We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a fantastic weekend and getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sagamore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sagamore to your Saves list
Sagamore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1671 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow! What a fantastic weekend and getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We drove down to South Beach for our cousin's wedding and we are beyond glad this is the hotel we decided to stay at. We live in Florida and so we really wanted to pick a hotel that felt like an exclusive get-away but without all the South Beach craziness. This hotel was it.
From the moment we arrived, everyone was so friendly! The valet guy was nice and helpful. Before we even arrived, we had already asked to speak to the concierge to help us find the perfect restaurant for our after-wedding reception. (It was a very small & intimate wedding) So once we checked in we went down and met Richard, the Concierge to put a face to the voice. He was as nice in person as he was over the phone.
Before the wedding, we had lunch at the hotel restaurant, where once again, the service was excellent, we had Ebi shrimp appetizers, shrimp salads, and veggie wraps.. all delicious! Ezequiel the chef came over to us and made sure we were satisfied with our meals which was nice and appreciated.

If you appreciate art, then you will love this hotel, as it is covered in beautiful art pieces.. from private art collections to amazing photography. My favorites pieces were the black & white photos from the 60s. I can't remember the artist, but his pictures are amazing.

Now about the room.. the room we stayed in had a balcony and overlooked the long grassy patio leading to the pool. (can you say amazing?) The room was decorated very modern, but had a few antique pieces which I thought was a cool touch. Our room was stocked with everything we needed, it even had a floor-stand/speaker ipod docking station which was way better than the regular alarm-clock ipod docking stations most rooms have. We never heard any noise from any other rooms or any noise coming in from outside.

The next morning we had the breakfast buffet which had everything you could possibly want for breakfast, including chocolate croissants. Again, great service for breakfast.

We spent the morning at the beach where we got our chairs set up and got taken care of with drinks and towels.. there were two guys that helped us and they were both great, personable and helpful. We also spent some time at the pool which also had quite a bit of cool art pieces for decor.

We checked out later in the afternoon, and again, on our way to check out, everyone was beyond nice. James, the guest relations manager came up to us to make sure everything had gone as planned the day before with the wedding plans and plans we made afterward.
I have to say, I wasn't sure what to expect, but my husband and I loved this hotel and we will definitely be back.







The hotel room was clean and had really cool decor. the modernism with just a bit of

Room Tip: Balcony room has great views- no noise comes in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Dear Laliella.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience that you had here at Sagamore.

We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy your time here for your cousin’s wedding weekend. It seems that you guys had a great experience here with us all across the board, and we are delighted that you got to enjoy both the hotel and our in house restaurant.

The black and white photographs that you mention are from the artist Elliot Erwitt, who is a very famous photographer and filmmaker whom I actually had the pleasure of meeting one day here on property.

We are also happy that you were able to take advantage of our beach service as it can make for a very relaxing day sitting on a lounge chair ordering delicious cocktails and food.

We thank you again for choosing the Sagamore and we hope to see you again here for your next “staycation.”

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    366
    146
    73
    55
See reviews for
345
461
40
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

For our daughter's wedding at the nearby National Hotel we booked a block of rooms at the Sagamore for family and wedding guests. This gave us the opportunity to see and stay in a variety of rooms and suites. All were spacious and layed out nicely so that even in an extended stay we felt comfortable and not at all claustrophobic. The suites we stayed in all had kitchenettes so we were able to prepare breakfasts and simple meals in the rooms. The hotel upgraded three of our rooms to Penthouse Suite at no extra charge. The Penthouse Suite features a 1,500 square foot terrace overlooking the pool and ocean (see photo). Amazing! The best feature of the hotel, however, was the friendly, courteous and attentive staff. Preparing for a wedding we kept Richard, the concierge, very busy with special requests (sending out brides maid gowns to be steamed and pressed, lining up transportation for 50 guests to a rehearsal dinner, etc.) In every case Richard went beyond the call of duty and always with a big smile. The staff really made us feel like VIPs. And that, more than anything, is what we will always remember about the Sagamore.

Room Tip: Best views on ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
VBShrimpan,

Thanks for your recent 5 star review of our property. We are happy that you were able to enjoy our wonderful Penthouse suite.

I am sure that it was nice to be able to enjoy the spacious balcony and ocean view and take away from all the jitters from a hectic wedding weekend. We are also delighted that our staff was so accomadationg for you, as planning a wedding is not easy and being comfortable in your hotel is always a big plus.

Once again thanks for choosing Sagamore and hopefully you will return soon for some much needed relaxation time!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Stayed at the Sagamore for 4 nights in May - the location of the hotel is brilliant. Everything at South Beach within walking distance.
We had a suite for the stay, and the room was large so we had plenty of space. Great view of the pool / ocean as well.

Sagamore is a nice hotel - it has lots of interesting art all around, and that is the best part. Cause there is something missing there. It might be that the staff is - well - nice, but nothing more. Nobody asked how you enjoyed the stay or how your day was.

One thing that bothered me was that I specifically asked the front desk that they instructed the maids to clean the showerhead properly since it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a while. As far as I could see nothing happened.

The breakfast buffet was good.

The hotel is held in white - and we couldn't help the feeling that it probabaly looked great some years ago it now had faded and lost it.

Pool area looked nice, but we didn't use it. Stayed at the beach, where there were nice chairs.

There is a small fitness center there with a couple of cardio machines and some weights.

All in all; nice hotel. Staff is there, but not putting too much effort into making you feel welcomed and at home. Art collection is great, but other interior starts to look like an offer of wear and tear.

