We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Venezia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Venezia Hotel to your Saves list
Venezia Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3865 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Formerly Malabo Hotel) (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #187 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I know that mostly these reviews are for people who either love their stay or hate it. Ive got to say that for the price per night for this hotel it is reasonable. The location is less than 2 mins from a beautiful beach, 1 hour walk from South Beach centre and al;l the tourist attractions. There is no free parking, the rooms are grotty and the staff are not bothered by anything at all, however we took our own towels and bedding after reading the reviews on here and had a great time in Miami, after all it is only somewhere to sleep. There is wifi which you can use in the lobby and the breakfast is pretty poor unless you like cakes bagels and cereal, but I do so it was ok. If you want a clean hotel and great service, go somewhere else, this is not the hotel for you.If you can do budget hostel style then stay here, its value for money.

Room Tip: First floor is safest as the lift is pretty rickety. Also you can get wifi in the first two rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    14
    34
    14
    83
See reviews for
25
39
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I'm sure there are worst places to stay at, but take a good look at the pictures and decided if this is the kind of place you are ok with

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formosa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012 via mobile

Clean, the forniture dont like new , but is confortable. I was 3 day .

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I recently stayed 7 nights in the Venezia hotel, booked through hotels.com, and was disgusted by the quality of the accommodation and the quality of the service. Given the price I paid for the rooms (£81 per night), I was expecting a decent hotel. This establishment was a complete disappointment.

The service was abysmal. I was checked in entirely whilst the receptionist chatted on the phone. The staff refused to even give out spare towels or refill the breakfast cereal. Staff were rude and unapologetic about problems.
The breakfast consisted of some stale cakes and bagels and cereal (if you were lucky), served in the reception area with two sofas to sit on. They should not be allowed to claim that breakfast is included.
No working TV, no microwave, not ice machine, no phone.
One bed in our room had a mattress that didn't fit the bed and was unusable.
Paint was chipped and peeling.
Airconditioner was wall-hung, noisy.
Access was through an old-fashioned key lock, not at all secure.
This hotel is not much more than a hostel. The only redeeming feature of this establishment is the great location near the beach.

Next week, I stayed in a Best Western 2 star and the contrast could not have been more marked. At a minimum, this hotel should have its star rating downgraded.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed at the venezia for 3 days in September 2011. Be aware that if you have a rental car all of the parking in the area is metered(but free from 6pm to 8am and $1 an hour for those that you pay). The hotel wasn't much more than a place to sleep and the travelers pictures posted here are pretty much accurate. I didn't expect much as far as beds and bathrooms for what we paid....just a place to sleep and wash. My major issue with our stay was the absolutely horrible attitude that the front desk girl had(the one that works the night shift). There seemed to be a bit of a language barrier with the lady that worked days but a smile is the same no matter what you speak and she was great. They asked to keep a copy of our drivers license and credit card at the desk and when we checked out I wanted my copy back and initially was given another guests information. I found that alarming...

On a couple of occasions we saw the housekeepers in action. They were cleaning rooms that people had checked out of and I have to say, those ladies were doing the best with what they had.

For the price I would say it could have been worse, if you're concerned...ask for new sheets and towels, they will give them to you. Aside from that, enjoy the weather instead of your room

Room Tip: at this place I think one room is about the same as the next
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Beds were almost falling apart, dirty walls, poor breakfast, no parking lot, no towels in the room when we got there, there were couple good things, price and friendly personnel. I thought about sleeping wearing my clothes< dint want to touch those sheets.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Venezia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venezia Hotel

Address: 3865 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Formerly Malabo Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Venezia Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Venezia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venezia Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venezia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.