We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate South Beach

Save Saved
You added Westgate South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westgate South Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3611 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
San Jose
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We loved our stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

We traded our timeshare for this location and we were happily surprised by the hotel/condo. We had a large 2 bedroom on the top floor that seems like it may have been renovated in the last couple of years. Our room was located on the L wing and seemed to be a quieter part of the hotel, although we could hear the street noise if we paid attention to it. The kitchen was small, but beautiful and well stocked with utensils (we like to cook). The place was clean and we received daily towel service. We didn't use the pool as we prefer the beach which was literally behind the hotel. The hotel is located in an area that seems to be run down or under going renovation (some building being re-done and some vacant). BUT, I never felt unsafe in the area and walked about freely without feeling unsafe. The parking was not free, but available daily next to the hotel. The only time it was difficult to park was during the weekend during the day...so if you have to leave, don't come back until later in the day.

We used the hotel/condo as a base for exploring the area and had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    51
    24
    22
    17
See reviews for
57
40
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

went to south beach westgate in april found it was clean staff very helpfull. car parking was ok just get a pay and display from the hotel staff 4.50 dollers . found it very easy 2 get round on bus then taxi if u want to drink. why the people moan when u got every think you want. not the beat pool but ok. bit run down places near by but this hotel is art deco.and all good to me. so unless you want 5 star plus then this is not for you

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

Firstly, be aware that checking in on a saturday means - good luck getting parking. You will have to circle a bit. Still, the hotel offers a $6 daily permit. We had to just change the permit each day by noon - not by 8am as someone else's review said.

Secondly, bring enough food provisions to get you through to Sunday night. You don't want to leave your hard-won parking spot to have to go to the supermarket. There is a Carabbas in easy walking distance - even with a toddler.

Thirdly, if you have a choice - request a top-floor room. We were on the second floor, and there was a floor above us - the sound proofing between floors isn't great. I think our upstairs neighbors wore concrete shoes and walked around ALL THE TIME. Who does that?

Still, we enjoyed the pool. It's nice it was heated. The beach is literally right beyond the pool. That was fabulous. And there's a lifeguard there too. We do wish that the beach were raked or something but that has nothing to do with the hotel.

On a positive note, we enjoyed the little kids playground and the hotel could not have been more generous with the towel service.

They supplied trash bags, paper towels, a sponge, dish soap, shampoo, conditioner and soap, and toilet paper. Anything else you want is on you. The fridge and icemaker worked well and the kitchen seemed sufficiently stocked for FOUR people only. So, we skipped the dishwasher and washed up after each meal and snack. Our room was a king room with a pull out sofa.

The bed was comfortable and we had enough drawer and closet space for the 3 of us. The living room furniture was nothing at all special. In fact, the coffee table was an end table. But hey, we really were there for the beach.

There's free continental breakfast tuesdays to saturdays but it's nothing exciting, just donuts, bagels, croissants and juice. Still, it was nice of them. You have to eat in, you can't take it with you. Guess that's so the timeshare people can get to you. :-) But really, they were very nice and fairly unobtrusive.

Anyway, it was a nice clean place to stay. Our 17 month old son enjoyed it. If in south beach, we might stay there again - just on the top floor.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

Great place to stay. This is a little Art Deco and is comfortable. The room was great and we actually went to a grocery store about 20 minutes north and bought our food and saved money. The Hot Tub was awesome. The parking is the same for about all of South Beach - It is a city and you need to be careful about getting a ticket - but they had a lot right next to the hotel. I have stayed other places in South Beach and had to park 3 blocks or more away - so I was happy about the parking. The pool is nice and warm and the grill is great for steaks. Overall it was a great trip and very clean compared to the area it was in. I would stay here and recommend it. The beach is just steps away and getting to South Beach is a breeze.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

PROS

- Heated pool, actually felt pretty good, although not too warm, it was a good size.

- Room layout, it looks aesthetically very nice. Definitely good design work.

- Great location for beach access.

- About a 5-10 minute drive from Art Deco/Ocean Dr area.


CONS

- No private parking lot, or parking accomodations. There's a lot literally right outside the hotel, however you need park for parking starting from 8AM to 6PM, that means you need to wake up every morning at 8AM to feed the meter. I spoke to management about it and they refused to make any accomodations for us.

- Dirty towels, we found lipstick and ear wax on two of the towels. Enough said.

- Jacuzzi in the bedroom, it's a great addition to the room however, the Jacuzzi does not work at all. It's nice if you'd like to take a bath, but the air jets don't work.

- Shower problems, the water would turn from hot to cold and back intermittently. This was very frustrating.


Overall, this place is far from the 5 star resort they mentioned. It is a good place if your looking for some place cheap, but other than that, there are so many hotels right next that are much better options.

  • Liked — Location, it's close to Ocean Dr, not walking distance, but a good short drive.
  • Disliked — It looks clean, however furniture was sandy, towels were dirty, and you have to wake up everyday early to pay the meter or else you get a ticket.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
160 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

We had a two bed/two bath timeshare.
PRO:
- recently renovated
- new furniture inside and out
- beach/boardwalk access
- large walk-in shower with seat
- comfortable bed
- change towels daily
- provide soap, shampoo, conditioner, dishwasher soap
- complimentary breakfast, BBQ
- easy access to Miami bus system

CON:
- no balcony
- poor lighting in kitchen/dining area
- charge for internet $25 per week
- not five star as internally advertised - would have to upgrade linens, toiletries, furnishings to qualify for that

Area in transition. Lots of old hotels being torn down in favour of huge hotels/condos. This is a lovely Art Deco building but only three floors; expect it to be gone within five years.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no balcony
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flluvin
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

DO NOT STAY HERE!! We were scammed as well! We arrived at the resort and were told they were "doing renovations." We booked this place 5 months ago. They even called a few weeks prior to our stay to check everything. Not once did they say anything about renovations. Actually, the csr I had booked it with said the place looked great because it had been totally renovated, as in, it was all done. These people are crooks! Their customer service is a joke. We ended up leaving and staying elsewhere. Only make a reservation if you want to stay at a hotel and not the resort!!. The sad part is they actually thought we'd tour their place to buy a timeshare with them. Unreal!!!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate South Beach

Address: 3611 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#68 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate South Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate South Beach, a beachfront is conveniently located on well known Collins Avenue. Our oversized one and two-bedroom lodging accommodations feature uniquely individualized decor. All units are equipped with a full kitchen, complete with a dishwasher and microwave, not to mention the spectacular view of the beach and Atlantic Ocean. Lounge by the pool or along the beach outside your villa. Amenities include a volleyball court and a children's playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Westgate South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Westgate South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.