We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Venezia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Venezia Hotel to your Saves list
Venezia Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3865 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Formerly Malabo Hotel) (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #198 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Overall, the building needs to be demolished. It was absoultely disgusting. A friend and I stayed for Memorial Day weekend in 2011. The outside of the building was just ok, at least until we saw a roach. The lobby was small and outdated. Not clean. The staff was nice but when i asked for an extra towel, they gave the last one away. What? This is a hotel. The mattresses had no large stains but was so old that there is no telling what lived inside. Spots all over the walls, disgusting carpet. The shower was also dirty. The kicker you ask? They left envelopes on the bedside table requesting tips. You want a tip? Exterminate, demolish, and build something besides a hotel.

Room Tip: Please search a cleaner hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on a trip with friends. The hotel has great location within walking distance from almost all the beaches. There's a bus stop right in front. There's free breakfast which is not lavish but adequate. They claim to have wi-fi but you can only get it from the lobby. The no free parking is a pain as many people have pointed out and at 8 AM there is a steady stream of people to refill the meters. However I would recommend this hotel only if you're in Miami with friends especially on a budget probably not for families.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UFLGrad_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I know that mostly these reviews are for people who either love their stay or hate it. Ive got to say that for the price per night for this hotel it is reasonable. The location is less than 2 mins from a beautiful beach, 1 hour walk from South Beach centre and al;l the tourist attractions. There is no free parking, the rooms are grotty and the staff are not bothered by anything at all, however we took our own towels and bedding after reading the reviews on here and had a great time in Miami, after all it is only somewhere to sleep. There is wifi which you can use in the lobby and the breakfast is pretty poor unless you like cakes bagels and cereal, but I do so it was ok. If you want a clean hotel and great service, go somewhere else, this is not the hotel for you.If you can do budget hostel style then stay here, its value for money.

Room Tip: First floor is safest as the lift is pretty rickety. Also you can get wifi in the first two rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcbristol_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I'm sure there are worst places to stay at, but take a good look at the pictures and decided if this is the kind of place you are ok with

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Formosa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Clean, the forniture dont like new , but is confortable. I was 3 day .

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuisHoracio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I recently stayed 7 nights in the Venezia hotel, booked through hotels.com, and was disgusted by the quality of the accommodation and the quality of the service. Given the price I paid for the rooms (£81 per night), I was expecting a decent hotel. This establishment was a complete disappointment.

The service was abysmal. I was checked in entirely whilst the receptionist chatted on the phone. The staff refused to even give out spare towels or refill the breakfast cereal. Staff were rude and unapologetic about problems.
The breakfast consisted of some stale cakes and bagels and cereal (if you were lucky), served in the reception area with two sofas to sit on. They should not be allowed to claim that breakfast is included.
No working TV, no microwave, not ice machine, no phone.
One bed in our room had a mattress that didn't fit the bed and was unusable.
Paint was chipped and peeling.
Airconditioner was wall-hung, noisy.
Access was through an old-fashioned key lock, not at all secure.
This hotel is not much more than a hostel. The only redeeming feature of this establishment is the great location near the beach.

Next week, I stayed in a Best Western 2 star and the contrast could not have been more marked. At a minimum, this hotel should have its star rating downgraded.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatJ1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Oceanfront
Courtyard Miami Beach Oceanfront
Thompson Miami Beach
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Circa 39 Hotel
#45 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Oceanfront
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort
Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
#112 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venezia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venezia Hotel

Address: 3865 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Formerly Malabo Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Venezia Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Venezia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venezia Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing