We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Get Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal South Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Royal South Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   763 Pennsylvania Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
(On The Road) Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Anniversary Get Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have stayed here many times before and have always enjoyed our stay. The hotel is convenient to the Ocean, Ocean Drive and shopping. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly and helpful.

We will return again for our next anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    63
    58
    23
    39
See reviews for
11
92
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I always write a review and I have been lucky to date that I have had only good experiences, However, this time around my experience was FRIGHTENING! This is the DIRTIEST hotel that I have ever been to, our room was INFESTED with tiny flea-like ants, thousands of them crawling all over the bed the floor everywhere! They moved us three different times and each room was the same. We were meant to stay for two nights but we left after 5hours of torture. The staff here are an absolute joke and the rudest people you will ever meet. Not only was the room infested, but because we had the suitcases in the room, the insects then infested our clothes. When we told the reception the ignorant lady just shrugged her shoulders. I am now looking into reporting this hotel to the health inspector because it needs to be shut down.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The only thing this hotel has going for itself is the location. With that being said I will now discuss the negatives.

We went to check in and just had bad customer service from the start. The first point of contact was a lady at the front desk who had headphones on and wouldn't give us the time of day as we tried to check in.
The only good picture they have on there web site of the lobby is the only good picture in the hotel.

We then head up to our room and come to find out there is no air in the hall ways which will make it extremely hot in the middle of summer in Miami. The walls in the hallway were very bright in colorful which is somewhat quoted on there website " each of 42 brightly colored rooms", but the best part... our room was completely white!!! There was no art deco on the wall which is clearly stated on the web site "The “funkadelic” new Royal South Beach is a classic example of Art Deco architecture revamped for the 21st Century".

As we enter our room we see that there is a shower curtain for the closet, and two beds, one is a double and one is a twin. On the web site it states " modular queen sized “floating” bed " Maybe we were in the wrong hotel because our bed was a double and not floating.

The room was freezing unlike the hall way and the ac vent was right over the double bed.
The cd player was not new or up to date with technology and there were no batteries in the remote for the TV.

After we got the batteries we then turned on the TV, which stated to call the cable company to get the TV turned back on. A man from front desk came up and called the number from our room and tried to get a hold of someone from the cable company. Once someone was on the phone with him, he turns the phone to my fiancé and ask "can you take care of this, I have to go back to the front desk". At that point my fiancé was fed up with everything and told him "we will be checking out and we wanted a full refund". The front desk employee says to him "you can check out but I don't know about your refund".

The valet is $27 and the ice machine is located on the solarium outside on the 2nd level....random

This type of bad customer service and false information on there web site is not needed, when trying to find a place to stay in a city you are not familiar with. Being a tourist we depend on the internet and web pages to find a hotel, this web page is full of all lies. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed one night, July 10th. Paid $80. via Groupon for the room. First, the location is excellent, just three blocks from Ocean Avenue and the Beach district. The staff behind the desk is very friendly and try very hard to make your stay pleasant. The room. Gray marble tile, very austere. Small bathroom with tiny sink area. (soaps, etc. are fine.) We stayed on the second floor and could hear every noise on the adjacent street. As mentioned in other reviews, they hand out earplugs upon check-in and it is no joke-you need them. I slept okay, my wife got 60 minutes of sleep all night. The rooms are condo-owned by individual owners. The hotel was closed for 10 +years and reopened (not sure when.) Opinion: great for young people who want to spend most of your time at the restaurants and clubs on the beach as the price and location are great. If you are looking for a first class hotel with amenities, this isn't going to be it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We really enjoyed staying here, the room we had was quite cool and modern, with a basic kitchen and bathroom. Everything was clean and tidy, bed was comfortable, the air con kept us cool and it's very close to everything. Tried to stay an additional night but they were full!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I Traveled to South Beach for the weekend between May 10th to May 14th, and I spent about three weeks searching for accommodations for this trip. And I have to say that after all my research I couldn't find a better deal than the Royal Hotel in South beach! NOT for the type of hotel or the service nor anything special about it because the hotel has NOTHING special! as a matter fact it's a kind of old building and rooms are small but the location is just PERFECT!!!! I have stayed in nicer hotels in other places elsewhere but unfortunately if you are staying in SoBe, Everything is very expensive! and I bid other hotels might be a lot more expensive and not much better than this one, but it is amazing how well located this hotel is! it's just a block away from the beach, and right in the heart of the Art Deco District!

Royal Hotel is located in a very quite neighborhood and parking is on the street but is often easy to find a spot. I decided to park the rental car in a huge garage just across the street on 7th street, and it's very cheap!!! just $2.00 dollars per hour.
There is an excellent cafe in the corner of the building where we have very healthy breakfasts!
When I talk about PERFECT LOCATION is because it's hard to find a spot in the street to park so I decided to leave the car in the garage and walk to either Washington Ave, Collins Ave or Ocean Dr. I was amazed how close we were to the action! the best night clubs and restaurants are all within walking distance!

Stay at this hotel if you are not picky about the old carpet on the hallways, the slow elevator, or the average and small room size! but you want convenience and be able to walk to your hotel after a late diner or party or going to the beach.

RESERVE ON www.easyclicktravel.com it usually has the unbeatable prices!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor to avoid noice from downstairs' bar and facing Pennsylvania Ave, which is vee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

this hotel has a very nice position in the center of south beach near to the beach and all the clubs and venues. rooms are clean and well kept with new furniture.
the room has all you need,fridge, oven, iron, tv, phone and for new guests they give you two cans of coke and nuts.
we paid $130 for one night without breakfast..
it also has a jacuzzi that you can use at any hour on the 3 floor over washignton avenue

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal South Beach Hotel

Address: 763 Pennsylvania Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal South Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An newly restored ultra hip historic hotel in the heart of the Art Deco District. Rooms feature unique, futuristic furnishings. Hotel is featured in "Best Designed Hotels in North & South America." Italian marble floors, tile bathrooms, high quality down bedding, refrigerators, CD players, flat screen TV w/cable, etc. We now have kitchenettes and high speed Internet access in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal South Beach Condo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.