We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel close to the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel18

Save Saved
You added Hotel18 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel18
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 18th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Bayshore)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel close to the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I recently stayed at Hotel 18 in South Beach for a few nights. The hotel is very simple, nothing fancy, and reasonably priced. It is just off Collins Avenue with all its shops and restaurants and the beach is also only a short walk away.

The staff was also very friendly and helpful.

I overall had a very pleasant stay there and would definitely recommend it if you are looking for a quiet hotel in Miami Beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    70
    31
    8
    2
See reviews for
21
64
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our 12 month old for the first leg of our vacation/anniversary celebration. When we got to our room, we found some chocolates and a kind note congratulating our anniversary and noticed that the baby playpen was all set up with comfy blankets so our baby could nap. We really appreciated this! It was also nice to have onsite parking (with surcharge) as we had a rental car.
Housekeeping staff was sweet and efficient.
Some construction was going on during our stay and at 2 occasions we found a worker looking in thru our bathroom and kitchen windows. This was alarming and so we kept our blinds drawn shut from that point on. Management did ask our permission if they could have the bathroom window worked on from the outside and they were good about our wish to have this task postponed until the following morning after we check out. However, they must not have communicated this to the construction crew because we found a worker right at our bathroom window just as my husband was about to hop into the shower. It did leave us feeling a bit violated.
The room was clean and had the amenities we needed. The reception area could use a face lift reorganization, and decluttering. I do want to encourage a particular front desk (daytime) staff to be more welcoming and friendly as first impressions do count. Remember, you are receiving people into your establishment who have travelled a long distance, are tired, and are looking forward to some respite.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on the recommendation of a relative; the hotel is very near his condo. The price was good, but after two nights, we'd had enough, so moved to a different hotel.
I will say that they had a 5-day cancellation policy, which they waived; we paid for one of the two additional nights we were booked for ($140).
Our room was located on the inner courtyard, so we were subject to all the noise of late-night partiers...we always expect some of that in South Beach, but, coupled with the overall shabbiness of the hotel, it was just too much.
The hotel policy states that late-night noise isn't allowed (I am assuming they mean music); since there is no staff after 8 pm, there is no recourse except to call an 800 number and leave a message. As I said, we expect the noise, up to a point.
The room itself was tiny...the bathroom door opened into the metal "kitchenette" every time. The shower was tiny...the tv was wall-mounted, but about to fall off. There was no place to put our suitcase, no drawers, just...a tiny room. Won't stay there again for any reason.
We're a middle-aged couple. We don't have tons of money. We like value, and we don't want to spend ALL our vacation money on hotels. Hotel 18 is where we draw the line.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Hotel18 is very well located -- a 2-block walk to the beach, being just off Collins Ave, and 2 blocks from Lincoln Road's shops and restaurants. The hotel itself is no frills, but it’s quiet and peaceful, with a nice courtyard. Parking is not included or guaranteed and they only have a limited number of spots available, for a daily fee. The parking spots were already booked at the time of my stay, but I did find street parking, and there was also a parking lot less than a block away. Overall, I had a very nice stay here.

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Hotel 18 is located only 1 block from the beach. But I would say this is the only good thing about it.
The hotel has so many problems and could be a lot nicer.

Firstly, the rooms are very basic and small. The beds seemed short, I am only 5 foot 6 and my feet were hanging off the end of the bed....so trying to sleep was difficult. Bathroom had mould on the shower curtain and the ceiling. Kitchen is soooo tiny I am not sure you could cook, plus the fridge is actually located in the bedroom area!
Our fridge didn't work and the only way we found out was because we bought a tub of ice cream and it turned into yoghurt!

The hotel is located around a central courtyard and some people like to sit and talk until very late, if you are a light sleeper then take earplugs.

The staff are not super friendly. They really don't seem to have any tourist maps or be able to help with sightseeing or restaurant recommendations.
The only tour they recommended to us was to the Everglades and the tour was really bad. My husband and I were very disappointed.

