We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor experience..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4101 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Formerly Atlantic Oceanfront Hotel) (Oceanfront)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    284
    287
    203
    210
See reviews for
408
372
34
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peabody, Mass
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good location with beach access. Nice beach with rentals from a private company of cushioned lounge chairs, table, unbrella, towel and water for two for $25 cash. You can get a beach towel at front desk with room #. Painting ongoing throughout while we where there. In need of modernization of secuity access, new doors and hardware. Staff is friendly and sevice is good. Bar staff inexperienced but willing to learn. Small bar with no view. Restraunt has buffet breakfast with omelets made to order, lunch and dinner ,This hotel needs to open to outside in the pool area and a patio upstairs off the front.The pool is open from sunrise to sunset. Parking is very limited and pricey. You need to get parking in hotel by 1st come 1st serve after 1pm otherwise you go 3 blocks down to parking garage with no in and out like the hotel. Parking there is discounted by the hotel. Overal, it's a clean place to sleep. Nothing more. Nothing less.

Room Tip: Minimum ocean view. Just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and recommendations and will use your comments to improve the service and overall condition of the hotel. I'm glad you were happy with our staff and hotel location.

Best regards,


Barbara Romano
GENERAL Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This has to be the worse BW iIve ever stayed at. It's old, run down, not very good customer service, no parking and despite being close to the ocean that's about it. There are only 26 indoor parking spots, after that you're pretty much on your own. The place appears to be run by a bunch of spring breakers, very non-communicative, don't really seem to care and the pool area looks like it's been abandoned. When you get to the beach, there's a hut with a Best Western sign on it, bonus you must think, nice chairs and umbrellas there for guests, guess again, it's an "independent" operator and charges for the use of their chairs. They offered me a deal, because it was close to closing time, instead of $25, they'd let me sit in the chairs and the shade for a discounted $20 for an hour. You're near a noisy intersection and get ready to listen to horns honking and sirens throughout the night. On the Balcony, one plastic chair awaits you for your lounging pleasure. I wouldn't stay here, it's not worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The staff could be more accommodating. We arrived early to the hotel although we fully understood that check in was at 3pm. When we arrived we were told that they would clean a room for us a a priority so that we could check in early. I left my contact info so that they could call us when the room was ready. We waited for two hours and no one said anything to us. I finally asked to speak to a manager who then said we would have to wait an additional 20 minutes before our room was ready. The room happened to become available quicker but still the experience left a bad taste in my mouth in regards to the hospitality of the hotel staff. Also I have stayed at many hotels and have NEVER had a problem with checking in early.

Also we had issues with he room keys desensitizing everyday. Yes I know that you have to keep it away from cell phone which I did. And I don't have an issue with having to change my key but it was the smart response of the front desk clerk that bothered me.

Overall the room was ok except for the fact that the refrigerator was in the closet on top of the safe out of sight so we had food that went bad or things that melted because we didn't even know we had a fridge in the room till the last day. Then the first day we got our room cleaned housekeeping took out the dirty towels and washcloths but did not replace them with clean ones. When I called the front desk requesting towels they said they would send some up but never did until the next morning after having to call them again to request clean items. The soda machines did not work in the entire hotel except for one that the front desk clerk indicated that she put cola in herself so only that one type of beverage was available.

My overall experience wasn't horrible but it wasn't great either. The price was decent, however I really cannot say that I would recommend this hotel to anyone or stay there again myself after my current stay. But judge for yourself you might have a different experience

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you experienced some issues with towels and the soda machines. We always try to accommodate early arrivals based on availability but sometimes it is not possible to check-in guests earlier than the 4:00 pm check-in if the hotel is full. We appreciate your comments and will use them to make improvements for our future guests. We hopeyou will give us another opportunity.

