We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Currently under construction - but otherwise great!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Westgate South Beach to your Saves list
Westgate South Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3611 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Mississauga, ON
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Currently under construction - but otherwise great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Aside from the expected construction noise, our stay with Westgate went very well. Stayed for a week in early January - had nice weather.
The room was a little tired looking but were told that their room renos were going to be done in a couple of months.
There was construction noise as early as 7am and as late as midnight on some occasions. The walls and windows are paper thin so all things external could be heard; we always heard the people above us moving around at 5am as well as the people next door chatting away.
Upon arrival, our toaster and coffee maker were not working - despite telling staff on several different occasions, they never got fixed/replaced while we stayed there.
Staff was very friendly and cooperative.
Shame that the pool is in the spot it is in - it is almost always shaded.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of Westgate South Beach, and thank you for choosing our Resort as you vacation destination. Our oceanfront location makes the resort the ideal place for a Miami South Beach vacation experience. I apologize about the noise, and the lack of response to your requests. Our daily mission is not only to meet guest expectations, but to exceed those expectations. We are undergoing renovations/construction, and yes it needs to be done, but as transparent as possible. I like to thank you for describing our staff as “very friendly and cooperative”. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to be your host in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    58
    28
    22
    19
See reviews for
64
43
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I've stayed at multiple Westgate properties. This property was clean and under a lot of renovations while I was there. They were updating many of the rooms as well the common areas outside. This was not mentioned during booking but I was only there for a few days so it wasn't a huge issue. The room was clean (which is my biggest thing when traveling). The access to the beach is great! The location is nice in that it's not in the heart of South Beach bars, but not out of South Beach atmosphere either.

All together, I'd stay there again minus the construction.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms! I peeked into one as they were finishing up and they looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of Westgate South Beach. Our beachside location and spacious accommodations make our resort the ideal place for a Miami South Beach vacation. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority, so we appreciate your kind words describing our “clean rooms”. We’re working very hard, and trying to be as transparent as possible, during the renovation period. Our property is going to be awesome once it's completed. Thank you for choosing Westgate South Beach. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to exceeding your expectations again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were tricked in las vegas to sign up to a one week rental through westgate resort. They showed us the beauty of their resorts including the most beautiful resort in Miami which we decided to stay at during our Miami visit. When I called to make a reservation we managed to get a booking in Dec but the booking agent never mentioned that nothing is open at the hotel and that it is under construction.
We arrived to the hotel and we were given a room viewing a parking lot on the 1st floor. FYI: during our las vegas presentation we were promised a room with ocean view and same thing during the reservation process.
The room itself is not bad, but they only clean the rooms once a week, and since we were there only 4 nights, our room was never cleaned. In addition to the fact that there are 2-4 ppl that are sales agents and sit by the door. When we were waiting for our room to get ready after a long exhausting flight, one of the girls was already trying to get us to talk to her to start their sales speech! After we checked in, the 2nd girl came with us to take us to the room and show us around as if we don't know how to find lights or the bathroom in the room.
Anyways, she pretended that she doesn't want to take too much of our time and that in las vegas when we signed up for the deal, we also signed up for a 1 hour presentation. because we wanted to get rid of her, we said ok to a meeting on the next day. We agreed to meet at 10 am, and when we got back in the evening we found a note saying the meeting is at 11, which means a whole day will be gone. We got really upset when we realized that we are not obligated to do anything and we really dont want to waste any time.
After thinking about it and reading some stuff, I realized that we signed nothing. In the morning we went to the girl to apologize about the meeting and told her that we were not going to meet with her or anyone. She insisted that we have signed the agreement and we are obligated to meet with her. I asked her about the papers we signed, she said that all papers are in their head office in orlando etc. I asked her to get us a copy of the paper and she said she can for sure etc. I said to her to get us the paper and slide it under the door and she said she couldn't and we told her we won't meet with her or anyone and we do not accept any disturbances. Luckily they decided to leave us alone.

The hotel like I mentioned was crappy, construction people/ladders and stuff everywhere. This all would be ok if we didn't have to wake up very early in the morning because of the drilling in the other floor. It was disgusting. It really ruined everything for us.

NEVER STAY in that hotel and stay away from them!!!
They also were not cheaper than other classy better hotels, so it is really not worth it. No breakfast, no pool no nothing!! NO GYM no nothing!