I am confused as to why some people have said this is a nice hotel. It really needs work.
If you are visiting Miami do your research because there are hundreds of hotels to stay at, and I definitely wouldn't recommend this one.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

On our last visit to Miami beach (April 20 to 23) we booked Hotel 18. We got there earlier than check-in time but the room was ready so we checked- in early without any difficulty. The accommodations were small but very comfortable. It was like having a little apartment away from home. I was especially impressed with the efficiency kitchen. Actually, I loved it!! Dishes, pots and pans were basically brand new. They had plates, spoons, forks, knives everything you might want/need to prepare a small meal. Other amenities included, a microwave, a small fridge, a toaster, a coffee maker, dish washing liquid, a dish washing sponge, a roll of paper towels, an iron & small iron board and hair blower. They dont have any safe for your valuables. Toiletries and towels were available too. Everything for use was clean, BUT they can sure do a better job with the windows. They were seriously filthy. I can’t completely blame the housekeeping for this because the whole area where the hotel is located is under construction and this dirties the windows ALOT. But Hotel 18 doesn’t have a great view anyway, so the windows (although they can use a SERIOUS hose-down) are not so important. The area is VERY noisy during the day due to all this construction but I’m sure this will come to an end at some point in time. But the Monday we were there noise/work started around 7:30AM. The room we were staying at (218) was showing signs of mold on the bathroom's ceiling and a little bit on the grout/edges of the tub. That is expected due to the humidity of Miami Beach but they should probably try some Tylex on those spots!

Probably the best thing of Hotel 18 is its LOCATION!! It’s just about a block and a half away from the beach, a few more steps on the other direction and you’ll find the “Strip”, the Convention Center and all the great shops of the area. There is a 24hr-CVS (pharmacy) two short blocks from the hotel. There you can find anything and everything you might need for your stay (even frozen meals if that is what you are looking for-HA!). Two blocks the other way and you'll find a "bodega" where you can buy any grocery you'd want to have for your stay (I bought whole wheat bread, eggs, milk, cheese, coffee and a few other things-they sell small convenient containers of everything!!) Needless, to say, breakfast/lunch cost us only like $40 for the whole stay. But truthfully there is no need for this either because there is a 24hrs diner one block from the hotel. The hotel has parking but we didn’t have a car so we didn’t use it. BUT we definitely observed that non-parking areas are taken very seriously in Miami Beach. Lastly, after we partied at the strip until morning we came "home" and had something to eat in the nice inside-terrace. Everybody was courteous and there was no craziness at the terrace at that time of the night- It was great! I felt safe at all times.

On our last day, we needed late check-out (flight was in the evening). The administration didn’t want to give us the “ok” on the late check-out until very last minute. We had to wake up early, go to the office at 8:30 am to request the late check-out. Regular, check out is at 11am and word authorizing late check-out didn’t come until 10am. NEVERTHELESS, housekeeping STILL knocked at outdoor at 10:30am. I was the one who had to notify them about out late checkout time of 4:30pm. BUT OF COURSE, housekeeping came back and knocked at our door AGAIN at 4:00pm. That was annoying!! We paid $60 for the late check-out, while some luxury hotels usually charge $50. It’s not like we were going to sneak our stay there until next day!!! So they didn’t have to “announce” that it was going to be 4:30pm.

All and all, I would definitely recommend this hotel for budgeted visitors. We will definitely check for availability the next time we escape to Miami Beach for a few days! Love MIAMI and their awesome people!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

really enjoy my stay in this hotel. People and owner, Sara, very friendly and helpful. The studio I rented can easily fit 4 persons. Kitchen allows to make complete meals if you want to save money on restaurants. The premises are very clean and the location is fantastic being close to SOBE's night life but situated in a quiet street for a good night sleep. Walking distance from SOBE convention center and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel18? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel18

Address: 230 18th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Bayshore , City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel18 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel18 is a serene aparthotel,located in the heart of South Beach. Were a friendly environment is always at your disposal by way of reserving any of our clean and comfortable Standard Studios, Deluxe Studios or One Bedroom Apartments. All of the apartments are set around a court yard setting that leads to a private guest entrance facing James Avenue. Hotel18 also offers Free WiFi, beach towels, communal laundry facilities, self-parking (reservations and fee required)computer station and printer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel18 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel18, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.