We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, cheap, and close to the action (but not too close)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel18

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel18 to your Saves list
Hotel18
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 18th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Berlin, ND
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very clean, cheap, and close to the action (but not too close)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one weekend in February and were very happy with our room. The lady at the front desk was very nice and even helped us with our bags. The hotel room is a tiny studio apartment complete with a kitchen. Everything was very clean. The local bus stop is only a block away (which you can ride for only 25 cents!). Lincoln Road Mall is a short walk south, so it's easy to get to the action, but the hotel is quiet, so you can actually sleep at night. South Beach is absolutely beautiful! It was a great trip and I would recommend this hotel if you are ok with a very basic (but clean) set up. No pool, hot tub, or breakfast, but if you want a good breakfast, hop on the bus and go down to 8th and eat on the patio at News Cafe...good breakfast and fun people watching!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    84
    38
    9
    4
See reviews for
29
85
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Stayed in the 1-bedroom apartment for a long weekend in February. Hotel has very reasonable prices, and the apartment is a good choice when 3 adults travel. The apartment was clean and comfortable, even the futon in the living room was comfy. Bathroom is small but adequate; kitchen has all the basics. Location is great, walking distance to Lincoln Road, Collins Ave etc. Only minus point, and a big one, comes from the noisy atmosphere; lots of people like to congregate in the outside patio area or outside the rooms, which makes sleeping very difficult for the one sleeping on the futon in the living room. Hotel is easily accessible by the airport bus, there are a few parking spots right outside as well. Would recommend but do bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Written by: 6 mid-twenty somethings in Miami for 2 days at the end of December 2011. We booked this hotel from reviews online and took the risk that all web-bookers take. We were very happy with Hotel 18 and would happily recommend to anyone who is not fussy about not being on the beach front of South Beach but who would like to be close to the beach and Lincoln.

Pros: Good value for money. Fantastic location - 2 blocks from beach and 2 blocks north of Lincoln. A/C. Well kept, clean and spacious rooms. Modern, tasteful finishes. Kitchenette with fridge, stove, coffee machine, kettle, cupboards, crockery and cutlery. Helpful and polite staff. Parking for cars (@ $20 per day). Secure. Free WiFi access in rooms.

Cons: Not on beach front. No view. No restaurant or bar.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Really loved this place. I found this motel online and that is sometimes worrisome because when you arrive it may not be what you thought it would be, but this place was really clean, quaint and located nicely. The rooms are clean, well decorated, and have a small efficiency kitchen in them. We liked it so much after our first stay before our cruise we booked for our return. They went out of their way to please us and they did so happily. We would go back if we are in Miami again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The reception staff were really friendly and helpful. Everything looked very new in the rooms, and they were stylishly decorated. The light and airy courtyard with palm trees looked really lovely. We were not expecting much, because of how reasonably priced the hotel was, so we were pleasantly surprised that it was so lovely, and that it was within walking distance of everything you would want to visit in South Beach! I would definitely stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Nice hotel, clean, very good value for money.
Disgusting view, but when you are in South Beach you have to be outside, so no problem!
Free wifi and business corner.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011 via mobile

I'm a pickey person when it comes to hotels, but I wanted to be economical for my one night stay in Miami beach so I settled for this deal. It was an excellent value for what I paid for. I had low expectations, given price but the hotel exceeded them in some ways and met them in others. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel18? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel18

Address: 230 18th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center , Nautilus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel18 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel18 is a serene aparthotel,located in the heart of South Beach. Were a friendly environment is always at your disposal by way of reserving any of our clean and comfortable Standard Studios, Deluxe Studios or One Bedroom Apartments. All of the apartments are set around a court yard setting that leads to a private guest entrance facing James Avenue. Hotel18 also offers Free WiFi, beach towels, communal laundry facilities, self-parking (reservations and fee required)computer station and printer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel18 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel18, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.