We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Angry & Eaten by Bed Bugs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Venezia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Venezia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Venezia Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3865 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Formerly Malabo Hotel) (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #187 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“Angry & Eaten by Bed Bugs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Some friends and I chose this hotel because of the affordable price for spring break. The hotel is in a good location and the bus comes often to get you where you need to go. However, there is no free parking anywhere near this hotel. The rooms and elevator are horrible! The toilet kept getting stopped up and when calling the front desk for maintenance they took forever. They only give you one face towel per room even though it was 3 of us in a room. When we called for more, they asked why we weren't using the towels from the previous day or they said they didn't have more. The cleaning staff cleaned our room once and sometimes she didn't even clean the bathroom or she just changed the sheets on the bed but put the same cover. Lastly, my friends and I noticed that we had been itching and saw that a bed bug was crawling across the bed. We immediately called the front desk and they stated that there was nothing that they could do. THEY WOULDN'T EVEN GIVE US OUR MONEY BACK! We left that night, having to end our vacation early and have a open case with the Miami Beach Health Department. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    14
    34
    14
    83
See reviews for
25
39
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is horrible......it has a BED BUG problem and the staff knows it... Me and two friends kept seeing bumps that look like Mosquitos bites, then the last night we were discussing the bites and a BED BUG crawled from under the cover, we took pictures of it, then we immediately called the hotel staff. They said the only thing they could do was give us another room..... If the BED BUGS were in one room, they are in all rooms.... We asked for a refund for the last night because we wanted to leave and had to cut our Spring Break down one day, which sucked BTW... They told us we had to contact the third party we purchased from... Contacted them, and the hotel staff lied about the time we checked out, they lied to the third party about a manger being in staff meetings all day and will not be in office for 3 days, the staff were very rude to third party, and keep hanging up on the third party while they were trying to resolve the issue( we still have a pending case with them)... We also put in a case with the Miami Beach Health and Human Resource Department for this hotel to be inspected.... So they better get ready!!! Lastly, the staff were very very rude, they did not provide us with maintenance after we called several time about the toilet.... The maid kept leaving one washcloth when it three people in the room... Each day we had to call the front desk to get more washcloths; even then they questioned us about using the same one from the pervious days... This Is a hotel( you should have towels stacked to the ceiling).
No Parking, ok location( mid beach)... Staff terrible... Breakfast simple... Cleanliness horrific.. Most importantly BED BUGS live here..... I repeat DO NOT STAY HERE...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I wonder if they ever clean the floors and surfaces. Dust, litter, hair ... On the floor and really thick dust on Tv, remote and tables. Great location though. Very bad for that price! ?f you have another option do not stay at this hotel. No free parking anywhere close This place. Also there is no sign to see this place, you have to guess !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Worst hotel I've ever stayed in and I wasn't expecting much for the price. Didn't help that we had just got off a fantastic cruise ship. Everything about it looks like it's come from a reclaimers the doors don't fit properly. Aircon was very noisey. Sink hanging off of the wall. Outside looks the same as the pictures but the pictures of the rooms were nothing like the one we stayed in. Although it wasn't dirty it definately needs a huge refurb. It looks like they have given it a lick of paint to cheer it up. The free breakfast is ok bagels cheese, coffee and orange juice. Also location is fine if you don't require parking it is inbetween the creek and the beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatontown, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I booked this place on Travelocity for a last minute weekend trip. Checking in and out was really quick, although there is no sign outside indicating that this was the correct hotel. The room is basic but has pergo floors so you can see it's clean. It's really quite nice for the price. Great location, close to the beach and inlet not far from south beach. Although you might have some road noise late at times from racing cars. Claudio answered all the questions I had right away. Yes there is no ice machines and the deadbolts locks don't work, but if you can get over that it's great place for $80 a night we paid. The best thing was that my husband left his watch, necklace and bracelet in the room and they returned them to us after sending them a prepaid box to return it in. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Hotel has no parking space even to load or unload your luggages, we had to double park beeing exposed to heavy traffic.
You have to go 4-5 blocks away to find a spot to park on your own.
Rooms have windows,matresses and carpet from 1920.
Also our window was coming apart and carpet was wrinkled and with dirty spots all over.
Very noisy hallways and doors are old and they don't close right.
I thought for one night will be OK to pay less and choose this hotel, but I think I was wrong.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I was so nervous after seeing so many negative reviews but I have got to say so pleasantly suprised! we stayed there for a week for what other hotels started at in one night! they offered a wonderful complimentary breakfast in the morning! and when we got into the room I did expect stained sheets and broken tv like everyone had said but it was actually really nice! the bed sheets and comforter was nice and clean! the air conditioner was brand new and the room was nice and cold when we got there and stayed cold! the tv worked perfect! The shower was spotlessly clean! as far as the water not getting hot like I had read let the shower run for 10 minutes and flush the toilet the shower gets nice and hot! the beach was literally across the street along with Carrabba's and a very convient liquor store and it was about a 1.3 miles outside the heart of south beach! it's a little bit of a walk but there are busses that run down there constantly! the people at the front desk were very nice and the security deposit was only 50$ and could be cash unlike other hotels in the area that are about 300$ it is not a five star hotel! but you get what you pay for and it really is an amazing deal I would 100% stay there again and recommend it to anyone on a budget!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Venezia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venezia Hotel

Address: 3865 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Formerly Malabo Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#187 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Venezia Hotel 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Venezia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venezia Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venezia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.