We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Friendly Helpful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel18

Save Saved
You added Hotel18 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel18
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 18th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Bayshore)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
ontario, canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay, Friendly Helpful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We (wife, self and 2 other couples) stayed one night pre-cruise, had a wonderful time. Very clean and comfortable, good location, close to beach, Lincoln Rd mall, great shops and food. Nothing fancy, but very good value for money. A big plus is the central courtyard for a quite evening drink with friends, or to just check your e-mail. Safe area for walking at night. "Will" at the front desk arranged for taxi's to Port on our departure and was very helpful with restaurant suggestions. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    62
    25
    7
    1
See reviews for
16
60
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

There are multiple aspects to staying in any hotel. The main things I look for are: clean, quiet, good location, and price. I don't care if the place has a piano in the entrance.

POSITIVE:
The place was quite clean, the location was very good, the manager was helpful. But in terms of service, how do you give it 4 or 5 stars when no one is there after 8PM??

NEGATIVE:
Most workmanship in the room was very shoddy (paint on the blinds, cabinets that don't fit with doors askew, poor plastering). The 2 single beds were not comfortable at all (very cheap). Air conditioner was a bit loud.

But as for quiet - it was awful. It appeared that the windows didn't fit properly and sound passed through them as if they weren't even there. There was traffic noise, and the most annoying was other guests in the courtyard yelling/talking to each other until 2:30 in the morning. The courtyard acted like an echo chamber amplifying the sound. And as others indicated (and I confirmed), there is no service desk after 8pm.

Ultimately, if I can't get to sleep in a hotel room - for me it's primary purpose - I can't recommend it, and thus the low overall rating. I've tried to be very specific in what I liked and didn't like so you can make up your own mind, but I can't believe the people who indicated the place was quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is more of a 4.5 star review. We had 5 friends staying in a 1 bedroom apartment at Hotel 18 and it fit us all very comfortably. There was a queen size bed, a pullout couch, and a rollaway bed, along with plenty of room to sleep on the floor if you needed. The rooms were very clean, and had a fridge and full kitchen for long stays if you needed to cook anything. The only minor quip was the bathrooms were a little smallService was great, Wilfredo was helpful with everything you needed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Amazing location, heart of South Beach, easily accessible to Lincoln Road, Collins, Ocean Drive, the beach, and Washington Avenue.

Decor is great, rooms were clean and had everything we needed and the kitchenette was a great feature, microwaves in hotel rooms should be a necessity everywhere!

Service was great too, the check-in receptionist was very friendly and helpful. We disembarked very early from our cruise ship (around 10am) and headed straight to the hotel and were granted our request of early check in! We had the room a mere hour later, 4 hours earlier than the 3pm official check in time. Very accomodating.

All in all, a solid bet for South Beach on a budget without compromising anything (except a pool), and would definitely stay here again and recommend to all

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Cozy. Updated. Furnished. Centralized location. Good service. Great value/rate. GM is very efficient and personable. Kitchenette. Separate, private bedroom. Complete bathroom. Full living room. Homey. Mostly young students from overseas. You get your own parking spot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom flat which had a lounge with sleeper couch so four of us stayed here. For the price and location it was well worth it. The flat itself was decorated very nicely and the kitchen was very clean and all the utensils were practically new. The sleeper couch was comfortable and the bed in the bedroom annoying kept moving because of the tiles but it was comfortable. Plenty of closet space. Bathroom was a bit small but always good to have a hot shower.
Since we had all the facilities we made breakfast each day and the cleaning service was kind enought to put the dishes away.
Hotel is just of Collins street and and then another road to the beach and a short walk to ocean drive and south beach. On the other side two street was Washington avenue which was also excellent. If you have a car be prepared to drive around looking for parking. We were lucky to find a spot on ocean drive on a Saturday night.

This hotel is good if you want to spend more time in Miami as it does feel like home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

I guess you get what you pay for, and this hotel was pretty cheap. Good location. Quiet. Clean, but small rooms. Kitchenette.

Great for sleeping. If you are looking for wild pool parties, you should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel18? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel18

Address: 230 18th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Bayshore , City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel18 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel18 is a serene aparthotel,located in the heart of South Beach. Were a friendly environment is always at your disposal by way of reserving any of our clean and comfortable Standard Studios, Deluxe Studios or One Bedroom Apartments. All of the apartments are set around a court yard setting that leads to a private guest entrance facing James Avenue. Hotel18 also offers Free WiFi, beach towels, communal laundry facilities, self-parking (reservations and fee required)computer station and printer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hotel18 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel18, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.