We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - GREAT LOCATION” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4101 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Formerly Atlantic Oceanfront Hotel) (Oceanfront)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #134 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Vancouver
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good Hotel - GREAT LOCATION”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Good Hotel: a solid 3 stars, some good some bad but overall a good stay. PROS: BED: very comfortable new king size bed, slept great. RESTAURANT: ate dinner here, was a little apprehensive as it didn't appear that good, looked dated and only 3 other people inside but we decided to give it a try and were pleasantly surprised. We were there on a Tues so they had a dinner special for $25 which included a flank steak (8 oz) with rice or mashed potatos, and fresh steamed veggies, + soup or salad + glass of house wine + dessert (key lime pie or cheese cake) The dinner was very good, tender steak, great service. I can't remember the name of our server but he was a young Cuban(guess) male, very friendly and great server. LOBBY: great looking spacious lobby. WiFi: fast WiFi. LOCATION: The beach and a nice board walk are right behind the hotel, you can walk for miles on the board walk. There is a Walgreens only 2 blocks away, west on 41st ST just over the canal bridge, we bought water, wine, snacks. Do not go to the liquor stores near the beach on Collins Street as the prices are double of Walgreens...rip-off. ROOM: was clean, some holes and wear showing in the carpet, no underlay on the carpet so hard floor. TOWELS: high quality towels and lots of them. CONS: showing its age, small bathroom with zero counter space only a 4 inch shelf above the sink, crappy push button soap and shampoo dispenser from the 70's, despite having 2 big area in the room to place a desk or counter there was no desk or counter it would be nice to have. Bedroom furniture dated 80's, lamps have been repainted to look new but are old, dresser and head board are pink bleached oak 80's. need more plugs in the room to charge iPhone and laptops, is only 1 plug and no desk so you have to put your phone on the ground. HALLWAY & ELEVATOR: not vacuumed properly, the edges of the hallway carpet had lots of lint, dirt, bits of paper as not vacuumed properly by maids. The Best Western welcome mat in the elevator was dirty for 2 days, lint, bits of paper etc obviously not vacuumed...send the message of welcome to my dirty hotel. We stayed for 2 days in March prior to a cruise. We would stay again as the price was right. Also buses in front to get up and down to South Beach only $2.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your detailed review. It is so important to me to get feedback from our guests in order to make improvements to the Hotel. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our very comfy beds and had a great experience at the restaurant. We are always receiving compliments on the food and service there. You are correct that some of the bedroom furnishings are dated and we are working on updating certain things in the rooms. We recently added flat screen TV’s to all the rooms and purchased brand new soap and shampoo dispensers for the bathrooms. You will be happy to know that we will be getting brand new carpeting in all our guest corridors next month. The existing carpets are worn and do tend to look dirty even if they are regularly vacuumed and cleaned. We hope you will give us another opportunity so that you can see all the wonderful additions on your next visit. Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you real soon!

Best Regards,
Barbara Romano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    249
    257
    175
    191
See reviews for
358
332
32
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at the Best Western Hotel from the 9th - 16th March 2013 on business. The bad points were:
On arrival allthough I had paid for and booked a 'kingsize bed' ocean room x 2 one for a business freind, and received confirmation 'booked' prior to arrival, at check in we wre informed, sorry its been busy!
However, my freind was allocated a suite on the ground floor,(no view) and I was allocated an Ocean view with two beds in it! The rooms were not what I booked, however, were okay, mine was excellent..so far so good.
No bar at night....you had to go out.
The gym which I used daily was poor, some equipment did not work, and the running machine, sounded like a sledge hammer, when running on it!!
The good points; maid service, excellent, staff throughout the hotel, freindly. Overall, a very good hotel, slighly cheaper than others in the same location, I would definatly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ocean view highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Best Western Atlantic Beach Resort. I apologize for the inconvenience with your room type but am happy to hear you were pleased with your accommodations. The Hotel does offer a pool bar that is open daily from 11:00am-5:00pm and the restaurant bar is open Thu-Sun from 5:00PM TO 10:00PM.
I’m sorry to hear that you had a bad experience in the fitness center. We recently had our equipment serviced and some replaced. We are also in the process of changing the gym floor to brand new rubber flooring. I am very pleased to hear that you experienced excellent service and will come back. We can’t wait to welcome you again so that you can experience all of our recent improvements. Thank you again!

Best Regards,
Barbara Romano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

On my second visit to the warm Florida coast, we stayed at this Best Western, lovely view and very comfortable rooms... very clean with everything you need. You wont be disappointed... the breakfast is very good as all Best Western Hotels... We had a room with an ocean view, highly recommended and with the best customer service ever... a BIG thank you to Veronica and her team who made our stay so special....

We will certainly be back again, on our next visit to the sunny Florida!!

Room Tip: The higher floors rooms with ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear you had a wonderful experience during your stay. Our housekeeping staff will be delighted you remember them by name. We look forward to welcoming you back real soon!

