We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4101 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Formerly Atlantic Oceanfront Hotel) (Oceanfront)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #135 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Thomasville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

On the exterior, the hotel appears like a good location and a nice hotel. However, after check-in, the story changes. The room we had was a beachfront and had a beautiful view, but the room was not very clean and had a very "stuffy" smell. When we took off our shoes, we discovered the carpet was saturated right outside the bathroom. Not knowing if this was toilet water, we called the front desk who then sent someone from maintenance. The man did not speak English and he said a few things, shook his head, told us it wasn't that wet, and the left the room. We called the desk back and then they sent someone from housekeeping who proceeded to only put down one towel. We went downstairs to the desk only to find that there were several other unhappy customers most of them having problems with the air conditioning. We finally were able to get our room changed. When we arrived in our new room, the television did not work. We didn't bother calling the desk because we were so frustrated at this point we just went to bed. The parking was another problem. There were a few spaces in an underground garage and we almost had nowhere to park even after we were charged 25.00 to park. My suggestion, pay a few dollars more and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest:

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your room and the fact that the carpet was wet. Our housekeeping supervisors check all the rooms to make sure that everything is in working order prior to the guests entering the room. I do apologize once again for this inconvenience and do hope that you will give us another opportunity on your next visit. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if there is anything else I can do for you.

Best regards,
Barbara Romano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    252
    264
    181
    193
See reviews for
368
336
32
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Hotel was basic but friendly staff, on-site restaurant with painfully slow service but adequate food. Good Italian restaurant two doors down. Right on the beach with beach views. Two blocks from the hotel is the pick-up for the sight seeing bus tour. Staff accomodated us leaving luggage and picking it up a few days later. Clean.

Room Tip: Ocean view allows a block away view of the ocean skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed the hotel, location and all it has to offer. I apologize for the slow service in the restaurant and will make sure to address this so that other guests are not inconvenienced. We value your feedback and look forward to your return.

Best Regards,
Barbara Romano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Best thing about this hotel is location. Located a couple of blocks away from bridge that crosses to Miami and main highways. In addition next to the beach and good area for families (Not too crowded as South Beach and not too quite as North Beach). There is a Walgreens within walking distance (5 min walk); a market/deli that serves breakfast, lunch and is opened until 11:00 pm on 42nd st and Collins, called Primo Cafe; and a Subway on 40th and Collins.
Rooms are clean, but the carpets are old and humid. Lobby has been renovated, rooms are outdated, but clean. Hosekeeping not so good; they took towels twice and didn't return clean ones, so I had to call reception. Rooms are very called once you go in; however, you can control temperature. There was a fridge in the room; microwave on the basemant. Pool are is good, especially if you are traveling with kids. I traveled with my husband, parents and my 2 year old son and did not have any problems. It's good for the price; and we didn't really stay much in our rooms; we enjoyed the pool and beach.
Parking was fulled; however they recommended us a parking lot 2 blocks away. We parked on the streets; $1 per hour, from 8:00 am -6:00pm; so that was $10 per day if we didn't move our car all day.
I will recommend this hotel. Is not noisy, is good for families; great location; in my opinion, they should get rid of all carpets. Hopefully hotel administration has that project on mind.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. You are correct that the location is ideal and have wonderful options nearby. You will be happy to know that all guest corridor carpets have been replaced and the newly renovated corridors look beautiful. We look forward to your return so that you can see it for yourself. As for parking, the hotel does have a limited amount of spaces. There is meter parking and also a public garage a block away. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Barbara Romano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel is filthy!!!! The lobby may be beautiful but the rest of this place is dirty and run down. My room had a filthy bathroom, stained sheets, burnt out lights and there bugs. I've documented my experience with pictures and have already posted a few. There is also no parking, although I was told there was. We had to park in a public garage and walk two blocks at midnight. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest:

Let me apologize for your inconvenience. In viewing the picture, I do see that the bathtub is one of the last ones left that with rust stains before the project was completed. Please note that we have completed that project and all bathtubs have been completely refinished. Also, we did have the laundry department check all sheets to ensure that no sheets were found with any rust stains on them. We have also purchased brand new linen and towels for the hotel. The same goes for the lamp shades that have been replaced. Had we known during your stay, we would have accommodated you in another room. I apologize once again and want to make sure that you know all of these matters have been resolved for our future guests.

I do hope you will give us another opportunity on your next visit.

Best Regards,.

