We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful pool, rooms not as wonderful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel to your Saves list
Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6345 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful pool, rooms not as wonderful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We actually stayed in one of the condo rooms at the Casablanca, so I can't say if what I think would apply to the hotel, too. It's a perfect location with a great pool (heated and salt water). The room is a fine size, but things could be maintained better. This is our second stay, so we obviously didn't hate it. The restaurant is good, and the service there is attentive and nice. The breakfast (which is free with the hotel, but we paid because we were in a condo) was definitely not as good as even a typical chain hotel. I think for families, this is probably a good choice. If you're looking for something more upscale, probably not the best choice. Both times, we had a fabulous ocean view.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    252
    248
    109
    191
See reviews for
323
230
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Pros
Not far from the airport
Friendly staff
Really close to the beach
Clean communal areas
On-site shop
Across the road from a 7-11
Next to a buss stop
Valet Parking
Cheap

Cons
The rooms were dated.
A long walk to south beach 9 could only do it once)
Some of the other guests were rough
Abit of a language barrier as everyone is Cuban.
Food not great
Noisey with a road side room. Constant sirens as the police use the 7-11 as a base

Overall it suited us. But I think this is because it was our first time in Miami and we didn’t know what to expect. Wouldn’t stay again, would want to be closer to south beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach room not a road room, the noise is awfull from the gas station. Take the bus instead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were on tour in the USA in Desember 2012. We had a lovely stay in Miami. The staff at Casablanca are very friendly. We enjoyed the kitchen in the room that is well equiped. There is a 7-eleven across the street from the hotel where we could buy everything we needed. We loved the pool and the hotel is situated right on the beach. If we ever go back to vist the States and Miami we will only stay at Casablanca. Its the perfect location. We also enjoyed the continental breakfast that is included in the price.
It is also close to the Art Deco district which is a must to visit when in Miami.

Room Tip: Room with a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed with Fiancee for One week on tour of USA.

Booked a normal room - Got given a suite with Kitchen, a huge bed, great TV, a walk in wardrobe and a safe. Maid service was excellent.

Then reception area is brand new and really well maintaned. Gym was nice and quiet and was free.

Location is in a slightly quieter bit of Miami Beach, still supermarkets and a few bars around the hotel within easy walking distance. Main Miami beach is a 5 minute bus away which was nice as it meant the beach straight outside the hotel was almost private. Excellent place for couples.

Restaurant inside the complex didnt look up to much though.

Brilliant place to stay. Paid £550 for 7 nights before I left which I was really pleased with.

Go on book it - I didnt see anywhere as nice for the price.

Enjoy Miami.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Just wanted to let travelers know about the best kept secret in Miami Beach. "Bogart's" The staff was amazing, friendly very professional. The menue was so reasonable I had to look at the prices twice. Also the waiters & Bartenders were fabulous. Particularly Felipe and Genny there service was impecable. We defiantly we will be back to dine and have the wonderful Cocktails. Thanks for taking care of us!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed here in November for 3 nights. All we wanted was somewhere comfortable and clean to sleep after long days out in Miami.

We chose the cheapest hotel we could find on BA and our expectations were pretty low having read the reviews on here. I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived, the room was really large with two double beds and a kitchenette area with fridge, cooker, toaster and microwave. The kitchen was well equipped but beware of the oven, I tried to cook something in it and set the fire alarms off as it was so smokey.

The beach could not be closer, and was lovely. The valet parking was very useful.
Hiring a car was a must though as the hotel is quite far from South Beach. There are also buses.

If you are looking for luxury I would not recommend this hotel but if all you want is somewhere to come back to after being out all day then it is totally fine and for the price I can not complain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Firstly Gigi on the front desk was wonderful, and overworked, that's the niceties out of the way, whoever described the hotel as tired was frankly being very generous, flaking paint in room and bathroom, bathroom looked and felt uncared for, rust patches and not well maintained, if you go and decide to stay, you will need slippers for sure, you wouldn't want to walk on the carpet, work going on and wires hanging in the hallways, windows where filthy and hard to see out of. Didn't use the restaurant or bar, plenty of eating places around, large pool area, and easy access to the beach.

Room Tip: Can't think of one
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel

Address: 6345 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#94 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfort of a hotel and the privacy of a private apartment, fully equipped ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casablanca On The Ocean
Casablanca On The Ocean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.