We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Miami!... said no one ever,” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel to your Saves list
Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6345 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Cincinnatus, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Miami!... said no one ever,”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

New is relative, isn't it? Like New kids on the block or New Jersey or New Coke. This hotel has that same newness as in 1972 new. What a cess pool! Oops, my apologies to cess pools everywhere for the insult. What would really make this hotel new is either a hurricane or 100 gallons of gas and a road flare. Cruddy rooms, skinny "queen" beds made of marbles or rocks, filthy rooms and very deceptive room photos on the internet. Remember Elwood Blues room from the movie "The Blues Brothers?" Well this is similar to that only less palatial and more gauche. I know, I know, it is very inexpensive but for $239.00 a night, I expected a little more. Ocean view room? Great! If I could only see through the 1/4 " of crud on the windows, left over from the 1930s when this dumpster was built. Oh, don't expect the air conditioning to work. I got it down to 78 when it was 80 outside. Grrrrreeeeaaaat. The answer from the front desk? They sent up a fan. Oh, it would help if you are able to speak Spanish since everyone else here, including the guests, speaks it. Good luck asking for a towel from the maid. Stay far, far away from this "new" hotel.

Room Tip: Anywhere in Miami but here. Dumpster perhaps?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    263
    266
    113
    195
See reviews for
341
240
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here a couple of night prior to a cruise. Our room (with kitchen) was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Views from the balcony were poor and we could see into another persons room!

The on site restaurant was very good and we ate here both nights.

The beach was right on the door step - there was a good sized pool but we didn't use this. There is a good bus service just outside which we used to get here from the airport and again the next day.

Would stay here again but it is an older hotel amongst larger newer ones so expectations need to be realistic. There is a 7-11 just opposite which is very handy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is very well located, spacious and clean rooms with all the appliances. Beautiful lobby. Front desk and valet parking are extremely helpful. Elevators big and came fast - no waiting at all. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel was clearly first rate when first opened, but it has declined since then. The lobby is the most impressive part, but when we got to the corridor to our rooms we were very surprised to see holes throughout the ceiling that had been badly patched-up with bits of wood and electrical cables hanging from walls. The room itself was good, with its own kitchenette. We probably wouldn't stay here again, in part because of the shabbiness, and but also because the hotel was some distance from the main shopping areas of Miami Beach (which we discovered when we walked the seven miles!). Breakfast was OK, as was the service in general (the caretaker was exceedingly polite when he arrived to fix a broken light, only to discover that the light was unplugged!)

As other reviewers have noted, this still has the capacity to be a good hotel, but it needs a fair bit of money to upgrade it. i have the feeling the owners have just decided to quietly let it rot and when appropriate sell the land.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher room to get a better view, also ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This place- I would not call it a hotel, is as described on the beach. This is it's only good point. We stayed 3 nights- too long. It is not a hotel it is a condomium we would call it a self catering flat in England. The pool was nice but all the changing rooms are privately owned and not accessible. The flats are very basic and dated, some of the drawers were unsafe. The reception area is fine. It rained for two days while we were there but nothing in the 'hotel' to do in this situation. The hallways were tatty. the whole place stuck out like a sore thumb compared with other properties in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The photos should speak for itself. This was the most disgusting place we have stayed in. Cats roaming around poolside, trash bins full, hallways with hanging wires, open electrical boxes next to the elevator button, mold in the bathroom, yellow water stains in the dining room/breakfast area ceilings & walls. non english speaking valet attendants, rude & sarcastic front desk staff (special mention to Danny who should not be @the front desk with the horrible attitude)...the list goes on and on....It is just unbelievable!
We have stayed at hotels under renovation but this one is just really dirty& nasty, period. Thank God we only had to stay a night for due to an early flight. Do not stay at this hotel if you do not want your vacation ruined. Just look at the photos (hallways, bathroom tile/soap container,walls,ceilings etc).

Room Tip: We were offered to switch rooms and the "best"one was supposed to be Rm 501, when we check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel for 3 days at a reasonable price and wasn't sure what to expect. This place needs some serious updating. If the owners threw money into this hotel and updated it, I would totally come back but that's not the case. When I arrived, I first noticed the old paint chipped valet counter because that's the very first thing you see when walking up the stairs and the ashtrays are overfilled with cigerettes. I headed over to the reception desk and was greeted with a big smile and checked in. The elevators are dirty and old. I made my way to my room and had a terrific ocean view on the 10th floor. My mattress was so old that the springs were coming through and I had a small hole in my bed sheet. I wasn't sure if the bedding was changed from the previous guest? The overall hotel was clean except my room was a little dirty but I have to say I never ever saw bugs anywhere. The pool was in great condition and looked new. The beach looked clean and nice. The restaurant had decent food and reasonable prices. This place is ok for a quick getaway or if you don't plan on staying in your room. The staff is very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel

Address: 6345 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#95 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfort of a hotel and the privacy of a private apartment, fully equipped ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casablanca On The Ocean
Casablanca On The Ocean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.