We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Best Western's usual standards” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4101 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Formerly Atlantic Oceanfront Hotel) (Oceanfront)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #127 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Prince Albert, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Not up to Best Western's usual standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night because we had friends staying down the street for a conference. The location is good if you want to check out South Beach, it's an okay walking distance and a cheap cab ride to all the good shops, restaurants & clubs. This is where the positives end. We pulled up to the Best Western and there was no parking available on the street and no room to stop in the pull through area. We pulled off into a no parking zone anticipating being able to check in and be directed to the parking garage quickly (it was 3:45). I approached the front desk and the relatively unfriendly receptionist found my reservation quickly and gave me my room cards. This was fairly painless. Then I asked her where we go to park. She told me that parking check in wasn't available until 4PM because the garage wasn't ready yet. I'm not sure what exactly getting a parking lot ready entails. Being that it was now 10 minutes to 4, I again asked "so when it is 4 o clock, where do I go?". She looked at me like I just asked her the worlds stupidest question and very snottily replied " You CANNOT park until 4PM! Come back then." So I retreated to the car to wait for 10 minutes. At 4PM I cautiously approached the desk again and asked if it was okay to park now. She said she had no idea and she'd have to go ask. This took several minutes in a back office. She left me up front looking at their security monitor of the parking garage...which was half empty. When she came back she said that the parking garage was not yet ready for check in and maybe I could try back in an hour. I told her we were parked illegally and asked if their were any other parking garages or options nearby. She said no but that we could pull up in the drive way as long as we didn't block anyone and wait for an hour with our car. So back to the car to pull it around and drag our bags up the stairs (there are no ramps in front of the hotel) to the lobby. Feeling frustrated, my usually very non-confrontational boyfriend went to the desk and very loudly asked what the issue was with the parking. Because this attracted much attention from other guests, a guy came up from the back and quickly told us that there was plenty of valet parking at the hotel right beside them and that it was actually cheaper than BW parking! Keep in mind I specifically asked about other parking arrangements and was told there were none.

The short version of the rest of our experience is:
-bad air freshener/mold smell in halls & room
-very gross dirty carpet in room
-hair in several places in bathroom
-tub didn't drain
-phone didn't work
-bed was clean
-very thin walls, we are not light sleepers and this wasn't a huge deal being that it was only one night but if staying longer, this would have bothered me
-maids started vacuuming the hallway at 6:30, knocked on the door to clean the room at 8:15, 9:30 & again at 11
-front desk called me at 11:55 to make sure I was checking out within 5 minutes
-however check out is at noon which is nice after partying in SoBe
-no complimentary breakfast as in most BWs

Overall I would never recommend this hotel. The poor housekeeping, parking & service are unlike any other BW I've ever stayed in. This is NOT Best Western standard, this is an embarrassment to their chain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    210
    223
    148
    158
See reviews for
270
274
28
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed two nights. Arrived with a degree of trepidation after reading other feedback, but was pleased with reception check in and friendly arrival. Nice fairly basic room, high floor overlooking the beach with clean comfy bed, safe & free wifi. Nice beach front long board walk, but need a car/taxi for South Beach (a must visit) and downtown. This is good 3* hotel and we would return again if back in this part of Miami.

Room Tip: A walk along the main mile of South Beach to look at the art deco hotels & buildings is highly r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booking this hotel, we figured it was exactly what was needed for a solid Ultra/WMC week!

It's in walking distance to the Fontainebleau (LIV, pool parties, ArKadia, etc), there is a Subway and a Liquor store across the street as well as a deli. Cabs are VERY easy to obtain in this are which is clutch when Miami is slammed during Ultra week.

Rooms:
Standard rooms, nothing special. Ours had a microwave and fridge that worked fine. Beds and whatnot were clean. Our balcony was clean as well. I did notice a few ants by the fridge but didn't think much about it? Could've been from the food we left out overnight but still, just a little caution.

Lobby:
Basic lobby, nothing special.

