We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal South Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal South Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   763 Pennsylvania Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here a while ago, but am planning to return soon.

Don't expect a luxurious hotel and 5* experience: the hotel is outdated and in need of a renovation. However, the staff is extremely kind and the rooms are clean. Everything you need is there and the location is superb.

We managed to book this hotel at a nice price and were satisfied with the location and service. Absolute value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    62
    47
    23
    38
See reviews for
10
85
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was everything we wanted. The staff are amazing, and made you feel very welcome and ever so friendly, as me and my friend (both London) quickly found out.

The rooms are very clean and were always maintained to the very highest standards, we stayed 9nights and couldn't fault this place.

Location is bang on where you want to be in South Beach, close to the beach and shops/restaurants/clubs.

Mel and Charles were especially helpful with everything and we can't thank them enough.

10/10 would go back here and cannot recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville, NC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Fun to stay in an original deco hotel that still has design details from the past. The uplifting modern decore and color scheme add to it's charm. Beds/linens very comfortable. Very clean. We were in Miami for a trade show at The Miami Convention Center which was approx a 10-15 minute walk, as is Lincoln Road, one of the shopping and restaurant row areas. Great shops and restaurants located nearby on Washington and Collins and the famous Ocean Ave one of the hottest spots for the scene in Miami. validating it's great location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Some of these reviews are very misleading and the professional photos taken have to be photo-shopped. Here are my complaints:
1.) There's very little lighting in the room.
2.) The room is so incredibly tiny and I don't feel it was clean at all.
3.) The bathroom is tiny and the room we stayed in didn't allow the bathroom door to stay open.
4.) You can feel the springs on the bed and they try to cover it up with a mattress pad... it's awful.
5.) There is no parking and they will charge you $27/night. Go to 7th & Collins garage for $20/night, but there is no in & out... I guess it's Miami?
6.) The small TV (I'd say maybe a 19") didn't work properly.

Obviously I knew there were no amenities going into it, but you're still paying $100+/night and would hope to receive something. The only thing you get are dirty chairs (think tailgate chairs) to take to the beach. The lobby can seat about 4 people and that's where they have their breakfast. We didn't even attempt as it was a ridiculous excuse for a breakfast.

The pros?
1.) An awesome bar below the hotel on Washington.
2.) A 2 block walk to the beach.

I wouldn't come back and stay there as I just didn't feel clean there. I guess if you're never going to be in your room and all you need is a place to "crash", sure, stay here.

Room Tip: I just wouldn't stay here if I were you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The Ukrainian receptionist lady, who we had to deal with when we first got there, sucks dearly. Ivis is the absolute best! The area and rooms, though small, are fantastic. Right in the middle of SoBo.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Clean medium sized room with a comfortable bed. Free included continental breakfast. Good air conditioning. Good rate from Groupon, $80 a night. I've seen rates of $400 which is too much. Three blocks to beach. Lots if nearby restaurants.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We live in a studio apartment near this hotel. We have many visitors from Michigan and Minnesota and need a place for them to stay.
The Royal Hotel is a short walk to our apartment and to the beach. They provide morning coffee and breakfast and beachtowels and are helpful in every way.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal South Beach Hotel

Address: 763 Pennsylvania Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal South Beach Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An newly restored ultra hip historic hotel in the heart of the Art Deco District. Rooms feature unique, futuristic furnishings. Hotel is featured in "Best Designed Hotels in North & South America." Italian marble floors, tile bathrooms, high quality down bedding, refrigerators, CD players, flat screen TV w/cable, etc. We now have kitchenettes and high speed Internet access in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal South Beach Condo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.