We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shady Hotel, Good Location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel18

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel18 to your Saves list
Hotel18
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 18th Street, corner of James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Shady Hotel, Good Location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The hotel is located in a great location in Miami right off the Boulevard. The hotel is an easy walking distance to nightlife, restaurants, and the beach (10-15 min or so). However, the hotel seemed a bit shady. The office is located in a hotel room - it took us 10 min by phone to get them to come out and open the gate for us because the gate intercom was broken. The room was moderately spacious and clean and did come with a small kitchenette if one was interested in cooking. The furniture was in various states of disrepair but the bed was comfortable and afforded a good night's rest. Overall, this is a decent value for the price. If you are looking for something 3-Star and above, this is probably not the best fit, but if you are looking for a budget-mided hotel, this may work well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel18_SoBe, General Manager at Hotel18, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel18 for your stay! We would like to apologize that you felt our property to be 'shady'. The only time that our reception was temporarily relocated to a guest room was when the reception was under renovation last summer (end of June 2013). We sent email notifications to all guest arriving during those dates explaining the situation and kindly asking to bare with us during our beautification process, but it seems this information did not reach you. Should you ever travel back to Miami Beach we would be delighted to invite you to stop by and see our improvements. If you would like to stay with us again we will gladly offer you a discount for the stay, just remember to mention that you have previously stayed at Hotel18. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
key west
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Hi, dont usually leave reviews but that case just unexectable!!!! Stayed on tue in hotel18, place is clean , good location, its not a party place. Front desk guy gave us wrong password for gate door to get in inside, that would be ok if he would get his lazy ...after we called 4 times to open door. But nope. We had to call cops and were just lucky somebody opened gates. So next morning i told about that to front desk persone, she took my number to give to the manager to at least appologize or offer anykinda refund since we spended 2 hours outside. And in 3 days novody called or contacted so basicly nobody cares!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vick32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel18_SoBe, General Manager at Hotel18, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
We regret that your experience was not a usual one. After your departure and upon the staff's report I attempted to contacted you by phone several times but was unsuccessful. At Hotel18 we have two entrances as is shown to all guests at check-in. At the time that the erroneous code was given to you as a result of human mistake, our reaction was still open to the public. The police offer even advised that you should use the other entrance to get to your room. It was reported by you that you felt that you did not have to go around to the other entrance because your room was closer to the James Avenue entrance. It was an unfortunate confusion, but I assure you this has never occurred before. We also have signs with the after hour line that starts after 12 am. Since your incident occurred at approximately 10 PM our Front Desk Agent attempted to buzz you in while attending to another guest. We regret that communications were not clear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed six nights for a business trip exhibiting at the Miami Beach Convention Center. Location is great, only a 10-minute walk to the Convention Center. Front Desk staff – Jorge – is very professional and courteous! Room is clean and has fridge and stove top – very convenient. The only thing is both beds squeak quite a lot – maybe from some sort of plastic wrapping to protect the box spring? At any rate, our stay is very pleasant. Great value!

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights to kick off a road trip around Florida. We had a 1br suite. The furnishings are a little dated but the rooms are large and comfortable. Parkings available for $20/night - forget trying to park on the street. It's 100m from the beach and right in the middle of everything going on in hedonistic Miami Beach. Surrounded by bars and clubs, yet absolutely quiet at night. But the best thing about the place (I know this is a cliche but...) was the staff. Best service I've ever had- down to an email (out walking with my phone off) to tell me one of my tires was going flat, dealt with the rental company and found a nearby place to get it fixed.

Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here for 10 days on our honeymoon.
It's not a fancy hotel but it met all our expectations and was very clean and had à friendly staff.
It is located just à few minutes from the beach and everything U need is within walking distance. We definatly enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, Usa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hotel18 is really a stand-out! Small hotel family owned AND MANAGED by the family - that was key! GREAT LOCATION close to Miami Beach Convention Center - half a block. Friendly staff, reasonable rate, and I had $$ photo gear in my room for four days with never an issue (or concern, really). Not super luxe but VERY recently updated, nice premium upgrades here and there, super clean and super convenient. Five stars for overall value!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PdubPhotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night to attend Miami ballet. The hotel is small but cozy. Friendly prompt check in. Rooms are small but clean. We were able to easily walk 2 blocks to the theater. Surrounded by fun restaurants. Limited parking available so make sure you reserve a parking spot before arrival.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TBMARE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#85 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,533 reviews
Circa 39 Hotel
#46 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chesterfield Hotel
#71 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,373 reviews
City Center
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
#39 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#114 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel18? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel18

Address: 230 18th Street, corner of James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center , Nautilus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel18 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel18 is a serene apart hotel, located in the heart of South Beach. We're a friendly environment is always at your disposal by way of reserving any of our clean and comfortable standard studios, deluxe studios or one bedroom apartments. All of the apartments are set around a courtyard setting that leads to a private guest entrance facing James Avenue. Hotel18 also offers free WiFi, beach towels, communal laundry facilities, self-parking (reservations and fee required) computer station and printer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel18 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing