We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Royal South Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   763 Pennsylvania Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Kanata, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The cost is reasonable for this South Beach hotel. The location is amazing...2 blocks from the beach, restaurants on Ocean Drive, trendy retail stores, liquor stores etc. An Ok continental breakfast in the morning that will hold you to lunch time. The hotel is an old hotel but we found it clean. All we wanted was a place to sleep before the cruise the next day. It is perfect for that purpose.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    64
    62
    23
    39
See reviews for
12
97
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for four nights in January and were very satisfied. Hotel has a perfect location, walking distance to everywhere. The staff was very helpful (first time in Miami) and friendly. The room was very clean but it could use some re modelling. Overall, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We choose this discount hotel and were not disappointed. Excellent location just a couple blocks from the beach and from the art deco historic district. The staff was very helpful; they upgraded us to a 2 bedroom suite for no charge. Yes, the building is somewhat aged but still very serviceable.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the 3rd floor. The 2nd floor has the ice machine and a rooftop sundeck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I've always read reviews on here before visiting hotels but never thought I would write my own review. After checking out of RSBH last week I really wanted to write them a good review on here. Our short stay was great! The gf and I were only staying in South Beach for one night so we wanted something affordable and close to Ocean Drive. Found a good deal for RSBH on their website and decided to give it a shot. The staff was great, very friendly, (Tony especially) and they even upgraded our room for the night upon check-in for no extra costs. I don't know how that works exactly but we lucked out, maybe because we only stayed one night? Our room was very clean, fancy, and reminded us of an apartment rather than a typical gloomy looking Art Deco hotel room. The location is very convenient, just a few blocks and about a 5 minute walk to Ocean Drive from 8th Street. Best of all was it is near the Collins & 7th parking structure so we parked there rather than having to deal with valet and stuff. The hotel offers valet if you prefer though. If I ever stay in South Beach again RSBH will be first on my list to stay. If you are on a bit of a budget but still want a very nice hotel only a few blocks from the South Beach action, then I would highly recommend Royal South Beach!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

Not by any means a fancy hotel, just average. Everything is dated as obviously, it's an older hotel. The location is fantastic as it's only a few blocks away from the beautiful beach and plenty of places to eat and shop, but that was the biggest perk. The bathroom was cute and small, but clean, as was the room. Little dining table with chairs for you to eat at. TV was older, but it was ok and air unit worked well. No free breakfast - they charged $5 for a continental breakfast. Valet parking was $27, but worth it as otherwise you are paying $20 for 12 hours in one of the parking garages, so we paid $40 for parking. We stayed in an outside room facing the street and it was SO loud - we got very little sleep throughout the night. People fighting underneath our window around 2 am kept me up thinking things were going to get rough. We asked to change rooms and was told the hotel was full. If you're going to stay here, don't plan on getting any sleep if you have an outside room.

Room Tip: Get a room inside, not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

I chose this hotel for the price (Expedia) but it turned out to be a gem! Location is excellent! Close to beach, Art Deco, Ocean drive. But it is a QUIET location. Everything was walkable. Hotel is an original 1930s deco building! You will see remnants of it if you look. It was slightly shabby but I didn't care because of its history. It has the most comfortable beds, quiet AC, friendly staff, free breakfast, and don't miss the open air patio to relax with a drink at night! (BYOB)
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camilla00
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

This hotel has an awesome location. It was just a few blocks walking distance from ocean drive, close to Washington avenue and the ¢.50 local bus, and about a $20 cab ride from the port of Miami. A++ on location.

The staff was great also. Super friendly, outgoing, and very helpful. They even had candy for Halloween!

This hotel is nothing luxurious. If it is your first time visiting this particular establishment, the initial impression isn't so great. In fact, it may even be a bit questionable, but it's fairly decent.

Upon entering the room it smelled nice and clean which offered a bit of reassurance. However, the room was still a bit skanky for lack of a better word. The television kept shutting off, the tub was a little stained, and there was a small problem with sugar ants.

In a nut shell, the hotel worked well as we were just there overnight. I'm sure this is works great for younger crowds, or anyone that just comes to party or hang out at the beach. However, with a few minor updates, then it would be suitable for any visitor.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal South Beach Hotel

Address: 763 Pennsylvania Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal South Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An newly restored ultra hip historic hotel in the heart of the Art Deco District. Rooms feature unique, futuristic furnishings. Hotel is featured in "Best Designed Hotels in North & South America." Italian marble floors, tile bathrooms, high quality down bedding, refrigerators, CD players, flat screen TV w/cable, etc. We now have kitchenettes and high speed Internet access in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal South Beach Condo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.