We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel to your Saves list
Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6345 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I visited Miami Beach a month ago and had a pleasant experience with our stay at the hotel. Gigi at the front desk was very helpful & even upgraded us to an ocean view room at no cost,for being patient as we waited to be helped. Although there was renovations going on, the hotel met our expectations. Location was great, beach was wonderful and the café was a great place to eat. I will definitely consider staying there again when I come back to visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene M, Front Office Manager at Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our staff performance and our amenities. It Is great to know we fulfilled your expectations and we will love to have you and your family with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    263
    266
    113
    195
See reviews for
341
240
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here as a lay over between our stops. The hotel smelled strongly of bleach. The staff spoke very little english. I arrived first and I knew that the check in was at 4 PM. (I was there at 11:30AM). I was told to give my luggage to the valet and they would keep it. I did this and after about 2 hours I went back and asked to get my smaller bag out. I was escorted to a locked room where the luggage was actually thrown in there! My bag was upside down and tossed up near a picture that was on the wall! I retrieved my bag and sat down in the waiting room for check in. I observed the front desk handing out room keys to new arrivals and i went up there to see about getting my room and was told that the rooms were first come first served. I said ok I was here at 11:30 so I should be able to get my room. Then I was informed that check in was at 4 PM! I was very unhappy and asked to speak to a manager that did not speak English very well and he told me that I would have to wait my turn. I waited there at the front desk when suddenly my room be came available!

Upon entrance to the room, it smelled very strongly of bleach, had stains on the walls, and the place was very old. Not the renovated room I was told by the person at book a room com. The bathroom wall had a hole in it by the light switch and the carpets were worn.
The bed was lumpy and I felt every spring through the worm out mattress!

Not my idea of a great nights sleep.

I want a refund from the hotel because of the poor quality of service I recieved.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene M, Front Office Manager at Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Our most sincere apologies for not being able to meet your expectations.
We will provide coaching to our staff in order to offer the service level we strive for.
We can assure you that we are committed to improve all aspects of our guest’s experience and feedbacks like this will only double our efforts in achieving the level of consistency we lacked during your visit. We invite you to consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is the worst hotel I ever stay. I do not recommend this hotel to anybody. Rooms are poor looking. It was a waste of money for what I pay I could have stayed a much better hotel. Completely disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene M, Front Office Manager at Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your time to express your experience with us.
Direct feedbacks from our customers, both good and bad, are the most valuable advice we can receive. It allows us to recognize our areas of weakness and make appropriate adjustments to our services.
We apologize for the multiple inconveniences you experienced while staying with us.
We invite you to consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pearl, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This hotel is horrible. Myself and my husband rental a room in this hotel from a private owner it was old and ugly. I am not a real particular person but this place was horrible. Also even if you only stay for one night the owner charges you $75.00 cleaning fee. I would never return or recommend this hotel. Take my advice stay away.

Room Tip: do not rent from private owner
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene M, Front Office Manager at Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience.
As you know we are a hotel condo, its sad to know that you had a bad experience during your stay.
We invite you and your family to stay with us (the hotel), we are pretty sure that you will have a different experience with us. Consider staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Despite poor reviews I gave it a shot. My room and the hotel overall was dated, however, it was spotless , no dust behind TV or anything of the sort. Housekeeping was slow it runs 11:30-6pm (no doubt because of needed ACA and the need to stay competitive. Within 6 blocks there's plenty of eateries, a supermarket banks and so on. The staff is pleasant and is accommodating when possible, wifi was fine, beach literally 60 steps from back door. Pool was clean and adequate, not heated. Valet parking was $5 more than the public lot a block away and well worth it. If you are looking for clean safe accommodations this is it! If you are looking for 5 star service, go to the st Regis in bal harbor for $1000.00 a night.
That being said if you are needy, entitled, and snobby, this isn't your place. If you are realistic and understand that you get what you pay for, stay here! It's worth every penny!
Ed
New Jersey

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene M, Front Office Manager at Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your experience about our hotel, you are definitely right about what you mentioned.
Our priority is to give our guest our best.
Please consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I was booked at the sister Hotel and Up grade it here, It was really nice stay , I was also given free valet , really nice also , staff was pleasant and respectful, the view to the beach was beautiful , place was outdate but clean.

Room Tip: Beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene M, Front Office Manager at Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We feel very happy that you had a good experience with us.
We are working to improve our property, please consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This hotel isn't wonderful and needs some serious updating but saying that everyone was really friendly and the location was great. Miami is fab tho will defo be going back. If it's a cheap and cheerful place to stay then this place will do

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene M, Front Office Manager at Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank so much for taking the time to review our hotel and staff.
Our team wants to extend an invitation to you and your family to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel

Address: 6345 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#95 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfort of a hotel and the privacy of a private apartment, fully equipped ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casablanca On The Ocean
Casablanca On The Ocean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.