We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hotel and bad experience ” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel18

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel18 to your Saves list
Hotel18
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 18th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gaither
1 review
“Poor hotel and bad experience ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My room was dirty. The guy on reception was very unfriendly! They don't have parking space. I came back after the beach at 3pm my room still wasn't cleaned. I am not picky kind of person but this place is terrible. I will never stay here anymore! Only good thing it's close to the beach, but if you have car is doesn't matter

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Hotel18, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Anna - I am very sorry to read your review and not have had the chance personally to change the outcome of your stay. We take pride in the cleanliness of the hotel, and I regret that your experience
was not a positive one. Sometimes our service runs a little later in the day - as guest make special requests, the level of occupancy of the hotel can sometimes play a factor in the course of our day.
I know you say you will not come back but if you are so inclined to give us another chance, please let me know at karenb@hotel18.net. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    90
    39
    11
    4
See reviews for
32
89
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The room was pretty cosy and had a decent kitchenette area. The room had a full size fridge however, this did leak. The staff were all friendly but the door to our room was left open by cleaning staff whilst we were at the beach. This wad pretty disappointing as we had valuables in the room. Was also charged $25 for accidentally breaking a small carafe to later find out it costs $10 to purchase. Overall we enjoyed our stay but the combination of these minor issues would probably prevent us from staying again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel was selected as a last minute choice, because we decided to stay one more day in Miami Beach. We did not find any problems to make the reservation and the manager was very nice! He offered us two options of rooms and we selected the one on the second floor (the other one was good as well, it was just because we have to decide for one...). The room has a small kitchen, large room with a good couch, good bedroom with a comfortable bed and a good restroom. Hotel also offers you a parking lot (you have to pay for it). It is close to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Would say the hotel itself is ok ,the grounds are very nice and also are the rooms.The bathroom needs somewhere to put things on when taking a shower like a shelf.Asked for a wake up call in which I never received ,thank you Hotel 18.Jorge did a good job.My biggest problem was the noise outside of my room till 2am,people would not shut up in the courtyard,complained once but didn't work.The staff need to keep the people under control after 11pm. I probably would never stay here again for that reason........

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Hotel18, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments here. I truly apologize for your not leaving here happy and satisfied with your entire stay. Missing your wake up call is unacceptable and for that we are reviewing our procedures once again. As well we have revisited our overnight security and will taking steps to prevent other guests from disturbing the overall peacefulness of the hotel and courtyard.
Again I appreciate your feedback and please know it is taken seriously and very much appreciated.
Thank you for your patronage.
Karen Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

room very small , bath room whit bloked window so a lot of damp. thin walls , so alot of noice during the night ( all the night the television swich on by the near room!! ). the window of room on the corridor so no privacy !, any hall, wait to chek inn... price very high for the quality, parking extra cost .

Room Tip: go to other hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Hotel18, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and wish these items could have been addressed during your time with us. We would have liked to have had the opportunity to make your stay a more enjoyable one.
We do appreciate your business and hope that we have the chance to welcome you back again.
sincerely,
Karen and Hotel18 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights during the Ultra Music Festival, booked quite late as another hotel let us down. Great location, 1 minute walk just off Collins Avenue, so your close to plenty of bars, restaurants and the famous Miami Beach.
Staff were super friendly and helpful.
the 1 bed apartment style room is great, decett size bedroom with a sofa bed in the living area. We moved to a twin-single bed room and this is pretty cosy but doubt people going to Miami will stay in the room that much - the place parties 24 / 7.
Hotel is quiet and clean. We had an issue with no hot water for a couple of days - NOT the hotels fault as it was gas supply, but we were compensated by a free nights stay so helped accept the inconvenience.

Room Tip: 1 bed apartment sleeps 3-4 easily and in comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Hotel18, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We appreciate your patience and understanding during the crazy WMC/Ultra weekend. And for your special patience during the hot water issue. We are happy to say all has been fixed!

We like to think of Hotel18 as a quiet little spot in the heart of it all - it's nice to rest off the beaten path when the time comes. We hope to welcome you back again.
safe travels
Karen and Hotel18 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel is noway cheap and doesn't have any breakfast or dining services. But the location almost next to the Lincoln Road Mall is excellent. It is also almost right next to the Convention center and beaches.

Rooms are tiny, but who comes to live in a hotel room on a Miami Beach vacation anyway?
Rooms have small fridge and mini kitchen and utensils. There a good self service laundry also.

Other guests seemed to spend good time reading in the hotel inner yard. The only problem being them smoking there, but the smoke didn't come inside my room.

There is very limited parking space. So call them beforehand if you come by car.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel18? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel18

Address: 230 18th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center , Nautilus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel18 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel18 is a serene aparthotel,located in the heart of South Beach. Were a friendly environment is always at your disposal by way of reserving any of our clean and comfortable Standard Studios, Deluxe Studios or One Bedroom Apartments. All of the apartments are set around a court yard setting that leads to a private guest entrance facing James Avenue. Hotel18 also offers Free WiFi, beach towels, communal laundry facilities, self-parking (reservations and fee required)computer station and printer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel18 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel18, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.