We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Florida Savings!
Ranked #77 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Great Staff, Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for 3nights and the hotel and staff were amazing. We were a little shocked about all of the construction going on but I already knew it was in progress. The rooms were large and very clean. The rooftop pool was the best, especially in the evening, very relaxing. We had to change rooms due to some guest that were a bit too loud for us and Juliana had no problem accommodating us. Joe, Britney and Emilio all made us feel at home. Will definitely return to see the new lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MiamiBeach, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear dejarenee64,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm excited to read that you plan on returning and also that you enjoyed your stay despite the lobby renovation. I really appreciate your feedback and thank you for personally recognizing our associates. They are always so proud to see their name mentioned in a positive way so I really appreciate that. Thank you again for choosing us.

Best regards,
Nanyce Lanier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    154
    90
    29
    16
See reviews for
113
84
21
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in August. Joe at the front desk was very helpful and very accommidating.
The view from our room was not very good but we spent very little time there other than sleeping.
Room was very clean and comfortable and I loved the stair access as we stayed on the first floor.
The rooftop pool was very immpressive.
Really enjoyed my stay there and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MiamiBeach, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Novamitch,

Thank you for the compliment to our staff, location, and hotel. I'm extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and plan on returning. Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your experience. Many thanks again for staying, I appreciate your business!

Best,
Nanyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was in walking distance of the beach and also close to Espanola Way. There is a big renovation going on (lobby/bar/restaurant) but rooms and rooftop pool were great. We skipped the breakfast and BYOB. It was actually better that way. There are plenty of places to eat in the area. I could sit at that pool all day. Will return

Room Tip: fourth floor -so if you want to take stairs to pool(fifth) you can. We had 4 adults in one room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MiamiBeach, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear cbm479,

Thank you so much for the compliments! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and also that the lobby renovation did not impact your visit. Thank you again for positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Nanyce Lanier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife last weekend. Let me start by saying that the hotel is in a great location close to Lincoln rd and the beach. There was construction in the lobby which was understandable and we were aware of (this wasn't an issue).
The roof top pool was amazing and we used it both days of our stay. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful.
My only issue was the room I stayed in was loud (room 402 I believe) which was located around the corner from the elevator. You could here people getting on and off the elevator and could actually hear full out conversations when people were going back to their rooms at 3am.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MiamiBeach, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Anthony M,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay. I'm happy to hear that overall your visit was pleasant and that the renovation did not impact your experience. I am very sorry for the noise issues in your room from the other travelers during the late night. I understand how important it is to provide a good night's rest to our guest. We are in an area with 24 hour activity so we will continue to increase our security presence on the guest floors to maintain comfort for the other guests. Thank you again for the candid feedback and allowing us to correct the problem for future guests.

Best,
Nanyce Lanier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddon Twp., NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We visited in early August 2013. Unfortunately, the lobby was under construction which was inconvenient in many ways. I'm sure the finished product will be well worth the chaos (pretty sure, anyway). It's also understandable that they would want to accomplish this remodel in the low season. It was just regrettable that it coincided with our visit!
Someday the lobby will be usable and comfortable. What cannot be helped without a complete hotel overhaul is how NOISY the rest of the hotel was. My room was around the corner from the elevator and not only could I hear the elevator itself, the dinging of the elevator bells, but people coming and going and their conversations as well. The doors and wall were paper thin. I actually could hear conversations even though the elevator was several yards away and around a corner! Amazing! Which brings me to a problem if you intend to attempt to sleep in: the maids were loud! The linen storage room was located next to mine, so while one maid might be in the doorway to the linen room, there would invariably be another maid down the hall and of course they needed to keep a running conversation going regardless of the time of day. They started at around 8:00 and continued throughout the morning! It really was very annoying.
The only other strange/inconvenient thing was that there was ONE ice machine for the entire hotel!! And it was located one flight down from the lobby! On the last day that I was there, it was out of order.
On a positive note the desk clerk were nice and accommodating. It was also clean.

Room Tip: Any room with a number above 09 (i.e., 209, 309, 409, 509) might be a good choice. Any number below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MiamiBeach, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear KDbaggs,

We appreciate you bearing with us during the construction. I apologize for this inconvenience during your stay. Additionally, I apologize for the issue with the noise from other guests and our staff. We appreciate the candid feedback and we utilize your comments for continuous improvement. Thank you again.

Best,
Nanyce Lanier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed her for a 4 day stopover in Miami South Beach. The location is super, a short walk to the beach and nearby shopping and restaurant areas. The decor is standard and slightly dated but it is clean and really good value. Staff were welcoming, friendly, helpful and interested, way more so than you would expect for a chain hotel. Breakfast which was included was more than adequate. Pool on the roof was very welcome after a days sightseeing. There is a city bike stop nearby for exploring south beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MiamiBeach, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear MaryandJeff,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Miami. It sounds like you enjoyed your time with your family and we're happy to hear that. We're glad you enjoyed the pool and our staff was accommodating. Thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you again in the future!

All the best,
Nanyce Lanier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel! The lobby was under construction, but we were aware of that and this did not negatively impact our stay. In fact, it seemed that the staff went out of their way to create such a friendly environment that it made up for the lack of a lobby. They offered the ability to have breakfast brought to your room to make up for the lack of breakfast in the lobby, but we left early for a fishing trip and did not take advantage of this. We had only booked our room for one night, but we enjoyed the room size and the location so much we tried to extend our stay. Unfortunately the hotel was full.

The location is amazing. Walking distance from the beach and the great South Beach ambiance, as well as Lincoln Road and Espanola Way ( a beautiful street lined with Latin restaurants where we chose to eat dinner. Awesome!) There was an adult club across the street which scared me when we first arrived, but we never felt like the area was unsafe or inappropriate for our kids. We stayed during the week, so not sure what it would be like during a weekend stay.

Overall we found this hotel to be a great place if you are visiting South Beach and want to have easy access to the area attractions. The pool deck was beautiful, but we were so busy visiting area locations that we ran out of time to use it! Went up there at night and enjoyed the views, however.

Great hotel. We will be back. Can't wait to see the new lobby!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MiamiBeach, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear LadyBlue67,

We can't thank you enough for taking the time review our hotel. Thank you very much for the wonderful comments and the details around your experience. We're always happy to read that we exceeded the expectation and that you plan on returning. Many thanks again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Best,
Nanyce Lanier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach

Address: 1530 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Beach South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Courtyard Miami Beach South
Florida Courtyard
Florida Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.