Room Tip: stay away!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property, Westgate South Beach. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. Our daily mission is not only to meet guest expectations, but to exceed them. Obviously, in your case we fail to do so. Our resort is currently undergoing several renovations. The fact that you were not informed of the construction taking place is inexcusable, and I’ll apologize to you again. All we ask from our owners/guests is to give us the opportunity to correct any issues that may surface. Once again, we regret not exceeding your expectations. We certainly hope that you will give us another opportunity to make it up to you in the future. We truly appreciate your comments and your stay. Not all feedback is good, but this important information helps make us a better team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed there the end of November 2012, it is a small hotel, but the units have complete kitchen and bathroom facilities, it was clean and fully stocked when we arrived. We stayed in a one bedroom unit. Construction was going on in a stair well near the pool which did not bother us too much except the washers and dryers were a long way around to be able to use them. The staff were accommodating however to get you there to use them. The pool is small but heated. The beach is close by and the boardwalk that runs along the beach is nice. Yes you do nee to pay for chairs on the beach but they are run by an outside company. You need to go over the dunes and vegetation to get to the sand. We do own a Westgate timeshare in Orlando and transferred to the South Beach for this trip. and as an Editorial on timeshares is they are way over priced and the maintenance fee make them cost way more then they are worth, impossible to sell. So we use ours every year to get out our money. This is a nice little hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It's nice to hear you enjoyed the full kitchen and clean, fully stocked bathroom, as well as the great location close to the beach. Please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at Westgate via Diamond Resorts and found it to be excellent. Everyone from the reception staff to Elvis the pool guy went that extra mile to make our holiday complete. 25 minute walk along the boardwalk to Ocean Drive or $7 in a cab. The pool was tucked to the side and wasn't always in the sun but the beach was superb. It was a shame that they didn't have a bar, but there was a very nice Tiki bar 2 minutes away with "Happy Hour". There is a small grocery/coffee bar attached to the apartments also which was handy. Our room overlooked the car park as the ocean facing rooms were being renovated and had a jacuzzi in the bedroom which was a nice touch. If I did return to Miami I would be happy yo stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such wonderful feedback. Our oceanfront location and spacious accommodations make our little piece of paradise the perfect South Beach destination. Looking forward to being your host again soon. We really appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is our 5th stay at this timeshare. We have been here in all seasons.We love it as its low rise,not too many guest crowding the pool or front lawns.Its directly on the beach , parking is next door.The ocean front rooms are just super.The rooms have all the amneities one can need for a short or long stay. Everything is updated and spotless. We are booked agin for june in a 2 bedroom. The grounds out front resemble an Italian Villa.Its walking distance to the south beach action and shops.The mini mart onsite makes it easy for daily needs.Good onsite acitivities are there too to avail off.We will keep coming back for years

Room Tip: Ask for the Direct Ocean facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. It’s extremely refreshing to receive feedback such as yours. That’s precisely what we strive for, that’s what we do. Those kind words will bring a big smile to the activities department, and all of our staff. We can’t wait to be your host next year. It was a pleasure having you as our guests. Thanks again from all of us at Westgate South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond British Columbia Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have been to Westgate South Beach several times over the last 7 years and have never been disappointed. The staff at the front desk are very friendly and knowledgeable and make you feel at home as soon as you walk in the front door. The grounds and pool are well maintained and there are always flowers blooming. The rooms are very clean and every item was functional. Wifi is available at no cost. The location is excellent. There is a beautiful and well maintained boardwalk 100 feet from the hotel. You can walk right into Ocean Drive. Security is always present on the boardwalk. The Beach is 20 feet from the boardwalk. The beach is very well maintained.
We were advised a month before our reservation that they were doing some renovations and it might be noisy and that we may want to change our reservation or location to another Westgate Resort. We said no, that we had booked our flights and car rental. The construction work was being started after 9:00am and didn't last long. It was not noisy. On the days it was we were offered a lounge chair at the beach which was very nice. The construction crew kept the area spotless and they stored their working materials in one area. We were quite impressed. We will definitely go back again

Room Tip: If you have kids you may want a room overlooking the pool. I would choose rooms on the south side an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate South Beach, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We truly appreciate your review of Westgate South Beach. Our Oceanside location and comfortable accommodations make our resort the ideal place for a Miami South Beach getaway. Guest service is our utmost priority, so it means a lot to us when you describe our staff as “friendly and knowledgeable.” Thank you for choosing Westgate South Beach as your vacation destination. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to exceeding your expectations again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate South Beach

Address: 3611 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate South Beach, a beachfront is conveniently located on well known Collins Avenue. Our oversized one and two-bedroom lodging accommodations feature uniquely individualized decor. All units are equipped with a full kitchen, complete with a dishwasher and microwave, not to mention the spectacular view of the beach and Atlantic Ocean. Lounge by the pool or along the beach outside your villa. Amenities include a volleyball court and a children's playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Westgate South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Westgate South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.