We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4101 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Formerly Atlantic Oceanfront Hotel) (Oceanfront)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #133 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked four nights at this hotel for a pre and post cruise stay through aeroplan. We stayed there one night and then cancelled the rest. Upon entering the hotel, it didn't look too bad, but the whole hotel reeks of some kind of air freshener, and the rooms are tacky. The bathrooms seemed clean, but there isn't much space to store your toiletries. The hotel also provided us an extremely banged up heater as well. Not sure if it even worked. If you are booking this hotel, don't expect anything great, except for being on the beach it really isn't worth the money, so don't expect anything better than a motel. Also, I'm not sure why, but we all felt queasy the next morning. Maybe it was the air freshener, because we could smell that in the room as well as the rest of the hotel. I guess that the place isn't too bad if you consider the price, especially since its on the beach, but if you don't want to pay more I would strongly recommend staying somewhere farther from the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I apologize that you were not happy with the fragrance we had selected but have made some adjustments and are now using a milder scent. We appreciate your business and do hope that you will give us another opportunity when you visit Miami Beach again.

Warmest Regards

Barbara Romano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    230
    226
    160
    179
See reviews for
321
304
31
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Room was ok for price. Location was great because it was ocean front. Concierge was very friendly but Lina who appentley is a front desk manager is exremely rude and very condescending. Her bad attitude was really a damper on our whole trip. Someone like that should not be in customer service.

Room Tip: you have to go with ocean fron beacuse other room may face a brick wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Worst hotel ever ! We came in mid december. It gets 60s in the evening and morning and heaters don't work in the entire hotel. After yelling at them 4th time they brought personal heater in the room. Also no hot water in the bathroom. Felt like we were in a third world country. Breakfast was a rip off 16$ per person. Only positive thing is access to beach

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife, daughter and I stayed at this hotel 6 nights. Our purpose was relax, with beach and pool nearby, without spending too much money. This hotel is perfect attending these goals:
LOCATION: BEST WESTERN ATLANTIC BEACH RESORT is located in the MID BEACH. It is a quite area, farway from the "intense life" of the SOUTH BEACH. You need to walk about 60 minutes to reach the 5th avenue (one way, from 44th street to 5th avenue). So, if you are looking for many shops, restaurants, people movement, this hotel is not proper for you. If you are looking for a quite area, this hotel is a great option, because it is located between buildings already updated. Please, pay attention before select a hotel in this area, because there are many old hotels and apartment blocks that are under reconstruction, with a lot of noise during the working time. You will not relax in the middle of this noise. The area surrounding the Best Western is quite. However, there are only a few number of restaurants and markets nearby the hotel. If you like to eat some sandwiches, croissants or salads, you have a market 1 blocks far from the hotel (south direction) that is a good option (Shrimp salad = 10USD, Fruit Salad = 7USD, Big Croissant Cheese+Ham = 4USD, and so on). The restaurants nearby the hotel can be a solution, but are a little bit expansives (SUNRISE CAFÉ, CARRABBA'S Grill, etc.).
HOTEL: Attending the architectural aspects, this hotel is unexciting: It is composed by some "boxes", . considering the functionality, this hotel is excellent: there are bar, restaurant, parking, pool, vending machines (2USD each drink), cold water providers free of charge (ground floor), towels for pool or beach free, garden, Gym (small), Concierge services and a large and comfortable reception. EXCELLENT.
SERVICES: The people is very attentive and friendly. All we need, all we achieve, without any problem. GREAT.
MEALS: Our plan does not incleded breakfast. The hotel provides coffee machine with coffee and tea. You can purchase some muffins or other products in the market in the day before. Enough for ones, not enough for others, that can use the restaurant that provides breakfast buffet ). For lunch, is excellent, providing meals, . You order and, after 20 minutes, your meal is ready. Dinner in theAQUA RESTAURANT is a little bit expansive but the service and food are EXCELLENT ). The desserts are also excellents People is very professional and attentive. GREAT.
ROOM: The room is large enough for three or four people. There is AIR-CONDITIONED (obviously, in this area). The furniture is in line with others BEST WESTERN (simple and functional), the bathroom is very good, there are TV, safe box, Iron/Ironing, Hair Dryer and so on. THERE IS NO FRIGOBAR!!! High-Speed Wireless Internet is free of charge in all the hotel. The beds are the worst that I found in 6 hotels that I used in my USA tour: some narrow, too much soft and a little bit warm. The clearliness is excellent: Shampoo, soap, towels and so on are provided every days.
POOL AND BEACH: The pool is not big, but is enough for all the guests that want this option (3 to 6ft heigth). . The beach is close: there is a door in the rear face of the hotel that access to a beach walking way, which allows the access to the beach (3 minutes walking). On the beach, there are seats, umbrellas and jet-skis to rent (jet-ski = 80USD per half-an-hour, umbrella = 10USD per day, seats = 10USD per day). ENJOYABLE.
STAFF: Very attentive, from the reception to the concierge.
ROOM POSITION: The rooms with sea view are better than the other. ).

I STRONGLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL (if you don't want the people movement proper of the South Beach). Easy access to the airport - MIA.
VERY GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

After finishing a tour of East Coast of America,we wanted something quite & close to the beach.We found this was everything we wanted,friendly & helpfully staff from the Bell boys to the front desk,& restaurant staff.
Very clean rooms and good quality linen & towels.Every day our room .the were whith some beautiful swans towels in our bed with a few delicios chocolate.Always the card of the person so loving that she devoted those arrangements we had the pleasure of meeting her name is Beatriz ,she does wonders whit hands ,and with that same love us attended We where there only 5 days in a room on the 6 floor with a wonderful view to the sea but would defiantly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Sadly this is the last of its kind, greatly over shadowed by the monstrosities built up all About. Finding it very hard to compete with all around it. So they charge 20 dollars a night for parking and if you go out for the night that doesn't guarantee you a space on your return so if you stay more than one night this can work out very expensive. The pool was hardly used whilst we were there because no one wanted to share with the seagulls, starlings, Minahs, and pigeons, the rooms were clean and well serviced with a smile. The cafe used to be open all day for tea coffee and soft drinks alas no longer.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort

Address: 4101 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Formerly Atlantic Oceanfront Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to this oceanfront Miami Beach, Florida hotel conveniently near the Atlantic Ocean, South Beach, Port of Miami and the Miami Beach Convention Center. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort where the service is top notch and the accommodations are beachfront and affordable. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, this Florida hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions in and around Miami Beach. Guests staying at this Miami Beach hotel will enjoy spacious, ocean view guest rooms and suites that are 100% non-smoking and feature cable satellite television, refrigerator and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Dining and entertaining are made easy at the BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort with a restaurant and cocktail lounge right on property. After a day of enjoying all that Miami Beach has to offer, take a refreshing dip in the outdoor swimming pool or work out in the fully equipped exercise facility. The BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort is fully equipped with a business center and meeting and banquet facilities that can accommodate up to 150 people. The BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort is close to where travelers want to be while visiting Miami Beach. Nestled oceanfront, this hotel is just steps away from the Atlantic Ocean Florida beaches. Spend a leisurely afternoon touring the Miami Seaquarium or exploring the Parrot Jungle Recreational Park. Find a variety of brand name shops at world renowned Coconut Grove, located just 12 miles from the hotel. Venture out and enjoy all the excitement and entertainment offered in nearby South Beach. Guests will also appreciate this hotel's proximity to the Port of Miami, Mount Sinai Hospital and Miami Heart Research Center. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Miami Beach, Florida. Make a reservation today and save. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Atlantic Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Best Western Coral Gables
Coral Gables Best Western
Best Western Miami Beach
Miami Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.