We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westgate South Beach was almost perfect.......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate South Beach

Save Saved
You added Westgate South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westgate South Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3611 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Westgate South Beach was almost perfect.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The rooms were nice, clean & big. The grounds of Westgate were nice & fun. I only have to complaints 1. It's to far from all the happening things( I guess that's why it's a resort) 2. The walls are paper thin (I blame that on the builders). Over all I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to review the Westgate South Beach. It is so nice to be able to read your review and know your stay was a positive one. Our complete and comfortable units and amenities, certainly make you feel at home. Our location was chosen to please different types of families and satisfy everyone. It would be an honor to provide you with another excellent vacation! M.B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    50
    23
    22
    16
See reviews for
57
40
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed in one bedroom unit (third floor with view) last week in April. I believe there are only 2 units with a view. so we were lucky but disappointed no patio. It was clean and well equipped. We had a family of 5 in the unit. We requested a two bedroom, however they indicated that they were full, however the resort was definitely not full. we made due with the pull out sofa. Great location and grounds were perfect for family. great pool and BBQ/Play/Volleyball area. Nice music always playing and only steps away from the beautiful beach and boardwalk. Cabanas and chairs/umbrellas were always available to rent. Bit busier on weekend so we had to reserve earlier in morning. We are travel Club owners, however still had to attend a timeshare presentation. Have to be nice but firm with the salesladies or you will waste your entire day. Westgate shop is attached and great prices and variety. No need to rent a car as traffic and parking is crazy! taxi and bus is the way to go. Not far to walk to Lincoln Square shopping and taxi to Art Deco district. Bus tour is a bit boring, however the boat cruise around Star Island is great. I would recommend this resort (unless you dislike cats as there are always 2 black ones hanging around the resort)!!

Room Tip: ask for the room with the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
We appreciate and value your comments on the Westgate South Beach. Miami is always a great vacation choice when you are looking for sun, beach and a variety of activities for the day or night time. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our property with complete units and fun things to do for the whole family. Its proximity to the beach and boardwalk makes this location very exclusive in the South Beach area, where everybody wants to enjoy the beauty of its beaches. Transportation options are available to everyone’s taste and it is very easy to get around. We feel honored that you would return and can’t wait to see you soon! Mika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

this was the first time staying at west gate south beach. i was looking for a small quiet resort with a full kitchen and a safe environment for the kids while we celebrate passover. i must say I've been to about 20 different hotels over the years for passover and no one has treated us better then the employees at west gate, i must have bother a young man named raymundo like 20 times to open my door since i couldn't use electric devices. they let me borrow tables for our dinners. this resort is small and quiet and only steps from the beach. they have a volleyball court playground for the kids a heated pool beautiful and spacious rooms. this is a time share resort so its kinda of hard to get a room unless u book it months ahead, i can't wait till next passover and see all my new friends at west gate thank u so much.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
We are beyond thrilled when our guests have a fantastic experience with us here at the Westgate South Beach. We are so glad that you were able to to spent passover here with us and that our staff helped you every step of the way ; that shows we provided you with the level of service we wish to offer every single time. Our complete units and amenities and also the option of activities for all ages to enjoy, certainly makes this location an excellent choice for the entire family. The next time you’re in town; we would love to exceed your expectations once again! Mika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I was here last couple of months and one of the biggest down fall was the cold pool. You would think Miami and cold don't mix, but for some reason it did this time. So I was speaking with the general manager last time and he kindly explained why we don't have a hot pool. But he gave me his word it will be done and I am currently stay for business and the best feeling is coming to a spacious unit overlooking the amazing beach, and jumping into a heater pool. I love this small but perfect south beach get away. Will be returning in the summer when the tiki bar opens up! This place is always improving.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so much for letting us know about your experience. We appreciate and take all of our guests’ comments into consideration. We are always finding ways to improve and this definitely helps us! We’re glad to hear you enjoy the easy beach access and the amazing ocean view. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back very soon!

Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I've been coming to this resort since 1999 when it was owned by sun terra resorts, ever since west gate bought the property they have been remodeling it and i must say it looks better than ever. the week i stayed it was a full house and it seemed no one was in the resort , the pool is heated there jacuzzis in the room and the employees make you feel at home .if you get to stay at this resort look for jose silva one of the nieces and funniest people there and if you wanna know about fishing ask for raymundo muniz he will point you to the right direction. the parking is worst than ever but it beats paying 40$ for vallet parking and after 6 pm there all the parking you want. thank you west gate and see u next year

Room Tip: theres only 6 ocean fronts in the whole property so get there early cause its first come first serve
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We are honored you chose our property for your quiet getaway. Thank you for your kind words. It’s definitely wonderful to know that our staff was accommodating in answering any questions. Please think of us as your home away from home and we can’t wait to have you back.

Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We traveled to the Westgate South Beach March-April 2014. We stayed in a one bedroom villa that had direct ocean view. It was amazing! This was our first vacation with our daughter who was treated like royalty! Definitey a family friendly resort. Location was perfect for our travels. Wished the boardwalk was more complete in both directions but due to construction it was understandable. This is also a little bit of a distance from the night life, but just a short drive away. Being a Westgate owner at another resort the prices were awesome. Both my husband and I were a little hesitant to stay here based on some previous reviews, but they have undergone an extensive rennovation. The rooms are all up to date. The only downfall was the pool temperature. It was a little cool, but still comfortable.

All in all, it was an awesome stay and highly recommend! We will definitely be back to the Westgate South Beach!

Room Tip: One bedroom villa was sufficient. Would recommend two if traveling with more than two adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We always love hearing valuable feedback. There is nothing better than spending your first vacation together with your daughter on a Westgate property. Our team of staff always tries their best to go above and beyond for all owners and guests. We are thrilled to find that our resort was perfect for your travels. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope you will visit again!

Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I highly recommend the Westgate South Beach to anyone traveling to Miami (South Beach area). I traveled to the Westgate South Beach with a group of 8 girls. Prior to choosing a hotel, I did extensive research while trying to decide which hotel to stay in. After weighing pros and cons I read in various reviews, we ended up choosing the Westgate South Beach and boy am I glad we did! There were some negative reviews out there and I honestly have no idea why. I cannot find one negative thing to say about the Westgate. You get exceptional value for what you are paying at this hotel. The front desk staff is super friendly and always willing to help, especially Jose and the gentleman who worked the night shift, I believe his name is Guillermo. But everyone was great. My luggage was lost by the airport and they were great with making sure I received it ASAP. They were always willing to help and go the extra mile and do anything to enhance your vacation. Anyone who wrote a negative review must be a grumpy person hiding behind their computer who was too afraid to say something while they were there because any issue we had was addressed immediately by the wonderful staff. The only problem we had at all was that one of the rooms my group was staying in had an issue with flooding, the room above them had forgotten to turn off the Jacuzzi bath... The staff worked quickly to move them and their items to a nicer, larger, room before anything was damaged. They even comped them one night's stay to apologize for the inconvenience and also bought our entire group beach chairs for one day! So kind of them because we didn't even ask for anything. Keep in mind that this hotel is not exactly walking distance to all of the south beach attractions... however my group found this to be a positive thing. We liked how our end of the beach/town was low key, relaxed, and somewhat secluded. Then we had the option to take a 5 minute cab ride down to the crazy more south end if we felt like it. I would recommend the Westgate to anyone past spring-break age. It is a very nice place that can accommodate a variety of needs. We saw plenty of families there, yet we are 20-somethings who enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere during the day but still took cabs to the South Beach clubs at night. It seems to be a great fit for anyone. We loved the iHome speaker in the room. The rooms were nice, sound did not travel too much the walls seemed thick, beds were comfortable, shower was great, kitchen was small but all we needed. We often cooked breakfast and lunch in the room. The renovations in the room and throughout the resort are so nice, we loved relaxing in the beautiful cabanas. I can't wait until the Tiki Bar is open. The market inside the hotel was perfect... we loved going there for breakfast and coffee. There is also a larger market, as well as a Carraba's/ Tiki Bar, and a Liquor store just a couple blocks away. Anything else you can take a bus or cab to, but it is still very cheap and reasonable. The pool and beach are right in your backyard. I really cannot say enough great things about the Westgate South Beach and I will definitely be returning. I hope that this review encourages other people to visit and have as wonderful of a time as I did! Thanks, Westgate South Beach

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing Westgate South Beach! We are very delighted to hear about your exceptional girl’s vacation. It’s always a pleasure knowing that we have provided the best customer service. Our location is ideal for those looking for a relaxing getaway near Miami Beach. We would love to have you back!

Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westgate South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate South Beach

Address: 3611 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#90 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate South Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate South Beach, a beachfront is conveniently located on well known Collins Avenue. Our oversized one and two-bedroom lodging accommodations feature uniquely individualized decor. All units are equipped with a full kitchen, complete with a dishwasher and microwave, not to mention the spectacular view of the beach and Atlantic Ocean. Lounge by the pool or along the beach outside your villa. Amenities include a volleyball court and a children's playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Westgate South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Westgate South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.