Barbara Romano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

As I read reviews about this hotel I was very skeptical about what I would encounter during my stay because I saw more negative reviews than positive, but I still kept an open mind.
I had to make two diff reservations because I had an ocean front one night and city view the next 4 nights. No issues at all with my first reservation. The room and bathroom were clean and ocean front was awesome!! Highly recommend if it is available (room 714) (although it got very humid and made the sheets damp when I left the balcony door open).
Upon trying to check-in my other room I had an issue with not knowing there was a $50 PER night fee, $8 resort fee, and $5 per extra person in the room fee. Which I feel is ridiculous since I called way ahead of time to ask questions about extra fees. Luckily, Sheila was very helpful in asking the manager to reduce the deposit fee for me. I got the executive suite for the remainder of my stay and it was very spacious, looked like they just merged two joining rooms to make one big one but overall worth what I paid for and the city view from our balcony was beautiful at night.
Despite horriffic reviews I read about the property itself, this hotel was pretty great! No foul smell in the hallway, no creepy crawlies in my room, the hotel decor wasn't outdated at all and both of my rooms were clean. My issues were only with front desk staff. Other than Sheila, customer service was awful! As a Best Western employee myself, we get complaints all of the time for not smiling or making eye contact with guests and to come to another Best Western and not see any hospitality shown was very illogical to me. Asking general questions seemed to be a bother to every single person working besides the two guys that worked at the information desk by the entrance. I asked for a bandaid and Tatiana quickly said no & seemed to have an attitude when someone else brought me one. Like how how hard was it to get a bandaid?? But anyway...
Suggestion to future guests: Bring your own towel & washcloth. All of the towels seemed to be clean just a bunch of yellow stains which in think is unacceptable to fold up and provide to paying guests.

Pros:
-Great Location
-Great Rooms
-Great View

Cons:
-Poor Customer Service
-No Free Breakfast
-Less than 30 free tv channels
-Best Western Reward Members are not rewarded

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are happy to hear that you were content with the Hotel and location. We have recently renovated our guest corridors to make the hotel even better for our future guests. I do apologize for the confusion with the fees but happy to hear that Sheila was able to take care of that for you. We have a great new team at the front desk and customer service is their top priority. We are also continuing to make improvements to ensure that all of our future guests have a memorable stay. We thank you for looking past the negative reviews and choosing to stay at the Hotel. It is always a pleasure to be able to offer our guests a wonderful experience while here. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Barbara Romano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, Usa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

It was excellent overall, Although I wish there was parking lot available, I felt obligated to wake up each morning and feed money to the machines so I don't receive a ticket, instead of being worried free.
But over all experience was 9/10 I take away 1 point due to no parking.
Staff was great, room was always clean smelled nice, beach view was amazing, loved it, just next time I come I wont bring a car so I can be in one peace

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest:

I am so happy to hear that you had a wonderful time. As previously mentioned, we do have on-site parking but have limited spaces available. It does tend to fill up very quickly. I do recommend to many guests not to rent a vehicle unless they are going somewhere specific. It is easy to get around Miami Beach and the public transportation and cabs are easily accessible. I thank you for choosing the Best Western Atlantic Beach Resort and look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Barbara Romano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Great place, awesome location, clean Rooms, confy bed, free wi-fi, staff very friendly. This place has everything you need to spend your vacations at affordable price. Recommend to go with family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Atlantic Beach Resort. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to welcoming you again real soon!

Best regards,

Barbara Romano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort

Address: 4101 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Formerly Atlantic Oceanfront Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to this oceanfront Miami Beach, Florida hotel conveniently near the Atlantic Ocean, South Beach, Port of Miami and the Miami Beach Convention Center. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort where the service is top notch and the accommodations are beachfront and affordable. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, this Florida hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions in and around Miami Beach. Guests staying at this Miami Beach hotel will enjoy spacious, ocean view guest rooms and suites that are 100% non-smoking and feature cable satellite television, refrigerator and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Dining and entertaining are made easy at the BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort with a restaurant and cocktail lounge right on property. After a day of enjoying all that Miami Beach has to offer, take a refreshing dip in the outdoor swimming pool or work out in the fully equipped exercise facility. The BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort is fully equipped with a business center and meeting and banquet facilities that can accommodate up to 150 people. The BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort is close to where travelers want to be while visiting Miami Beach. Nestled oceanfront, this hotel is just steps away from the Atlantic Ocean Florida beaches. Spend a leisurely afternoon touring the Miami Seaquarium or exploring the Parrot Jungle Recreational Park. Find a variety of brand name shops at world renowned Coconut Grove, located just 12 miles from the hotel. Venture out and enjoy all the excitement and entertainment offered in nearby South Beach. Guests will also appreciate this hotel's proximity to the Port of Miami, Mount Sinai Hospital and Miami Heart Research Center. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Miami Beach, Florida. Make a reservation today and save. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Atlantic Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Best Western Coral Gables
Coral Gables Best Western
Best Western Miami Beach
Miami Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.