We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So So....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal South Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Royal South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Royal South Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   763 Pennsylvania Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So So....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

First, we bought a Groupon for the stay....so the price was right for South Beach. The cons were the first thing that hit us. The hotel looks dingy and the pictures on the web site are not at all what we encountered. There is no hot tub on the solarium as on web site. The outside and lobby is rather dingy and not as bright as the pictures on their sight reflect and the room was supposed to be a deluxe suite and based on the pictures again on the web site we only got half of the "suite"--a very tiny room. The pros were that it was clean, very convenient for all of South Beach and easy to walk anywhere and they do have chairs and towels for the beach. It is NOT a high level hotel that the web site reflects (and I looked before I got the Groupon!). Overall it was a bit of a disappointment but I have landed in worse places (although more often better places!).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Judith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Queens, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel was right in the heart of miami beach, beach two block down. The room was neatly clean, the beds are very comfortable. The hotel was affordable. I would recommended this hotel to anyone...thank royal hotel...i had a great stay. I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willfulflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Although the location of this hotel is great (walking distance to the beach), the website is extremely misleading in terms of the pictures and lists of amenities. The hotel/rooms are described as 'futuristic'...well this is not the future I am hoping for. The rooms are very small and extremely loud (road noise, other guests) due to the thin walls and terrible windows. Additionally, the hallway smelled like urine at times. The continental breakfast is not free (as advertised) and the wireless connection is abysmal. The only two positive attributes include location and lower end of the price spectrum. You pay for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scadoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

miami
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I am glad I listened to my wife and stayed here. We considered staying a big name place instead of boutique hotel. Great choice to stay here. Rooms were clean and very friendly staff. In the heart of South Beach. Spacious rooms. Very modern Miami look. We could walk to everything.
Young lady at the front desk gave us great recommendations for food and attractions.
Would stay there again if I am back on South beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manolitomieldeabjea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here over the valentine's weekend and I must say we had the MOST amazing time. The Accommodations were spectacular and the service staff was great and very helpful. The hotel was super clean and centrally located. Cant wait for our next vacation, definitely coming back. Nothing beats Miami Beach!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I had the best time at the Royal!. My room was very clean, well-appointed, and the bed was very comfortable too. All of the staff was accomodating and friendly. Mel, the manager, was so kind to recommend places to eat, drink, and shop. The best part was that The Royal was two blocks from the beach! When I come to South Beach next year, I will definitely stay at the The Royal !

Room Tip: "Higher floors offer more to look at"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

When we arrived to check in, the hotel had given our room away. This room was booked months in advance, confirmed by telephone twice and all of our paperwork was complete and at the reception when we arrived. However, the hotel was oversold and they gave our room away. Incredibly unprofessional and caused us to stress about whether we would have a place to sleep without getting ripped off. In the end, it worked out because the property is run down and did not look nice at all. The Astor accommodated us immediately and we could not have been happier.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvo1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Shelley
#104 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,111 reviews
Princess Ann Hotel
#136 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Starlite Hotel
#152 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Flora
#19 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,095 reviews
South Pointe
Harrison Hotel
Harrison Hotel
#149 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Beach Place Hotel
#119 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal South Beach Hotel

Address: 763 Pennsylvania Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal South Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An newly restored ultra hip historic hotel in the heart of the Art Deco District. Rooms feature unique, futuristic furnishings. Hotel is featured in "Best Designed Hotels in North & South America." Italian marble floors, tile bathrooms, high quality down bedding, refrigerators, CD players, flat screen TV w/cable, etc. We now have kitchenettes and high speed Internet access in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal South Beach Condo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing