We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal South Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Royal South Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   763 Pennsylvania Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was everything we wanted. The staff are amazing, and made you feel very welcome and ever so friendly, as me and my friend (both London) quickly found out.

The rooms are very clean and were always maintained to the very highest standards, we stayed 9nights and couldn't fault this place.

Location is bang on where you want to be in South Beach, close to the beach and shops/restaurants/clubs.

Mel and Charles were especially helpful with everything and we can't thank them enough.

10/10 would go back here and cannot recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    63
    57
    23
    39
See reviews for
11
91
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weaverville, NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Fun to stay in an original deco hotel that still has design details from the past. The uplifting modern decore and color scheme add to it's charm. Beds/linens very comfortable. Very clean. We were in Miami for a trade show at The Miami Convention Center which was approx a 10-15 minute walk, as is Lincoln Road, one of the shopping and restaurant row areas. Great shops and restaurants located nearby on Washington and Collins and the famous Ocean Ave one of the hottest spots for the scene in Miami. validating it's great location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Some of these reviews are very misleading and the professional photos taken have to be photo-shopped. Here are my complaints:
1.) There's very little lighting in the room.
2.) The room is so incredibly tiny and I don't feel it was clean at all.
3.) The bathroom is tiny and the room we stayed in didn't allow the bathroom door to stay open.
4.) You can feel the springs on the bed and they try to cover it up with a mattress pad... it's awful.
5.) There is no parking and they will charge you $27/night. Go to 7th & Collins garage for $20/night, but there is no in & out... I guess it's Miami?
6.) The small TV (I'd say maybe a 19") didn't work properly.

Obviously I knew there were no amenities going into it, but you're still paying $100+/night and would hope to receive something. The only thing you get are dirty chairs (think tailgate chairs) to take to the beach. The lobby can seat about 4 people and that's where they have their breakfast. We didn't even attempt as it was a ridiculous excuse for a breakfast.

The pros?
1.) An awesome bar below the hotel on Washington.
2.) A 2 block walk to the beach.

I wouldn't come back and stay there as I just didn't feel clean there. I guess if you're never going to be in your room and all you need is a place to "crash", sure, stay here.

Room Tip: I just wouldn't stay here if I were you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The Ukrainian receptionist lady, who we had to deal with when we first got there, sucks dearly. Ivis is the absolute best! The area and rooms, though small, are fantastic. Right in the middle of SoBo.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Clean medium sized room with a comfortable bed. Free included continental breakfast. Good air conditioning. Good rate from Groupon, $80 a night. I've seen rates of $400 which is too much. Three blocks to beach. Lots if nearby restaurants.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We live in a studio apartment near this hotel. We have many visitors from Michigan and Minnesota and need a place for them to stay.
The Royal Hotel is a short walk to our apartment and to the beach. They provide morning coffee and breakfast and beachtowels and are helpful in every way.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This small hotel is clean with great beds and includes breakfast and expresso coffee. Best location in the deco district. Good value and friendly service. Beach is just a short walk as well as shops and restaurants and bus service. We were well satisfied and would book again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal South Beach Hotel

Address: 763 Pennsylvania Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal South Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An newly restored ultra hip historic hotel in the heart of the Art Deco District. Rooms feature unique, futuristic furnishings. Hotel is featured in "Best Designed Hotels in North & South America." Italian marble floors, tile bathrooms, high quality down bedding, refrigerators, CD players, flat screen TV w/cable, etc. We now have kitchenettes and high speed Internet access in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Royal South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal South Beach Condo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.