We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BCS 2013 Bowl Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Florida Savings!
Ranked #76 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Auburn, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BCS 2013 Bowl Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were in Miami for the BCS bowl and after being shuffled around from one Marriott to another, we finally ended up at the Courtyard on South Beach. First of all, we were glad to be on South Beach after having landed in the first Marriott in downtown nowhere Miami (where it would be impossible to walk around without the possibility of being mugged).
The location of the Courtyard by Marriott on South Beach is easily identifiable (simply say to your Cabbie 'I'm across from the 'Madonna' ~ a strip club). The staff was courteous, the rooms were clean - there's no free continental breakfast (however, you can go downstairs and have a semi-continental breakfast and pay for it and tip your server or you can just walk down the street and get the equivalent thereof for half the price).
Having said all of that , it was less than we'd hoped for but all that we expected for a Marriott Courtyard on South Beach when your in town for a BCS Championship Bowl Game. We're just thankful that we didn't end up in the ghetto of downtown Miami.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MiamiBeach, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you were shuffled around a bit before getting to our property. We're happy to hear that the staff was courteous and you were pleased with the cleanliness of the hotel. I do hope that overall you and your significant other enjoyed your time in Miami. We hope you will visit us in the future for an even better experience without the large event in town. We're in a perfect location to relax and walk to the beach. Thanks again!

Best,
Nanyce Lanier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    151
    87
    29
    16
See reviews for
110
81
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a quick weekend trip; booked a few days before using Marriott points. Excellent location as it's three blocks from the beach, 2 blocks from Lincoln road, and 1 block off Collins. Amazing rooftop pool area with comfy furniture and cabana chairs. Upper floor room was clean and quiet but showed its age. Staff was friendly and accommodating. I think all hotels in the area are quite overpriced. Next time I would probably stay further out, and drive in and park in the garage for the day.

Room Tip: Upper floor was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MiamiBeach, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! I appreciate you acknowledging our amazing staff and rooftop pool. Overall it seems your stay with us was pleasant and we definitely appreciate the feedback. We also offer great prices throughout the summer months and hope you will give us another try in the future. As you stated, you really can't beat the location and the ease of getting around the Miami Beach area. Thank you again!

Best regards,
Nanyce Lanier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here at the end of January'13 overnight before a cruise out of the Port of Miami. I used Marriott points to stay here, but it didn't lessen the sting of a poor value. The rooms were rather pricey at $279 per night and honestly, you're not getting much for the money.

I will say at the outset however that the staff here is excellent! I found them all to be very warm, pleasant and helpful, which probably compensated for the poor value. There was also a very nice rooftop deck/pool. The rooms however, are quite small but even worse, outdated and sparse for a Courtyard. Our room had poor storage and a very outdated bathroom. The location was convenient to Ocean Drive, Collins Ave, Lincoln Rd.

I would think twice before staying here again, considering the huge selection of other hotels in the area. I stayed out of loyalty to Marriott, but before I do it again, they'll have to significantly upgrade this hotel or bring down the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MiamiBeach, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us on Miami Beach. We're obviously disappointed that you left the hotel feeling that our property was only adequate. We do appreciate your compliments to our staff, the location, and our amenities. Are we are looking forward to a lobby renovation this summer offering an extended food menu and Starbucks coffee. We hope that you will come back and give us another try in the future. We do appreciate your feedback and your loyalty to Marriott. Thank you again!

Best,
Nanyce Lanier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Really nice hotel... had great service and the rates was competitive for the area. It is close to Miami Beach without having to pay for the strip high hotel prices. I was worried about location when driving in as it seems out of the way to the main road but spent 5 days and had no issues. Great points on this one for me was excellent location to great spots within the Miami beach area, great value and service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MiamiBeach, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive feedback regarding your stay. I'm pleased to hear that our location was a great fit for your needs. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Nanyce Lanier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I spent 7 days here recently. Having never been to Miami Beach I found this hotel very nice. The staff were outstanding and very friendly. The only downfall was continuing noise from construction. I went to the beach instead of pool and solved the noise issue! Loved the beautiful big beach. I could watch the ships leaving port for cruises after dinner every day, quite a nice relaxing location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MiamiBeach, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your understanding with any noise interruptions. We're happy to hear that overall you really enjoyed your stay. I hope you will visit us again in the future. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent two nights at this location, January 6 - 8, 2013. I had a party of 4, two adults and two older teenagers.

Valet: No problems: Very quick

Check in: The check in went very well and efficient. I had walked over early in the morning and they took my name and number and were to call me when the room was ready. However, I never did get a phone call. This really was not a problem as we just stayed on the beach. I was more just disappointed they did not follow through.

Room: This location has Queen beds (not doubles) and it does make a big difference. The room also has a pull out sofa bed. (That matress was not comfortable and should be replaced). I thought the room is more than adequate and plenty of room. The furnishings seemed dated, but still functional

The hidden gem is the ROOFTOP POOL. We took breafast up to the cabana on the rooftop and enjoyed each morning.

Location: Perfect off beach location, but within blocks of the ocean, great restaurants and shopping. We were not effected by the noise at the club next door, but that could have been because we were exhausted each day. We were also not bothered by the club across the street.

Take time to walk around the block at the hotel and get your bearings. GREAT off beach location and we would return.

One last item is that the staff could not have been more couteous and professional.

Room Tip: Ask for 5th floor room (top floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MiamiBeach, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing us during your travels to Miami Beach! We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed the rooftop pool and that the staff met your expectations. Please accept our apologies that you did not receive a call back for your early check-in, but we appreciate your understanding. We are so pleased to read your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Sunny regards,
Nanyce Lanier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 3 days mid December 2012 prior to taking a cruise. We found the room and lobby area to be clean and fairly basic in terms of towels, etc. The front desk and breakfast staff were friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was adequate and pretty typical. Our breakfast was included as part of our room rate thru AAA. I think it cost about $12, which I would not have paid if we were not getting it included. The hotel location is very good - just a few blocks walk to Lincoln Road, the beach, Collins Ave., Ocean Drive. The stretch of block the hotel is located on felt a bit sketchy. As other reviewers have mentioned, there is a strip club across the street (and I think also there may have been one next to the hotel as well). We never felt greatly uncomfortable walking on the block, but I will say we picked up our pace a bit as we approached the hotel each evening. I did notice the hotel always has one or two front door guys at the doors every time we entered and exited the hotel which I thought was a good thing. Other reviews also metioned hearing street noise, though we did not. Our room was on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MiamiBeach, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am very thankful for your compliments to our great staff. I'm happy to hear that the hotel overall met your expectations.

The establishment next door is not an adult club and I can assure you it is very safe in our neighborhood. We are conveniently located the strip on Ocean Drive and the vast shopping and dining on Lincoln Rd.

I'm also happy to hear that you weren't impacted by any noise issues and our valet staff was helpful throughout your stay. Thank you again and we hope you'll visit in the future.

Warm regards,
Nanyce Lanier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach

Address: 1530 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Beach South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Courtyard Miami Beach South
Florida Courtyard
Florida Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Miami Beach South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.