Best Regards,
Barbara Romano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ct
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

A group of us stayed at BW for one night before our cruise. What we walked into is unbelievable. No Heat no one informed us on this prior to the trip they had to give us one heater that was available., No Iron, No blow dryer. The room was disgusting stains on the sofa and sheets. The rugs were raggedy and the room had a stinch like feces and bug spray. They charge for parking but the lot has limited space and if you hang out late you won't get a space.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend people to not stay at this hotel. The worst Hotel Experience Ever!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

First, I want to thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Atlantic Beach Resort. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. All of our guest rooms come equipped with blow dryers and iron/ironing boards so I am very sorry to hear that yours did not. I will look into your complaint regarding the stains and smell since all of our rooms are thoroughly inspected prior to check-in to ensure that they are spotless. Our housekeeping team is very thorough and is constantly praised by our guests. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity on your next visit to ensure that you have a great stay should you choose to travel to Miami Beach again.

Best Regards,
Barbara Romano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed here non-peak season. October 2012. Checking in, the agent didn't have my reservation. Only to find out she was the maid. Then, the next person told me he had it, but was valet. THERE'S NO VALET! And the parking is pathetic, and $25+/day. The only nice part is it's in a garage.

After 25 minutes of looking for the reservation, we got to our room, which was ocean front, with a giant balcony. Great right? WRONG.

Here is a list of issues:
- Trash cans not emptied
- Bathrooom not cleaned, as in dirty towels on the ground. Shower still wet.
- Curtains not able to open fully, ultimately fell off partially.
- Walk in closet had boxes of cheezits from the previous guest.
- Bed had a giant dip in the middle of it.
- Condom found under bed when reaching for remote. Atleast they were being safe, but clearly not smart!
- Maid came in at 9am without asking and then ran out.
- Was advised that the gym was closed for maintenance. Clearly wasn't with people in it.
- Pool was not stocked with towels and the towel system was based on an honor system to check in/out towels.. You could easily put 15 towels on room "213" and not be able to prove it wasn't you otherwise.

Literally the only thing good with the hotel was the location, and view.

You couldn't pay me to stay there another night when there are higher quality- comparbly priced hotels.

Only perk- Deco bikes were close by and made getting around amazing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. However, I am not sure if you reviewed the correct Hotel. There are certain things you mention that don’t seem to match our Hotel. We have a fully staffed front desk and it has nothing to do with housekeeping. I’m a bit confused as to how a housekeeper would be helping with a reservation. Also, our fitness center has not been closed for maintenance and our beds have a solid bottom. There is no hollow part under the bed for items to go. Please feel free to contact me directly should you need additional help with this.

Best Regards,
Barbara Romano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This place is fairly well kept up, a little heavy on the cleaning soap smells in hallways and rooms. Breakfast buffet was good (try to get complimentary ticket from front desk). Pool area nice but no jaccuzi area. South side rooms have small patio and decent view of ocean but beachfront are directly facing and cost $30-50/d more. Other comparable near by are Days Inn, Holiday Inn and Marriott. Nice little party store just down street for sandwiches and breakfast foods. Must rent beach chairs and umbrellas if you layout on sand.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Atlantic Beach Resort. I am happy to hear you had a great stay with us and hope we can accommodate you in the near future. We are constantly striving to find better ways to improve the Hotel so your comments are very much appreciated.

Best Regards,
Barbara Romano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort

Address: 4101 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Formerly Atlantic Oceanfront Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to this oceanfront Miami Beach, Florida hotel conveniently near the Atlantic Ocean, South Beach, Port of Miami and the Miami Beach Convention Center. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort where the service is top notch and the accommodations are beachfront and affordable. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, this Florida hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions in and around Miami Beach. Guests staying at this Miami Beach hotel will enjoy spacious, ocean view guest rooms and suites that are 100% non-smoking and feature cable satellite television, refrigerator and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Dining and entertaining are made easy at the BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort with a restaurant and cocktail lounge right on property. After a day of enjoying all that Miami Beach has to offer, take a refreshing dip in the outdoor swimming pool or work out in the fully equipped exercise facility. The BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort is fully equipped with a business center and meeting and banquet facilities that can accommodate up to 150 people. The BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort is close to where travelers want to be while visiting Miami Beach. Nestled oceanfront, this hotel is just steps away from the Atlantic Ocean Florida beaches. Spend a leisurely afternoon touring the Miami Seaquarium or exploring the Parrot Jungle Recreational Park. Find a variety of brand name shops at world renowned Coconut Grove, located just 12 miles from the hotel. Venture out and enjoy all the excitement and entertainment offered in nearby South Beach. Guests will also appreciate this hotel's proximity to the Port of Miami, Mount Sinai Hospital and Miami Heart Research Center. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Miami Beach, Florida. Make a reservation today and save. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Best Western, Otel and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Atlantic Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Best Western Coral Gables
Coral Gables Best Western
Best Western Miami Beach
Miami Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.