Again, for Ultra week it's perfect. For how expensive it is the end of March in Miami, it was worth the price. But going any other weekend, I'd probably stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. When booking online, it seemed to be a reasonable hotel for Miami Beach. The location is excellent if you are wanting to lounge on the beach, but there are few restaurants and shops nearby. We found we had to drive everywhere.
The breakfast at the hotel was good, but at $50 for two people (with built-in gratuity for a buffet!) we thought it was a bit pricey. Drinks at the bar were expensive as well ($12 for a mojito in a small glass) and of course you have to pay $25 for a chair on the beach.
If you can get this for $100 or less, go for it, but we paid over $220 a night, which we didn't feel was worth it for this tired, dated hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel is right on the beach, in a perfect location since is not in the middle of the craziness of south beach but you still have the beauty of Miami Beach. The price is very reasonable but the best was the customer service and cleanness of the room! No odors, hairs or any "surprise"!!!... and the team was very customer oriented, specially the management.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here prior to embarkation of a cruise. The hotel is very bright and welcoming but could do with a bit of a refresh in the communal areas. Our room was situated on the balcony over looking the reception area. The room was spacious enough for our 2 night stay or longer and the bathroom facilities were fine for our needs. Due to our room position we did hear a fair amount of noise from the reception area early morning as staff arrived but it was not excessive. We dined in the restaurant for our breakfast and it was fine and the staff very friendly and attentive.

We used public transport to get to the hotel from the airport and also took a bus to Aventura Mall and this was very straight forward.

We would stay here again for a couple of nights but would ask for a room located further from the reception.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which doesn't overlook the reception desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Right from the start things were bad. We had requested an early check-in since my husband had to arrive early (9am) to set up for a convention and we were told no rooms were available to leave our bags at the front and come back around noon. There was nothing we could do so we ventured out. We came back at noon to be told a room is still not available, check back in a couple of hours. We did not get into a room until 3:30pm. We had reserved a king bed with a desk and an ocean view. We got a 2 double bed room with a small round table as a desk and their idea of an ocean view is to lean over your balcony as far as you can and turn your head to the left. The lobby was renovated and nice, but there was a pungent tropical smell that had to have been piped through the vents. As you venture farther into the hotel you can see the renovations stopped at the lobby. The rooms and all furnishings are very outdated, the back elevator looked like they should have been a freight elevator and our room was not cleaned until late afternoon which put a damper on my day being done with my activities. All in all I could classify it as just a bed to sleep in. We will not be staying at another Best Western

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Best Western Atlantic Beach Hotel
Best Western Atlantic Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Best Western Coral Gables
Coral Gables Best Western
Best Western Miami Beach
Miami Beach Best Western
Address: 4101 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Formerly Atlantic Oceanfront Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#127 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to this oceanfront Miami Beach, Florida hotel conveniently near the Atlantic Ocean, South Beach, Port of Miami and the Miami Beach Convention Center. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort where the service is top notch and the accommodations are beachfront and affordable. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, this Florida hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions in and around Miami Beach. Guests staying at this Miami Beach hotel will enjoy spacious, ocean view guest rooms and suites that are 100% non-smoking and feature cable satellite television, refrigerator and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Dining and entertaining are made easy at the BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort with a restaurant and cocktail lounge right on property. After a day of enjoying all that Miami Beach has to offer, take a refreshing dip in the outdoor swimming pool or work out in the fully equipped exercise facility. The BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort is fully equipped with a business center and meeting and banquet facilities that can accommodate up to 150 people. The BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort is close to where travelers want to be while visiting Miami Beach. Nestled oceanfront, this hotel is just steps away from the Atlantic Ocean Florida beaches. Spend a leisurely afternoon touring the Miami Seaquarium or exploring the Parrot Jungle Recreational Park. Find a variety of brand name shops at world renowned Coconut Grove, located just 12 miles from the hotel. Venture out and enjoy all the excitement and entertainment offered in nearby South Beach. Guests will also appreciate this hotel's proximity to the Port of Miami, Mount Sinai Hospital and Miami Heart Research Center. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Miami Beach, Florida. Make a reservation today and save. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Best Western, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, getaroom.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.