Best Regards,

Barbara Romano
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was average, definitely not a 4 /5 star. Fantastic beach and boardwalk, beautiful and clean. Service was adequate. TY to FERNANDO the concierge who saved the vacation. The restaurant staff was friendly and helpful. Bedding is comfortable but Walls are thin. There are only a few restaurants within walking distance. Cabs are available for $7-1$2. Moshi Moshi South Beach Miami has great food. THE MAJOR ISSUE IS HOTEL PARKING. The website states limited parking and it's true. Only 20 spots are available at the hotel garage. They refer you to a garage a half block away but if that garage is full, you are SOL. We were told to come back each day at 1pm for parking spaces after other guests checked out---STRESSFUL!! It's an off putting way to conduct business. Unless this hotel can confirm a parking spot for your entire stay, including when you actually use the car to travel to another location like the Keys or other attractions, don't bring your car!

Room Tip: The walls are thin and as another traveler indicated, you CAN hear voices and sliding glass doors ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We understand that parking can be difficult, especially in Miami Beach. We try to accommodate every guest as best we can with the parking but cannot guarantee a spot to to limited space. We do have a garage one block away that we suggest for additional parking. I do recommend that if it is not necessary to bring a vehicle, not do do so. Getting around the beach is much easier and more economical without a car. We hope give us another opportunity on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Barbara Romano
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I read the reviews for the Best Western Atlantic Beach hotel prior to booking my trip. I was a skeptical about staying there. The pictures online were nice and it looked like a nice hotel. My stay turned out to be great, the room was clean and staff was friendly. I didn't encounter any problems checking in or checking out.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I am very happy you looked beyond some reviews and gave us an opportunity. I'm so glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will return very soon.

Best Regards,

Barbara ROMANO
GENERAL Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As a family of four, we stayed here for one night prior to a cruise. The location is good, right on the beach. The front desk staff were friendly. Other than that, we weren't impressed. The check-in was very slow due to a long lineup. The hotel is dated and in need of renovation. The room was very basic and in fact not very clean - there was a clump of hair on the ledge in the bathtub. A room with a view of the ocean was barely a view. The pool was very dissapointing and when we went around 4pm, there were no chairs by the pool to sit. I would wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I'm very sorry to hear you were not pleased with your stay. We are continuously making improvements to the hotel for all of our guests future enjoyment. We have added more chairs to the pool area and are making many more improvements. We hope you will give us an opportunity on your next stay.

Best Regards,

Barbara Romano
GENERAL Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort

Address: 4101 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Formerly Atlantic Oceanfront Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to this oceanfront Miami Beach, Florida hotel conveniently near the Atlantic Ocean, South Beach, Port of Miami and the Miami Beach Convention Center. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort where the service is top notch and the accommodations are beachfront and affordable. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, this Florida hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions in and around Miami Beach. Guests staying at this Miami Beach hotel will enjoy spacious, ocean view guest rooms and suites that are 100% non-smoking and feature cable satellite television, refrigerator and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Dining and entertaining are made easy at the BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort with a restaurant and cocktail lounge right on property. After a day of enjoying all that Miami Beach has to offer, take a refreshing dip in the outdoor swimming pool or work out in the fully equipped exercise facility. The BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort is fully equipped with a business center and meeting and banquet facilities that can accommodate up to 150 people. The BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort is close to where travelers want to be while visiting Miami Beach. Nestled oceanfront, this hotel is just steps away from the Atlantic Ocean Florida beaches. Spend a leisurely afternoon touring the Miami Seaquarium or exploring the Parrot Jungle Recreational Park. Find a variety of brand name shops at world renowned Coconut Grove, located just 12 miles from the hotel. Venture out and enjoy all the excitement and entertainment offered in nearby South Beach. Guests will also appreciate this hotel's proximity to the Port of Miami, Mount Sinai Hospital and Miami Heart Research Center. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Miami Beach, Florida. Make a reservation today and save. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Atlantic Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Best Western Coral Gables
Coral Gables Best Western
Best Western Miami Beach
Miami Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.