We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION, BUT...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Royal South Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   763 Pennsylvania Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
camilla00
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION, BUT...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has an awesome location. It was just a few blocks walking distance from ocean drive, close to Washington avenue and the ¢.50 local bus, and about a $20 cab ride from the port of Miami. A++ on location.

The staff was great also. Super friendly, outgoing, and very helpful. They even had candy for Halloween!

This hotel is nothing luxurious. If it is your first time visiting this particular establishment, the initial impression isn't so great. In fact, it may even be a bit questionable, but it's fairly decent.

Upon entering the room it smelled nice and clean which offered a bit of reassurance. However, the room was still a bit skanky for lack of a better word. The television kept shutting off, the tub was a little stained, and there was a small problem with sugar ants.

In a nut shell, the hotel worked well as we were just there overnight. I'm sure this is works great for younger crowds, or anyone that just comes to party or hang out at the beach. However, with a few minor updates, then it would be suitable for any visitor.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    63
    55
    23
    39
See reviews for
11
89
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location of this hotel makes it acceptable, but it's very basic. TV is out dated, no amenities offered except for a very basic breakfast. Otherwise it's an ok hotel for budget travelers.
The hotel is close to many restaurants and few blocks to the beach. The room we stayed in was ok and big enough for 2 people.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is located about 3 junctions from Ocean Drive, the main focus of South Beach, in which is actually not far to walk. It is conveniently located just behind Washington Avenue, 8 Street and bus stops to downtown and airport is on the 7th Street.

Easy access to many restuarants, shops and publictransport are plus for this hotel as Bus 120 is for downtown and Bus150 on the opposite direction will take us to the airport; it only cost USD 2.25 for the downtown ride and USD 2.65 to get to the Miami International Airport. Taxi from dwontown is about USD 28.

I arrived at 11.00am from Orlando by busand there was no room to check-in till 3.00pm, the official check-in time for the hotel, in which I am fine but it was the manner in which I was told that was lack of empathy and sounded pretty robotic. To aggravate matter, there is also no bathroom or toilet at the lobby for guests to ease themselves or even to change into something more comfortable after a long and tiring journey and the staff will again mechnaically tell you that you can either opt for the restaurants' or public toilets located at the beach front (Ocean Drive)!

Stayed 3 nights, the room and bathroom look clean but the soft linens didn't smell fresh and the curtains have dirty stained marks. There were also ants on the pantry counter throughtout my stay. The room has a very strong smell of Clorox when I checked-in, corridor looks dingy and not brightly lighted.

Another thing that amazes me was the manner on how majority of its staff handle questions in regards to services offered by other operators i.e. for the pubic transportation saying that it is foolish to take the bus to the airport as we may loose things on board and never get it back as compare to the transport that the hotel arranged and the public transport is seldom on time! Well, I guess is a well-known fact that we should always be vigilant and keep all our belongings with us wherever we are and I took the bus to downtown and to the airport in which I didn't encounter any timing issues; then in reply to a question on tours - I was told the tour arranged by the hotel, we get directly picked up at the hotel wherelse other tours, we will need to go to some other pickup points that I truly understand but I don't think is fair to say that we may not get to go or get picked up as other tour operators are unreliable!

Breakfast is bare basicas compared to many other hotels that I had stayed for this closed to 3 weeks trip and no hot items at all except for the coffee and tea,

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014 via mobile

Very dirty ! Room was terrible ! We ended up leaving and when we complained ! The manager SAID ! To bad you had a groupon ! Your very cheap ! What did you think this was the Ritz!!! Really . So rude .

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

My dad and I each had a room here for a short stay in South Beach. You can catch the bus to the airport or to downtown Miami just a block away. The beach is a short walk, and along the beach is a great path for running. The kitchenette in my room was convenient as I could walk to Publix supermarket (10 min), and also had a 7-11 one block away. The room smelled like bleach, so I felt it was clean. But at the same time, the floor nor the futon looked clean. I also had some little ants crawling on the kitchen counter. The room was very large, bathroom was large, and A/C worked great and was easily controlled. My dad's room had some technical difficulties, including the TV remote and the microwave. My room was at the back, so their was not a lot of traffic noise. Overall, this is a sufficient hotel with a great price and an ideal location.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

The rooms were just average , but I am not complaining because you get what you pay for . The rooms were ok , but were very clean and well kept . They had complimentary breakfast consisting of cereals and juices . The plus point of the hotel is the location . It is just two blocks away from south beach ( 7 mins walk) and also very near to all the restaurants and the shopping complexes . They have valet car parking services which I think is very much needed in Miami .
I would recommend this hotel just for the location and the price.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on a long layover on our way to Mexico. The general area the hotel is in is OK. I didn't feel unsafe, but it wasn't the nicest. The hotel itself was laughably outdated and dingy but clean enough. No problems checking in or out and within walking distance to plenty of bars and bus stops.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal South Beach Hotel

Address: 763 Pennsylvania Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal South Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An newly restored ultra hip historic hotel in the heart of the Art Deco District. Rooms feature unique, futuristic furnishings. Hotel is featured in "Best Designed Hotels in North & South America." Italian marble floors, tile bathrooms, high quality down bedding, refrigerators, CD players, flat screen TV w/cable, etc. We now have kitchenettes and high speed Internet access in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Royal South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal South Beach Condo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.