We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, lots of renovations (right now)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Westgate South Beach to your Saves list
Westgate South Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3611 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Chester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice location, lots of renovations (right now)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice little resort right in the middle of South Beach. All you need for the family vacation is right there: pool, playground, beach, etc. Building is old but they are maintaining it well and doing lots of renovations right now. The stuff is friendly and helpful. Pool was cold (it was not really a "heated" pool as advertised, and the ocean was much warmer in the beginning, but the pool warmed up at the end of the week).
AC in the room didn't work but was fixed fast (and broke again on the very last day). Bed and furniture are good and bathroom is spacious. The kitchen has everything you need. Mini-market on site is very helpful. Parking is right next to the resort. We had a good time, and may come back again at some point.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of our resort. Our apartment style units provide everything needed for a family of 4 or 6 to vacation at South Beach. We are always improving our building and adding new amenities, for example, we are currently adding new pool lounge chairs, private cabanas, new summer kitchen (New grills and fire place), and we are also adding a new fire pit. I would also like to apologize about the pool temperature during your stay, we had an issue with our pool heater; and had it fixed right away. Again, thank you for your review of our staff; we love hearing kind words such as yours. We look forward in hosting your vacation again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    57
    28
    22
    19
See reviews for
63
42
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for 6 days in early March 2013. On check-in, the front desk did not give us any information regarding services that the resort provided ... we asked for this the next day and received a package. The front desk staff were friendly and rather incompetent. The cleaning staff were hopeless: one day they would take the kitchen trash and not the bathroom trash; the next day they would do the opposite. Finally by day 3, they realized that there were 2 trash cans!! That good service did not last ... by day 5, they weren't removing any trash. Fortunately, they did provide fresh towels daily and there was one day when they actually did a cleaning!! Basically, the rooms are tired and in need of updating. The best thing about this Resort is the location: right on the boardwalk and a 20 minute walk to Lincoln Ave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your input of our property. You are correct; our ocean front property is located in the heart of Miami Beach; which is only 2 miles from Lincoln Road. On the other hand I want to be the first to apologize for the service you received during your stay. Our goal is to provide a quality vacation experience that exceeds all expectations, and in your case it looks like we didn’t full-fill your expectations. Our property’s housekeeping service offers fresh towels on a daily basis and one full service cleaning during your week. Unfortunately, since we are a timeshare resort we do not remove the guest trash on a daily basis. Again, I would like to apologize if we didn’t meet your expectations. And hope you would give us the chance to correct our mistakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We are new owners to this property and had read some unfavorable reviews so we were prepared, but it was fine. Our room had not been remodeled yet and some things could have been better but we understood - they are in the middle of a big remodeling project. Beds were fine, flat screen TV’s and ceiling fans in each room, all the appliances worked, even the coffee pot (get your coffee packs from the front desk). We heard little if any construction noise. Slept great except the last night when a cold front came through and the air-conditioning stopped working because is was colder out side than it was inside.

The staff is friendly and helpful. The grounds and pool were in great shape, short walk to the beach and boardwalk. They have a mini-market on site, which has great sandwiches and a breakfast wrap. They also carry beer and wine but if you want the hard stuff you have to walk a few blocks north.

We will not rent a car again when staying here. Parking is $10 per day and the lot is public so you never know if you are going to get a spot or not. When you drive to a restaurant you have to pay for parking there too! Next time we will take a cab/shuttle/limo from the airport and then use public transportation, which is just across the street. We took the bus to just about everywhere we wanted to go, downtown Miami, Lincoln Ave, Ocean Dr and the boat show… $2 per person each way, they also have a daily pass for $5, bring one’s as the bus does make change.

We had a great time and look forward to staying in a remodeled room next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of Westgate South Beach and for referring to our staff as “friendly and helpful”. We are glad that your accommodations were great, and that you enjoy our outdoors, and mini market. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority so we are excited that you are looking forward to your next visit. We’re working very hard to have all the rooms remodeled this year. We can’t wait to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have a unit at this Resort every 2 years for 1 week that we purchased 10 years ago. As always weather was great with a perfect position to walk along the boardwalk to Starbucks at Ocean Drive, this starts our day well. There seems to have been a change in the front desk team since our last stay, for the better. The building is being renovated and the side is being re-painted, made it look a bit tatty when we parked up on arrival. Every time we stay there is some form of renovation taking place, we see it as good thing. Overall another good experience.

