We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel in Miami Beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shepley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Shepley Hotel to your Saves list
The Shepley Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1340 Collins Av. Miami Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Beach Comber Miami)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Outstanding hotel in Miami Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We´ve been so many times in Miami and tried different hotels, but The Shepley is the best!! Friendly staff, nice and clean rooms and a good location! They also offer beach towels and chairs.
Thank you for your hospitality, Martin! We will come back!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    38
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
63
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We picked the hotel because of the reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. It is a lovely hotel and very well appointed. The beach is only a short walk away and so is Lincoln Mall. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a little smaller than I expected and it would be nice to have had a chair and a desk but it is not the end of the world. The bathroom was lovey and clean and the shower was excellent. In fact we liked it so much we wanted to stay there again on our way back through Miami but sadly they were fully booked. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Shepley hotel, it was clean modern and well located. It didn't have a pool but we were not there to lounge by the pool but rather to explore. The room was very comfortable and we would stay there again.

If management is reading this, the only improvements that could be made would be to:
1/ offer a full length mirror in the room - this is mandatory and I was surprised not to find one.
2 / regarding breakfast, a large variety of chocolate and other muffins would be appreciated as well as something warm like pancakes or crepes, omelettes and hash browns.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed a week at The Shepley Hotel and I am so glad we picked to stay here! Our room was so comfortable & clean with excellent free wifi & TV in room. Helpful & friendly staff on hand to deal with any requests. The location couldn't really be better being one block from Ocean Drive & a short walk from the beach. For the price this hotel is a great find! I absolutely love it's original low rise Art Deco style too. I haven't marked it 5 stars as it doesn't have a pool, bar or eating options other than a simple breakfast. None of this is a huge problem as you're surrounded by shops, restaurants & the ocean but those things would have made it perfect. Would definitely stay again & recommend to everyone.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were looking for someone close to the beach (South beach), close to shops, restaurants and bars - in accommodation that's modern, clean and a touch luxurious. after reading excellent reviews of the Shepley we booked a double room here for 4 nights. It lived up to all our expectation... and more!

LOCATION - fabulous on Collins ave, 2 minute walk to the beach and ocean drive bars / restaurants.

ROOMS - spacious, clean, well stocked bathroom. Only downfall was the blinds weren't entirely block out, and we were woken every morning from the bright sunlight coming in.. Also on most of the days the rooms weren't cleaned to rather late, meaning it was hard to return to the room for a lay down after lunch, because we would have to move for the cleaners (minor issue only).

STAFF - so friendly and willing to help.The doormen, particularly Johan, were so friendly and helpful. Would go out of their way to help you, always had the door, helped us clean up after breakfast. such a nice touch! Reception were super helpful with printing tickets, giving us direction, and even entering them on our sat nav.

ATMOSPHERE - there was a great "feel" about the hotel. It was small enough to feel private, yet there were always a few smiling, friendly holiday goers about. there was a great veranda area out the front with comfy lounges where you could relax and also to eat your breakfast.

tips - no pool on this property. not essential, given the beach is so close. The small bar next door does a great happy hour, really cheap beer and snacks!
Would stay here again in a heartbeat and would recommend to anyone - definitely worth the slightly higher price!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SobeMiami, Manager at The Shepley Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thanks for your kind comments. We will look into the black outs in the rooms. Great to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Warm regards, Veronica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015 via mobile

Quaint deco hotel a block off beach. Outstanding staff! Good continental breakfast. Room smallish for 4 but adequate. No closet. Slow to arrive hot water. Parking garage available across street. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SobeMiami, Manager at The Shepley Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hi, thanks for your review. We will look into the hot water wait.
Great to know you have enjoyed your stay with us
Warm regards, Veronica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

The renovation of this small hotel is amazing. Great bathrooms beautiful decor in rooms and lobby. Very chic. The staff is great, service is excellent. The place definitely gets 4.5 stars.
Note that the bathrooms are very small, but efficient (nice showers). The breakfast could have been better-would like some yogurt and/or hard boiled eggs, in addition to the breads/pastries. And it would be nice to have breakfast until 11 instead of 10.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SobeMiami, Manager at The Shepley Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hi! Thanks for your comments. All duly noted. Hope to see you back soon. warm regards, Veronica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Shepley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shepley Hotel

Address: 1340 Collins Av. Miami Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Beach Comber Miami)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Shepley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Deco Boutique hotel in the heart of South beach featuring 29 recently renovated rooms. Interior Design by Pablo Chiappori, furniture by Restoration Hardware. Includes 2 suites. Rooms equipped with flat screen tv, minibar, air conditioning, hair dryers, bath robes and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Shepley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shepley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.