We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Florida Savings!
Ranked #79 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This hotel is not the Ritz. However, it's comfortable, clean and convienent. It's close to everything in SOBE and has a nice little cafe near the elevators. Also, it is one of a few hotels in Miami Beach that offers 2 queen beds. The rooftop pool is quite nice too. Certainly worth a look.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MiamiBeach, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear KPduties,

I am very happy to hear that you were comfortable and we appreciate the recommendation. Thank you for staying with us!

Best,
Nanyce Lanier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    144
    86
    28
    16
See reviews for
98
76
17
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The South Beach is located in the best part of South Beach - incredible restaurants, street life and beautiful beaches. I was eager to rest up after taking care of my two year old granddaughter for a week and with the sweet, efficient assistance of the staff, especially Catherine, the pool girl, I felt pampered and well taken care of. She made sure we had chaises with umbrellas and even called my room when I was waiting. Thanks, Catherine, and to the wonderful food servers at the pool-side cafe.

Room Tip: Construction on street side will be adding to the noise, though we loved the city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MiamiBeach, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Patti F. ,

I'm so happy to read that you were able to relax and enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the feedback, we really appreciate it!

Best,
Nanyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The hotel is located in the middle of South Beach. It's two blocks from the beach, and two blocks from Lincoln Rd Mall. The rooms need to be renovated, but the lobby is very nice and modern. It always smells so good. The staff was always so helpful. Stephanie that works overnight was always so welcoming and had great dining recommendations. Joe that works in the morning was very helpful with allowing me to check in early. Overall I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MiamiBeach, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you Jessanne- I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the positive feedback.

Best,
Nanyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed at this Courtyard recently, for 3 nights. Checked in, went to my room, and lo and behold, interrupted a nice couple in the middle of getting to know each other better. BAD START. Went back down to the front desk, informed the non-plussed agent, got no apology, and a new key for another room. Got to my new room, mercilessly unoccupied, and settled in. Room was ok, had a view of a brick wall and the AC units, and the bathroom was from about 1995. My group had 2 days of meetings in their "boardroom", which should be re-christened the "boardcloset". Word to the wise using this hotel for business meetings - if you are more than 12 in your group, go elsewhere.
Location was good, valet parking was reasonable and they got the car to me reasonably quick. Didn't get a chance to use the pool or eat in the café so can't comment on those.
Solid, decent hotel, but bottom line - not worth the $275/night rate - not even close.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MiamiBeach, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear JEDWARDRAZA,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for an occupied room being issued at check-in. That is definitely uncomfortable for all parties involved and a mistake on our part. Additionally, the lack of empathy that you received is unacceptable; please accept my apologies for the inconvenience. Additionally, I apologize that the view from your room was less than satisfactory and the meeting space wasn't comfortable. We pride ourselves on being a business and leisure hotel and we definitely want guests to continue to visit our property to conduct business and kick back. Please know that our hotel has great value and these issues are not representative of our product. If you would like to discuss you experience further, please feel free to contact me directly at 305-604-8887,

Kind regards,
Nanyce Lanier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

for $300 a night I expect more. From a Courtyard by Marriott I expect more. They only have one person on check in at most times. There is almost always a line to get your car. The rooms are ok, but if you want a view go somewhere else. If you're lucky you get a view of an apartment complex, if you're unlucky like me your view is of air conditioning units and a gravel roof (South Beach!!!) The hotel elevator is broken, and based on previous reviews it has been for at least two weeks. The gym is small with out dated equipment. I wouldn't come back. I wouldn't tell anyone to stay here. In fact I would do the opposite.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front or back are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MiamiBeach, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Chayler,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach.

You indicated in your response that the overall value was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit. Additionally have experienced ongoing issues with our elevator, but we have worked diligently with the vendor to have the issue corrected.

You’re a valued guest and everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly.

Best,
Nanyce Lanier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed the night before our cruise. They were able to check us in at 11:00 so we got to spend all afternoon by the pool rather than waiting for 3 o'clock checkin.
Money saving The market across the street has huge breakfast sandwiches. Very hot and fresh.
Transportation tip
We flew into Fort Lauderdale because tickets were 1/2 the price. Rented a car from Hertz and dropped off at the Fountainbleu. A short walk to the Marriott. Slightly more expensive than a shuttle but we did some sightseeing so it was worth it for us.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MiamiBeach, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Ruffle57,

Thank you for staying with us prior to your cruise. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

Best,
Nanyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Spent 3 days here prior to cruise and although the location was acceptable the hotel was basic and lacked any kind of atmosphere due to the real lack of a bar/dining room/lounge . These were combined into an area off the lobby and couldn't be described as a lounge/dining area or bar as it fell short on all counts and after 9.30 in the morning no breakfast. Don't expect crockery or cutlery everything is disposable. Staff under pressure at breakfast as girl taking orders then had to disappear to get coffee/cooked food etc. Rooms were again basic and ours at the rear faced a brick wall. Pool area on the roof was good location but little used during our stay, if you wanted a drink or food there you had to take it up with you. Staff were in general friendly but it lacked the "Marriott" feel. Would only stay again if it was an overnighter felt like a bed factory "get em in and out" no frills, no fuss but unfortunately we paid the price of a Marriott hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of hotel are quieter but have no view other than the buildings behind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MiamiBeach, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear retired,

I was disappointed to read your comments, but we definitely appreciate the feedback. Reading that the hotel didn't have an atmosphere and the staff didn't offer the same Marriott quality that you expect is disheartening. I am extremely apologetic that we didn't meet your needs during your stay. We do offer cutlery at the hotel and the disposal ware is for items to go only. I apologize if that wasn't the case during your dining experience. Again, we are very sorry for the inconvenience and I hope you will continue to choose Marriott when you travel.

Best,
Nanyce Lanier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach

Address: 1530 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Beach South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Courtyard Miami Beach South
Florida Courtyard
Florida Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.