We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beach Access” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Westgate South Beach to your Saves list
Westgate South Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3611 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Union City, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Beach Access”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Recently stayed at the Westgate Resort on Collins Ave Miami. My friend booked this reservation on a special deal offered by the hotel. I am a member of Interval International and was unable to get reservations due special promotions offered by the hotel to the public.
The property is small but clean. We were given an ocean view room that is newly renovated. Thanks to the front desk staff who was so friendly and accomodating in securing this room for us.(sorry I forgot his name)The hotel is easily accessible to the beach and board walk. There is a store and cafeteria where guest can order food for breakfast and lunch.Fresh empanadas and fruits.Reasonable price. The pool is small and not a lot of amenities but this will do if you are not planning to use the pool esp the beach is your backyard.
On our first night, we were unable to leave the hotel because of the rain and flooding outside and we were afraid that we might get stuck on the road. The front desk staff was nice enough to help us with a take out Cuban food. Our plan was to go to a Cuban Restaurant anyway. The food was delicious and cheap.
We took a shared ride van from Fort Lauderdale Airport to this hotel which cost us $21/person.There is car for $75 from Fort Lauderdale Airport. Cheaper if there are 4 person in your group. Flights from Fort Lauderdale is cheaper by at least $150 compared to Miami International.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite on the top floor preferable beach front. Befriend the front desk staff for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. All of our staff is there to make you feel as comfortable as possible and we are glad to know that we were able to accommodate you and provide you with one of our newly renovated rooms. We are thrilled that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location. We hope that the next time you are in the area you will stop by again and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    56
    27
    22
    18
See reviews for
62
41
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Very low end timeshare. Constant harrassement to upgrade your unit. Old musty smell. Fruit flies all around. No shuttle to area attractions. I dont like being woken up on vacation due to the drilling and banging of construction work. They charged me .50 for a small dap of butter for a bagel i had in the room. The staff in the market TERRIBLE except for one guy sorry cant remember his name but was always friendly. I could go on and on !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are truly sorry to hear that the ongoing renovations at the resort disturb you. Please understand that we do work very hard to minimize the impact of such things on our guests. We are really excited about our renovations, which are sure to enhance our owner’s and guest’s vacation experience. We do apologize that you experienced this challenges during your stay. We hope that you visit us again once the renovations are over, so that you can fully and truly enjoy the amenities that the resort has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I am doing this review in detail because I see that the management of the resort puts comments on each review and I want to make sure this is honest and fair.
The bad news. This place is not really in south beach. It is about a mile north of the real centre of south beach. There are very few shops or restaurants in the vicinity. We had a difficult job finding it because of that. The apartments are very "tired" and ours smelled a bit. The carpets are very old and not good to look at. The apartment had not been painted for years and the appliances and furniture were all old. Having said that they did all work. The corridors and stairwells are not in good shape. The pool is tiny. We did not even go in it.
For time share accommodation the quality is sub standard. I am glad I am not a member at Westgate if this is what their resorts are like.
It is a shame because the building could be nice if they spent some money on it.
The good news. It is next to the board walk which is great. The board walk is beautiful and a great place to run or walk and a great way to get to south beach. The other really nice feature of the resort was the garden which is lovely with cabanas and hammocks as well as sun beds. Parking was ok. $10 per day but it is right next door.
My summary would be that there are much better places to stay in the area and closer to south beach. If they refurbished the apartments it could be a good resort.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property, Westgate South Beach. You’re correct; we’re not in South Beach, just two miles north. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. Our resort is currently undergoing several renovations. We do have in perspective, this year, to complete a carpet exchange, and a new color concept to all our units. Also, we’re installing new appliances. We do appreciate, very much, your kind words describing our garden as “lovely“. We certainly hope that you will give us another opportunity to make it up to you in the future. We truly appreciate your “honest and fair” comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice little resort right in the middle of South Beach. All you need for the family vacation is right there: pool, playground, beach, etc. Building is old but they are maintaining it well and doing lots of renovations right now. The stuff is friendly and helpful. Pool was cold (it was not really a "heated" pool as advertised, and the ocean was much warmer in the beginning, but the pool warmed up at the end of the week).
AC in the room didn't work but was fixed fast (and broke again on the very last day). Bed and furniture are good and bathroom is spacious. The kitchen has everything you need. Mini-market on site is very helpful. Parking is right next to the resort. We had a good time, and may come back again at some point.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of our resort. Our apartment style units provide everything needed for a family of 4 or 6 to vacation at South Beach. We are always improving our building and adding new amenities, for example, we are currently adding new pool lounge chairs, private cabanas, new summer kitchen (New grills and fire place), and we are also adding a new fire pit. I would also like to apologize about the pool temperature during your stay, we had an issue with our pool heater; and had it fixed right away. Again, thank you for your review of our staff; we love hearing kind words such as yours. We look forward in hosting your vacation again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for 6 days in early March 2013. On check-in, the front desk did not give us any information regarding services that the resort provided ... we asked for this the next day and received a package. The front desk staff were friendly and rather incompetent. The cleaning staff were hopeless: one day they would take the kitchen trash and not the bathroom trash; the next day they would do the opposite. Finally by day 3, they realized that there were 2 trash cans!! That good service did not last ... by day 5, they weren't removing any trash. Fortunately, they did provide fresh towels daily and there was one day when they actually did a cleaning!! Basically, the rooms are tired and in need of updating. The best thing about this Resort is the location: right on the boardwalk and a 20 minute walk to Lincoln Ave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your input of our property. You are correct; our ocean front property is located in the heart of Miami Beach; which is only 2 miles from Lincoln Road. On the other hand I want to be the first to apologize for the service you received during your stay. Our goal is to provide a quality vacation experience that exceeds all expectations, and in your case it looks like we didn’t full-fill your expectations. Our property’s housekeeping service offers fresh towels on a daily basis and one full service cleaning during your week. Unfortunately, since we are a timeshare resort we do not remove the guest trash on a daily basis. Again, I would like to apologize if we didn’t meet your expectations. And hope you would give us the chance to correct our mistakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We are new owners to this property and had read some unfavorable reviews so we were prepared, but it was fine. Our room had not been remodeled yet and some things could have been better but we understood - they are in the middle of a big remodeling project. Beds were fine, flat screen TV’s and ceiling fans in each room, all the appliances worked, even the coffee pot (get your coffee packs from the front desk). We heard little if any construction noise. Slept great except the last night when a cold front came through and the air-conditioning stopped working because is was colder out side than it was inside.