Room Tip: Front unit , second or third floor overlooking the boardwalk. Watch the world go by from your window
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of Westgate South Beach. We are currently renovating the resort to have a more vibrant look, and to enhance the vacation experience. We’re adding beach tennis as a fun exercise. In addition, we’ll have a fire pit, a fire place, and a snack bar available. Thank you for choosing Westgate South Beach as your vacation destination. We look forward to seeing you again soon on your next South Beach vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, ON
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Aside from the expected construction noise, our stay with Westgate went very well. Stayed for a week in early January - had nice weather.
The room was a little tired looking but were told that their room renos were going to be done in a couple of months.
There was construction noise as early as 7am and as late as midnight on some occasions. The walls and windows are paper thin so all things external could be heard; we always heard the people above us moving around at 5am as well as the people next door chatting away.
Upon arrival, our toaster and coffee maker were not working - despite telling staff on several different occasions, they never got fixed/replaced while we stayed there.
Staff was very friendly and cooperative.
Shame that the pool is in the spot it is in - it is almost always shaded.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of Westgate South Beach, and thank you for choosing our Resort as you vacation destination. Our oceanfront location makes the resort the ideal place for a Miami South Beach vacation experience. I apologize about the noise, and the lack of response to your requests. Our daily mission is not only to meet guest expectations, but to exceed those expectations. We are undergoing renovations/construction, and yes it needs to be done, but as transparent as possible. I like to thank you for describing our staff as “very friendly and cooperative”. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to be your host in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I've stayed at multiple Westgate properties. This property was clean and under a lot of renovations while I was there. They were updating many of the rooms as well the common areas outside. This was not mentioned during booking but I was only there for a few days so it wasn't a huge issue. The room was clean (which is my biggest thing when traveling). The access to the beach is great! The location is nice in that it's not in the heart of South Beach bars, but not out of South Beach atmosphere either.

All together, I'd stay there again minus the construction.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms! I peeked into one as they were finishing up and they looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of Westgate South Beach. Our beachside location and spacious accommodations make our resort the ideal place for a Miami South Beach vacation. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority, so we appreciate your kind words describing our “clean rooms”. We’re working very hard, and trying to be as transparent as possible, during the renovation period. Our property is going to be awesome once it's completed. Thank you for choosing Westgate South Beach. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to exceeding your expectations again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were tricked in las vegas to sign up to a one week rental through westgate resort. They showed us the beauty of their resorts including the most beautiful resort in Miami which we decided to stay at during our Miami visit. When I called to make a reservation we managed to get a booking in Dec but the booking agent never mentioned that nothing is open at the hotel and that it is under construction.
We arrived to the hotel and we were given a room viewing a parking lot on the 1st floor. FYI: during our las vegas presentation we were promised a room with ocean view and same thing during the reservation process.
The room itself is not bad, but they only clean the rooms once a week, and since we were there only 4 nights, our room was never cleaned. In addition to the fact that there are 2-4 ppl that are sales agents and sit by the door. When we were waiting for our room to get ready after a long exhausting flight, one of the girls was already trying to get us to talk to her to start their sales speech! After we checked in, the 2nd girl came with us to take us to the room and show us around as if we don't know how to find lights or the bathroom in the room.
Anyways, she pretended that she doesn't want to take too much of our time and that in las vegas when we signed up for the deal, we also signed up for a 1 hour presentation. because we wanted to get rid of her, we said ok to a meeting on the next day. We agreed to meet at 10 am, and when we got back in the evening we found a note saying the meeting is at 11, which means a whole day will be gone. We got really upset when we realized that we are not obligated to do anything and we really dont want to waste any time.
After thinking about it and reading some stuff, I realized that we signed nothing. In the morning we went to the girl to apologize about the meeting and told her that we were not going to meet with her or anyone. She insisted that we have signed the agreement and we are obligated to meet with her. I asked her about the papers we signed, she said that all papers are in their head office in orlando etc. I asked her to get us a copy of the paper and she said she can for sure etc. I said to her to get us the paper and slide it under the door and she said she couldn't and we told her we won't meet with her or anyone and we do not accept any disturbances. Luckily they decided to leave us alone.

The hotel like I mentioned was crappy, construction people/ladders and stuff everywhere. This all would be ok if we didn't have to wake up very early in the morning because of the drilling in the other floor. It was disgusting. It really ruined everything for us.

NEVER STAY in that hotel and stay away from them!!!
They also were not cheaper than other classy better hotels, so it is really not worth it. No breakfast, no pool no nothing!! NO GYM no nothing!

Room Tip: stay away!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property, Westgate South Beach. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. Our daily mission is not only to meet guest expectations, but to exceed them. Obviously, in your case we fail to do so. Our resort is currently undergoing several renovations. The fact that you were not informed of the construction taking place is inexcusable, and I’ll apologize to you again. All we ask from our owners/guests is to give us the opportunity to correct any issues that may surface. Once again, we regret not exceeding your expectations. We certainly hope that you will give us another opportunity to make it up to you in the future. We truly appreciate your comments and your stay. Not all feedback is good, but this important information helps make us a better team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate South Beach

Address: 3611 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate South Beach, a beachfront is conveniently located on well known Collins Avenue. Our oversized one and two-bedroom lodging accommodations feature uniquely individualized decor. All units are equipped with a full kitchen, complete with a dishwasher and microwave, not to mention the spectacular view of the beach and Atlantic Ocean. Lounge by the pool or along the beach outside your villa. Amenities include a volleyball court and a children's playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Westgate South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Westgate South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.