There are other alternatives in South Beach that will make your stay there great!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
TCB_JME,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us after your recent stay here.

First off let me say that I apologize if your experience here with our staff was not satisfactory, as you can see from the many positive reviews this is definitely not the norm here at Sagamore. Our staff normally goes out of their way to provide a great overall experience for all our guests, and it’s a shame that you did not get that same experience.

Our central location certainly can be convienent when it comes time to head out to enjoy some of the best nightlife and restaraunts that South Beach is famous for.

We hope that you will return to Sagamore and allow us to wow you on your next visit and provide you the true experience that makes us so special. Please feel free to contact me directly should you choose to return.

Best regards,
James D'Agostino

James.Dagostino@sagamorehotel.com
305.535.8088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Edgar at the concierge made us feel like we were at home. He seemed to be everywhere, concierge and front desk, always greeting us with a smile and asking if we needed anything. He told us about all the local attractions in detail, never rushed his explanations and helped find something great for me and my teenage daughter to both enjoy. His honesty was greatly appreciated! Robert also helped us out when Edgar was not at the concierge and he was just as helpful and professional! Your whole staff was very friendly and welcoming.

There was only one difference in the level of service, which was the beach crew. Several times we made the trip out to the beach only to find that they were out of towels and it took several minutes to go get new ones. Also, one time when there were at least three employees on the beach they actually suggested we go back and get them ourselves while they just stood around. I later learned that they were hired out from another company and you could certaintly tell the difference in service, NOTHING like your inside employees. Also, I don't travel much, so I am new to this, but I really don't like spending almost $3000 to stay at a hotel for a week and then have to pay $30 to $45 a day to use a chaise and umbrella. I feel it should be part of the fee for staying.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Dear RobinMatz,

Thank you for taking the time to post your 5 star review of Sagamore.

We are delighted that one of our employees (Edgar) was able to make such an impact with you and help provide such a memorable stay.

I apologize for the issues that you had with our beach service as even though they are not our direct employees, they are a reflection of the hotel and we do our best to have them adhere to the same service levels we provide inside.

In the future I suggest maybe electing to purchase the Sagamore plan, which will include an American breakfast buffet, a beach lounge, and wireless internet all for only $18.00. This is certainly a great value and sounds like it would have been a good choice for you.

Again thanks for choosing Sagamore and we anxiuously await your return.

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Two months after my stay in Sagamore I went back there and it felt like coming home!
Christian Moreno is so professionnal and Edgar the Concierge has always a smile on his lips! I will be back for sure:-))
Thank you so much for the warm Welcome!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Nat1774,

Thanks for your recent 5 star review of our property. We are thrilled that you have found your second home here at the Sagamore.

We pride ourselves on our service and our large number of repeat guests is a true testament to that. I will be sure to pass along your good praise to Edgar, Christian and the rest of our team.

We hope that you will continue to make Sagamore your home away from home and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

Stayed at the Sagamore Aoril 20th - 22nd. The location is good, right on the bach above 16th street, so you can walk to the heart of SoBe while still being a bit secluded. The art in the hotel gives it a great vibe; there is art everywhere, even the stairwells are basically a 5 story mural! The rooms were large and well maintained, we had one with an oceanfront suite with a small balcony - it had an amazing view of the pool and beach. Overall the staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the concierges, who steered us perfected to 2 different restaurants for our meals. Service at the pool was more spotty. Very nice Beach chairs/towels/umbrellas were provided for a fee but included if you had the breakfast buffet. The buffet was pretty poor, limited selection and almost always low our out of food, so I'd pass on that and go a few blocks to the Front Porch at the z Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Ct2KW,

Thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience that you had here with us. We greatly value all feedback we receive as it can only help us as we strive to provide the best possible service for our guests.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time here and are happy that you found our staff so helpful. We are happy that you got to experience first hand our wonderful stairwell project, as it is definitely one of the most unique attractions of our property.

Our oceanfront suite is a wonderful place to watch the sun rise and enjoy a warm cappachino and also a great place to finish the night off with a glass of wine as you listen to the sound of the ocean. Once again thanks for choosing the Sagamore and we look forward to your next stay with us.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Just came back from a long weekend stay at the sagamore with a big group of friends and we were very happy with everything. This hotel is nice change from a lot of the "sceney" hotels on the beach and you feel more at ease and low key.
Location is perfect for anyone who wants to be accessible to the beach, restaurants, clubs and other hotels.

the hotel staff was super friendly and accommodating for anything we needed.
We stayed in a Bungalow and thought the set up was perfect for the weekend. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was over sized and easy for a bunch of us to get showered and dressed each day.
I definitely recommend getting the Sagamore plan - $18 per day includes a beach chair, breakfast and wi-fi - great deal.

The staff on the beach was very helpful and really made our group feel comfortable.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
NYCTravels15,

Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are thrilled that you and your friends had such a great time with us. The Sagamore definitely has a low key vibe compared to some of the surrounding properties in south beach, and we are able to provide our guests with a more personal level of service.

Taking advantage of the Sagamore Plan is a great idea as it is over a $40.00 value for $18.00 and basically pays for itself just with the breakfast alone. The bungalows are a great option for a large or small group, as they are very spacious and have the larger bathrooms than the regular suites.

We thank you again for choosing Sagamore and we hope that you will return on your next trip to South beach.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagamore

Address: 1671 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagamore 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Suite Hotel, guest rooms with individual decors, private art collections; set on the ocean, near convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Amex, Splendia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sagamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagamore Miami Beach
Sagamore Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sagamore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.