We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, staff a bit overzealous.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel18

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel18 to your Saves list
Hotel18
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 18th Street, corner of James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location, staff a bit overzealous.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Two blocks from Lincoln road mall and a puuuuurrrrrfect world class stretch of beach. Cute and cozy boutique hotel.

Limited parking, there's a lot half a block away though. Paper thin walls. We heard next door sneezes. Occasional loud mechanical knocks emanated from walls too.

Needs hotel shower curtains. The curtain was too far in the shower and rubbed against me, gross. Room small but fine. Mattress a tiny bit saggy but fine.

Fridge and microwave in room. Points!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    107
    47
    11
    6
See reviews for
39
104
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, Wyoming
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Hotel 18 sits on a backstreet from the main strip. The lobby is small, but inviting. The woman at the front desk made an instant great impression; she was kind, very helpful, and professional. Although I was early, they had my room ready, so they permitted me to check in, which I appreciated.

My efficiency room was tastefully yet simply decorated, well-thought-out, clean, cool, and my towels were white and fluffy. There was a generous array of toiletries provided.

The staff continued to be helpful and professional for the duration of my stay.

I enjoyed the courtyard with comfortable cushioned, wicker chairs; it had a European air.

There was nothing extravagant or luxurious about the Hotel 18, but I'm a practical person and it suited me just fine.

Another thing to note that is no reflection at all on Hotel 18: south beach is very noisy and revolves around the night life. If you're not used to city life, you'd better bring the ear plugs for when you sleep.

CAVEAT: If you should book the Hotel 18 via Expedia or one of the other similar sites, call Hotel 18 to reserve a parking space, if available. I didn't know this, so I had to park in a pay-to-park lot down the street. The lot was cash only and it charged on a mutable sliding scale at the whimsy of the lot attendant. I paid $30 for about 17 hours, then they moved my car to a storage lot somewhere else so I lost the convenience of having my car at the ready.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Schweiz
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

we lost our pass at the airport. but before we did mention, robert came and informed us that we forgot the pass. and so we had no problem to get our pass back. he also explained everything that mattered to us and much more. the hotel is nice equipped. you have a fully kitchen where you can cook, nice tv and bed. and the hotel is closet to the beach. i can very recommend that hotel! and the good thing is, it is one of the most cost-saving hotel at south beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I definitely enjoyed my stay, at the hotel. I visited the area in june and received amazing customer service from a gentlemen named Jorge all weekend. The location, plus the cleanliness, plus how comfortable my room was and to top it off what I call him "super jorge" ...lol took care of us, during my late check in. So because of all that I came back aug 9-11 to the same hotel and again jorge was excellent. Also this time around I received great additional care from alexandre and a young lady who gave me some great info and help. I will be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel was a very good choice for us, it was better than we expected! The quality-price are the best.
The rooms are new with a small kitchen and all the kitchenware, coffee and tea!
Everything was clean, the bed was very comfortable that made our stay much better! All the staff was friendly and ready to help with different questions.
The territory of the hotel is small but cosy with a cortyard where you can sit and drink coffee or just relax in the evening.
It is only 1,5 blocks from the beach, you can take beach towels in the hotel that is very convenient.
The hotel is situated close to all the night life of Miami Beach (bars, stores, restaurants etc.) but quite far not to hear this social life in the hotel.
I can highly recommend this place for your vacation in Miami..

Room Tip: Room on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The service at hotel 18 was the best service I have ever received from a hotel staff. My husband and I have stayed in many top rated hotels but the service provided by hotel 18 was absolutely the best! Robert specifically treated us as if we were family. He did everything he could to make sure we had everything we needed. He went above and beyond! The rest of the staff was also very helpful. We will definitely stay at hotel 18 again. Good service goes a long way! Not to mention all the other amentities go the hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have spent few night in Hotel 18. Overall, we would recommend it.

+ central location, 5 mins to the Beach
+ close to restaurants and other facilities,
+ clean
+ safe
+ very nice and helpful staff
+ silent
+ kitchen


- internet works only in the main square
- price. However, in this central location you will always pay more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Townhouse Hotel
#100 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#80 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 2,978 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#92 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,080 reviews
Circa 39 Hotel
#51 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
City Center
SBH South Beach Hotel
SBH South Beach Hotel
#74 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel18? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel18

Address: 230 18th Street, corner of James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center , Nautilus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel18 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel18 is a serene apart hotel, located in the heart of South Beach. We're a friendly environment is always at your disposal by way of reserving any of our clean and comfortable standard studios, deluxe studios or one bedroom apartments. All of the apartments are set around a courtyard setting that leads to a private guest entrance facing James Avenue. Hotel18 also offers free WiFi, beach towels, communal laundry facilities, self-parking (reservations and fee required) computer station and printer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel18 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel18, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.