away from any stress or nervousness that can be part of planning something as important as a wedding.

We are glad that you got to enjoy our two story bungalow and hopefully got to enjoy the champagne. I will be sure to pass along your good praise to all our staff members and we hope to see you again soon.

Please feel free to contact me when you are ready to book for your 1 year anniversary.

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    334
    128
    67
    50
See reviews for
315
425
37
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Two weeks in Orlando was broken up by a fab weekend in Miami. and the Sagamore did not dissapoint. We had poolside bungalow suite with spectacular view of the ocean. The rooms were spacious and very well equiped. Apart from the very high prices in the mini bar and poolside bar everything was above expectations. Access to the beach was perfect and a ten minute walk provides access to Ocean drive.
The staff were very well informed and advised us as to the best locations for Food and entertainment etc. During our stay we were particularly impressed with the artworks on show and the minimalistic look of the hotel. In our group we had a teenager interested in the art and a 7 year old fascinated by the Helicopter near the pool ??? we'll be back...(Steve & Mandy From Sunderland, England)

Room Tip: ask for poolside Bungalow for best location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Makemdad,


Thanks for your recent review of Sagamore. We are glad that we were able to provide a great destination for a small hiatus from your stay in Orlando.

It sounds like our poolside bungalow was the perfect spot for you and your family, and i am sure that the direct acces to the pool from your room made it very convienent for you and your children to get the most of your time here with us.

Our art collection can be enjoyed by people of all ages and we are thrilled that you found it so unique. perhaps next visit we can arrange for a quick art tour of the proeprty to explain some of the different pieces in our collection.

Maybe next trip will be 2 weeks at Sagamore broken up by a long weekend stay in Orlando! We thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.

James D'Agostino
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

The staff was friendly and helpful. Everything was taken care of for us from the time we checked in till the time we left; it was truly a vacation. I can't wait to go back for the pool, the beach, the food, the room and the bed. Oh, and the shower was huge.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Dear Billgoats

Thanks for your recent 5 star review of Sagamore. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here with us here at Sagamore. Our staff takes great pride in their service levels, and judging from your feeback they definetly went beyond to provide you with a great experience here.

We hope that you continue to make Sagamore your hotel of choice when traveling to South Beach, and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

My Wife and I checked into the Sagamore for a weekend get away without our 3 children and boy was it just what the Doctor ordred. From the second we arrived at the property the service was amazing and over the top friendly and accomadating. Our ocean view room was perfect, extremely clean, spacious unlike most south beach hotels, and beautiful. I have to say one of the best if not the best pool on sobe, was not over crowded by roudy drunks, the perfect fit for a quiet get away with an awesome pool side bar/restaurant. Even our room service was spot on as an avid travler thats a hard thing to find. My wife and I look forward to going back, maybe even with the kids as the hotel seemed extremley family friendly. I almost forgot, its worth the stay just to check out all the amazing art work installed throughout the property in both the interior and exterior. Cheers Sagamore, and thanks for a great SOBE getaway.
RR

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Dear Skyman69,

Thanks for taking the time to share your wonderful experience that you and your wife had here at our property. It sounds like our oceanfront suite was the perfect getaway you needed and a great place to take a relaxing break from the little ones.

Sagamore is centrally located making it just a short walk to many restaurants and bars, however it seems that you were perfectly content with our great in house dining options which can truly provide a terrific experience without ever having to leave property. We certainly are family friendly and we always welcome children of all ages.

As for our art collection, be sure to check it out again on your next stay, as we are always rotating it and adding new pieces to our already extensive collection. Once again thanks for your review and we look forward to seeing you again next month.


Best Regards,

James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

My 1 year old son, wife and I visited the Sagamore on May 30 - June 4th

Pros:

- Great location: 1 minute walk to Lincoln Road, 5 minute walk to Ocean Drive
- Awesome staff: Super friendly and helpful (especially from Tatsianna, she is a doll and made us feel at home every chance she could)
- Very large rooms (stayed in a sagamore suite: 550 sq feet)
- Very nice pool area , small but cozy
- Great food at pool bar

Cons:

- Hotel has no ramp anywhere for baby strollers or wheelchairs
- All hallways and elevators have a "moldy" smell
- White decor seems dated and needs to be refreshed
- Some of the art are not appropriate for children or even many adults: (1) small kid holding up a gun to his head, (2) flat screen tv next to elevators showing cartoon characters killing each other, blood everywhere, and many more.
- Hotel breakfast is a big no no. Its buffet style and eggs don't taste like eggs at all
- Expensive parking: 37$/day, even if not planning to use valet service

Bottom Line:

First impressions were not good for the above reasons, but the hotel staff including Tatsianna, Gregory, and even the maids made our stay so worth it. It was the human touch, not the hotel itself that will make us come back to the Sagamore!!

Room Tip: Room 210 has a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Probato,

Thank you for your recent review on our property. We appreciate all of your
feedback. Myself and the hotel team are working hard to correct the problems you encountered.

The artwork that we sometimes display is very unique and we apologize if you found some of the pieces offensive. We showcase many different artists with many different styles and our collection is known to invoke different emotions from different people.

We are also in the process of updating all of our elevators as well as other exciting projects to help keep the property in excellent shape all around. It is great to hear such wonderful feedback about our staff members and I will definetly pass along all of your good praise.

We thank you again for choosing Sagamore and look forward to your next stay with us.


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011 via mobile

Love the art, the big rooms and the great beach location. Disgusted by how dirty and worn the hotel was. Disappointed by the attitude and the poor customer service. This is not a customer friendly place.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
HappiDOc,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback on our property. First let me apologize if you had a negative experience here with us, as it is certainly our goal for all our guests to leave with a positive experience and an enjoyable time here with us.

As you can see from our many positive reviews, you certainly did not have the true Sagamore experience. I would love the opportunity to speak with you directly in regards to your stay and the issues that you had. Please feel free to contact me directly at your convienence so that we can discuss your stay. I have provided my contact information below.

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino

James@sagamorehotel.com
305.535.8088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Sagmore is one of the best places i have been to all the help amazing rooms clean and amazing beach clean and amazing beach help food and ambiance a must place to stay

Room Tip: penthouse for sure but bungalows out of control
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Mikey8499,

Thank you for your recent 5 star review of our wonderful beachfront property. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time here with us.

It sounds like you had a great time enjoying our beach and also our many poolside amenities. I’m sure you were pretty comfortable being able to order food and drinks to be delivered right to your lounge chair on the beach.

We thank you again for choosing Sagamore and hope you continue to make us your hotel of choice on South Beach.


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino


Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagamore

Address: 1671 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagamore 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Suite Hotel, guest rooms with individual decors, private art collections; set on the ocean, near convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sagamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagamore Miami Beach
Sagamore Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sagamore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.