We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean and very convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel18

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel18 to your Saves list
Hotel18
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 18th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, clean and very convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This charming hotel was the perfect one for my few days escape to South Beach!! Close to every clubs, restaurants, shopping mall and the most important a block away from the beach. It's a very quiet and clean small property, not expensive at all. Will come back for sure!! :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    84
    38
    9
    4
See reviews for
29
85
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed for one night at the end of March to tour Miami before heading back to the Gulf Coast from Key West. The booking process, including requested parking reservation, and staff service were excellent as was the price considering how expensive Miami is in March. The room (214, studio queen) was spacious and clean enough (hairs on the bathroom sink from previous guests) but the toilet seat was loose and there was some unattractive cocking in the bathroom and a few light/electrical switches that could use a change. Otherwise the room was fine with a mini-kitchenette and great AC and the courtyard was beautiful, even without a pool. The decor was tasteful and modern and the bed was comfortable. The location is FANTASTIC!

Our only problem was how loud the people in the next room were. The kept going in an out of their room at all hours to party up the hall (young guys there for Spring break or Wrestlemania) and their door slammed so much that it shook our room and we could hear their voices clearly through the walls -- even with earplugs in. With no overnight management to complain to there was little we could do but continue to be woken up right up until 4:30am which must have been when they went to bed. If I could make a recommendation to management it would be to advise guests upon check-in to please be respectful of other guests, especially since the heavy doors slam on their own and with the way these rooms appear to have been converted from apartments there was an attaching door that was sealed shut in our room that attached to the next. I'm just so thankful that this group wasn't partying in the room directly beside us. Other than this complaint I would recommend Hotel 18, just make sure you bring your own earplugs!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel18_SoBe, General Manager at Hotel18, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel18 for your stay & we sincerely apologize that your rest was disturbed during your stay with us. As part of our registration terms, signed by all guests there is a 'no partying claus' that everyone must abide by and will be subject to a $250 fee if a problem arises. I have been the GM at Hotel18 since the opening and I do remember this particular incident. It just so happens that I myself was on duty this evening and personally charged the $250 fine and then had the college students relocated to another hotel after they were caught parting. All guests may report any disturbance after our closing by calling our phone line directly. I would like to assure you that there is always a night auditor that cares for problems as such at Hotel18. We would be delighted to invited you to come by on your next vacation to Miami Beach and stay with is at a discounted rate. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I almost didn't want to write a review of this place because I considered it a 'hidden gem' and didn't want to risk it being booked up if I ever go back! This place is not upscale, over the top fancy or glamourous...but it is clean, quiet, charming and tasteful. We stayed here before a cruise and it was perfect. The little kitchenette makes this perfect for those who are having an extended stay in Miami (so that you can buy your own food and keep and warm up leftovers). The owner was super nice and held our luggage while we shopped around waiting for our flight, which was much appreciated. The centre courtyard was really nice to just sit and chill in, especially at night. Lincoln Road and South Beach was a close walk. Considering that most of the hotels in South Beach on Collins Road was well over $300 during March Break, I think we got a great deal.
Recommend for those who would rather spend their money IN Miami instead of on lodging, don't hesitate -- book this before someone else does!

Room Tip: Our room didn't have a view, so if that's your 'thing' this might not be the hotel f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odivelas, Portugal
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012 via mobile

Very nice stay with a very good price in a very quit street but close to all the bars and animation. Lincoln street is just around the corner, supermarket is really close. We stayed in an apartment with kitchen and one bedroom and it's really worth the price different. The apartment is small but have all that you need for your stay, washer and dryer are available in the hotel, as soft drinks. The staff is very helpful and will do all to improve your stay. As the hotel is designed as a motel in a U shape you can relax in the outside chairsDefinitely a good option considering the high prices in Miami. 

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Hotel 18 is superbly located half a block from Collins St and the airport bus stop and 3 min walk from Washington St and Lincoln Rd so it's right in the heart of all the action in South Beach. Also it's a block and a half away from the beach. The hotel provides short and long term stays. Our room was in a corner and it was huge. It had a kitchen fully equipped with stove, microwave, dishes, pots, etc., a small dining table and a small fridge. There was plenty of storage space for clothes, the bed was comfortable. There is AC. The bathroom has a tub; toiletries and hair dryer are provided as well. The big windows have white panels beneath the curtains which is really helpful to keep a lot of light from entering the room in the mornings and helps keep the room cooler. Everything was very clean. Wi fi is included also. My only complaint and it's not really about the hotel but about the noise in the street which kept waking us up during the night. I guess that's what you get for the excellent location. It doesn't have a pool if that interests you, for us it wasn't important. In summary, great price, very clean and excellent location, what more could you ask?

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street as the noise during the night can be bothersome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, ND
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one weekend in February and were very happy with our room. The lady at the front desk was very nice and even helped us with our bags. The hotel room is a tiny studio apartment complete with a kitchen. Everything was very clean. The local bus stop is only a block away (which you can ride for only 25 cents!). Lincoln Road Mall is a short walk south, so it's easy to get to the action, but the hotel is quiet, so you can actually sleep at night. South Beach is absolutely beautiful! It was a great trip and I would recommend this hotel if you are ok with a very basic (but clean) set up. No pool, hot tub, or breakfast, but if you want a good breakfast, hop on the bus and go down to 8th and eat on the patio at News Cafe...good breakfast and fun people watching!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Stayed in the 1-bedroom apartment for a long weekend in February. Hotel has very reasonable prices, and the apartment is a good choice when 3 adults travel. The apartment was clean and comfortable, even the futon in the living room was comfy. Bathroom is small but adequate; kitchen has all the basics. Location is great, walking distance to Lincoln Road, Collins Ave etc. Only minus point, and a big one, comes from the noisy atmosphere; lots of people like to congregate in the outside patio area or outside the rooms, which makes sleeping very difficult for the one sleeping on the futon in the living room. Hotel is easily accessible by the airport bus, there are a few parking spots right outside as well. Would recommend but do bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel18? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel18

Address: 230 18th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center , Nautilus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel18 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel18 is a serene aparthotel,located in the heart of South Beach. Were a friendly environment is always at your disposal by way of reserving any of our clean and comfortable Standard Studios, Deluxe Studios or One Bedroom Apartments. All of the apartments are set around a court yard setting that leads to a private guest entrance facing James Avenue. Hotel18 also offers Free WiFi, beach towels, communal laundry facilities, self-parking (reservations and fee required)computer station and printer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel18 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel18, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.