We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shady Hotel, Good Location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel18

Save Saved
You added Hotel18 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel18
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 18th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Bayshore)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Shady Hotel, Good Location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel is located in a great location in Miami right off the Boulevard. The hotel is an easy walking distance to nightlife, restaurants, and the beach (10-15 min or so). However, the hotel seemed a bit shady. The office is located in a hotel room - it took us 10 min by phone to get them to come out and open the gate for us because the gate intercom was broken. The room was moderately spacious and clean and did come with a small kitchenette if one was interested in cooking. The furniture was in various states of disrepair but the bed was comfortable and afforded a good night's rest. Overall, this is a decent value for the price. If you are looking for something 3-Star and above, this is probably not the best fit, but if you are looking for a budget-mided hotel, this may work well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel18_SoBe, General Manager at Hotel18, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel18 for your stay! We would like to apologize that you felt our property to be 'shady'. The only time that our reception was temporarily relocated to a guest room was when the reception was under renovation last summer (end of June 2013). We sent email notifications to all guest arriving during those dates explaining the situation and kindly asking to bare with us during our beautification process, but it seems this information did not reach you. Should you ever travel back to Miami Beach we would be delighted to invite you to stop by and see our improvements. If you would like to stay with us again we will gladly offer you a discount for the stay, just remember to mention that you have previously stayed at Hotel18. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    72
    30
    8
    3
See reviews for
23
72
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
key west
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Hi, dont usually leave reviews but that case just unexectable!!!! Stayed on tue in hotel18, place is clean , good location, its not a party place. Front desk guy gave us wrong password for gate door to get in inside, that would be ok if he would get his lazy ...after we called 4 times to open door. But nope. We had to call cops and were just lucky somebody opened gates. So next morning i told about that to front desk persone, she took my number to give to the manager to at least appologize or offer anykinda refund since we spended 2 hours outside. And in 3 days novody called or contacted so basicly nobody cares!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel18_SoBe, General Manager at Hotel18, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
We regret that your experience was not a usual one. After your departure and upon the staff's report I attempted to contacted you by phone several times but was unsuccessful. At Hotel18 we have two entrances as is shown to all guests at check-in. At the time that the erroneous code was given to you as a result of human mistake, our reaction was still open to the public. The police offer even advised that you should use the other entrance to get to your room. It was reported by you that you felt that you did not have to go around to the other entrance because your room was closer to the James Avenue entrance. It was an unfortunate confusion, but I assure you this has never occurred before. We also have signs with the after hour line that starts after 12 am. Since your incident occurred at approximately 10 PM our Front Desk Agent attempted to buzz you in while attending to another guest. We regret that communications were not clear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed six nights for a business trip exhibiting at the Miami Beach Convention Center. Location is great, only a 10-minute walk to the Convention Center. Front Desk staff – Jorge – is very professional and courteous! Room is clean and has fridge and stove top – very convenient. The only thing is both beds squeak quite a lot – maybe from some sort of plastic wrapping to protect the box spring? At any rate, our stay is very pleasant. Great value!

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights to kick off a road trip around Florida. We had a 1br suite. The furnishings are a little dated but the rooms are large and comfortable. Parkings available for $20/night - forget trying to park on the street. It's 100m from the beach and right in the middle of everything going on in hedonistic Miami Beach. Surrounded by bars and clubs, yet absolutely quiet at night. But the best thing about the place (I know this is a cliche but...) was the staff. Best service I've ever had- down to an email (out walking with my phone off) to tell me one of my tires was going flat, dealt with the rental company and found a nearby place to get it fixed.

Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here for 10 days on our honeymoon.
It's not a fancy hotel but it met all our expectations and was very clean and had à friendly staff.
It is located just à few minutes from the beach and everything U need is within walking distance. We definatly enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, Usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hotel18 is really a stand-out! Small hotel family owned AND MANAGED by the family - that was key! GREAT LOCATION close to Miami Beach Convention Center - half a block. Friendly staff, reasonable rate, and I had $$ photo gear in my room for four days with never an issue (or concern, really). Not super luxe but VERY recently updated, nice premium upgrades here and there, super clean and super convenient. Five stars for overall value!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night to attend Miami ballet. The hotel is small but cozy. Friendly prompt check in. Rooms are small but clean. We were able to easily walk 2 blocks to the theater. Surrounded by fun restaurants. Limited parking available so make sure you reserve a parking spot before arrival.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel18? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel18

Address: 230 18th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Bayshore , City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel18 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel18 is a serene aparthotel,located in the heart of South Beach. Were a friendly environment is always at your disposal by way of reserving any of our clean and comfortable Standard Studios, Deluxe Studios or One Bedroom Apartments. All of the apartments are set around a court yard setting that leads to a private guest entrance facing James Avenue. Hotel18 also offers Free WiFi, beach towels, communal laundry facilities, self-parking (reservations and fee required)computer station and printer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel18 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel18, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.