The staff is friendly and helpful. The grounds and pool were in great shape, short walk to the beach and boardwalk. They have a mini-market on site, which has great sandwiches and a breakfast wrap. They also carry beer and wine but if you want the hard stuff you have to walk a few blocks north.

We will not rent a car again when staying here. Parking is $10 per day and the lot is public so you never know if you are going to get a spot or not. When you drive to a restaurant you have to pay for parking there too! Next time we will take a cab/shuttle/limo from the airport and then use public transportation, which is just across the street. We took the bus to just about everywhere we wanted to go, downtown Miami, Lincoln Ave, Ocean Dr and the boat show… $2 per person each way, they also have a daily pass for $5, bring one’s as the bus does make change.

We had a great time and look forward to staying in a remodeled room next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of Westgate South Beach and for referring to our staff as “friendly and helpful”. We are glad that your accommodations were great, and that you enjoy our outdoors, and mini market. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority so we are excited that you are looking forward to your next visit. We’re working very hard to have all the rooms remodeled this year. We can’t wait to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have a unit at this Resort every 2 years for 1 week that we purchased 10 years ago. As always weather was great with a perfect position to walk along the boardwalk to Starbucks at Ocean Drive, this starts our day well. There seems to have been a change in the front desk team since our last stay, for the better. The building is being renovated and the side is being re-painted, made it look a bit tatty when we parked up on arrival. Every time we stay there is some form of renovation taking place, we see it as good thing. Overall another good experience.

Room Tip: Front unit , second or third floor overlooking the boardwalk. Watch the world go by from your window
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of Westgate South Beach. We are currently renovating the resort to have a more vibrant look, and to enhance the vacation experience. We’re adding beach tennis as a fun exercise. In addition, we’ll have a fire pit, a fire place, and a snack bar available. Thank you for choosing Westgate South Beach as your vacation destination. We look forward to seeing you again soon on your next South Beach vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate South Beach

Address: 3611 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate South Beach, a beachfront is conveniently located on well known Collins Avenue. Our oversized one and two-bedroom lodging accommodations feature uniquely individualized decor. All units are equipped with a full kitchen, complete with a dishwasher and microwave, not to mention the spectacular view of the beach and Atlantic Ocean. Lounge by the pool or along the beach outside your villa. Amenities include a volleyball court and a children's playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Westgate South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Westgate South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.