We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bogarts Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel

Save Saved
You added Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6345 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bogarts Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Just wanted to let travelers know about the best kept secret in Miami Beach. "Bogart's" The staff was amazing, friendly very professional. The menue was so reasonable I had to look at the prices twice. Also the waiters & Bartenders were fabulous. Particularly Felipe and Genny there service was impecable. We defiantly we will be back to dine and have the wonderful Cocktails. Thanks for taking care of us!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    228
    218
    98
    162
See reviews for
258
182
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed here in November for 3 nights. All we wanted was somewhere comfortable and clean to sleep after long days out in Miami.

We chose the cheapest hotel we could find on BA and our expectations were pretty low having read the reviews on here. I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived, the room was really large with two double beds and a kitchenette area with fridge, cooker, toaster and microwave. The kitchen was well equipped but beware of the oven, I tried to cook something in it and set the fire alarms off as it was so smokey.

The beach could not be closer, and was lovely. The valet parking was very useful.
Hiring a car was a must though as the hotel is quite far from South Beach. There are also buses.

If you are looking for luxury I would not recommend this hotel but if all you want is somewhere to come back to after being out all day then it is totally fine and for the price I can not complain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Firstly Gigi on the front desk was wonderful, and overworked, that's the niceties out of the way, whoever described the hotel as tired was frankly being very generous, flaking paint in room and bathroom, bathroom looked and felt uncared for, rust patches and not well maintained, if you go and decide to stay, you will need slippers for sure, you wouldn't want to walk on the carpet, work going on and wires hanging in the hallways, windows where filthy and hard to see out of. Didn't use the restaurant or bar, plenty of eating places around, large pool area, and easy access to the beach.

Room Tip: Can't think of one
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN JUAN
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel for being so old was in good shape, the 8th floor was being rewired, so they had patches in the ceiling, and wires hanging out... The air conditioner in the room did not work, it was colder in the hallway than in the room.. The view Excellent, the cleaningness of the room Excellent.
The Bar, reasonably priced and the staff Excellent. The Bogart restaurant.... the staff was super nice but the food... the steak i had did not look anything from the one advertised in the menu, it was tough and cold inside... i asked for medium and got it almost well done. the black bean soup was bland, no onions nor rice. The Cuban sandwich seemed a lot like a regular sandwich, the fish was overcooked... I might stay there again but will eat at the 7-11 in front.

Room Tip: High floors facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for three nights in November 2012. The hotel is noticeably older than the high-rise hotels situated in the same area. Our room was on the 4th floor and there was a lot of noise outside from the motorbikes but i think that is just Miami in general and not the hotel's fault. Our room was really big with a huge walk in wardrobe and tv with a lot of channels. The hotel is a little out dated and this is highlighted by the huge modern hotels next door.
The bathroom had a few tiny ant-like creatures around the sink but we just killed them before using the bathroom; nothing too bad.
The maid came into our room every day and changed the bed sheets. the reception staff were really helpful and always helped us with directions etc.
The location of the hotel is quite far away from South Beach, but we got the 'S Bus' down every day and its only $2 each and takes like 10 minutes. The bus stops right outside the hotel too.
The hotel is right on the beach which is really clean and not too busy (compared to south beach).
My only real problem with the hotel is that we weren't allowed to check in until 4pm (we arrived at 9am!) and we had to check out at 10am (our flight home was at 9pm!).
I probably would not stay in this hotel again given the choice, however if you find The Casa Blanca to be significantly cheaper than other Miami hotels I would probably recommend it because you will be so busy in Miami you are literally just using the hotel to shower and sleep.
Hope this helps!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

All I was really looking for was a hotel on a beach, so I wasn't really that picky. This hotel had very friendly staff, and made the most amazing Pina Colata's I've ever tasted.( they add a splash of amaretto to it I think) the pool was clean, the rooms were spacious, and the beach was just a few steps away. The hotels restaurant was also a pleasant suprise. We ate there for breakfast and it had a great atmosphere. Very pleased we stayed there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked a package though our local travelagent for our honeymoon. When we arrived the hotel looked fine from the outside, we walked inside and the lobby was very hot and stuffy, and the staff at the front desk were not in uniform and were watching football. We made our way to our room in the lift, when we got to our room it was extremely hot, the air con was on but was rattling and obviously not working correctly. We went back to front desk and they moved us to a different room. The 'new' room was cool as the air con was working, but the room was really dirty, the plug sockets were really unsafe and had no casing on them, the window didnt close and lock, the safe was not fixed in place and was really old and rusty. The website pictures look amazing but they are far from it! We would not recommend this hotel to anyone as you can get a better room for same price as we did when we checked out after 1 night and went to Miami Beach resort and Spa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel

Address: 6345 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfort of a hotel and the privacy of a private apartment, fully equipped ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casablanca On The Ocean
Casablanca On The Ocean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.