We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for a great location try the royal...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Royal South Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   763 Pennsylvania Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Brussels
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“for a great location try the royal...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

On arrival I was put off by the smell in foyer..cleaning products...we stayed in studio, ..disappointing at first glance but then we find well stocked, basic and clean.We later discover a jacuzzi and sun beds ...so nice bonus. Location was superb and price was good as there is a night club below stairs!...so dont expect much sleep at weekends...

The reception staff were helpful but nothing more, maybe because we were not 'hotel guests'

The apartment had shower room, big, clean, the bedroom suitable for 3, altho smallish, with sink and microwave and stocked with crockery ...some complementary drinks included..nice touch. Linen can be alot better, Air-conditioned, room not cleaned during stay , so services not included, but this is welcome, no interruptions from cleaning staff..if food left lying around..ants will appear..but expected I guess.

I DO recommend this place for its price and location, comparable places much more expensive but noise from nightclub distinct disadvantage unless you stay out also!...but this is reflected in price.

I think i would stay again...its for people that will be out all day.

Room Tip: we stayed street side ,,prefer quieter room next time....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    75
    70
    26
    43
See reviews for
14
113
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I recently spent two weeks in South Beach and my stay at this hotel was a very positive part of that experience. The people at the desk were helpful, courteous and pleasant. My thanks especially to Mel -- who was always there with friendly advice to any question or concern that I had. To Junior, who assisted me on several occasions.
The bed was very comfortable and the room was extremely clean. The air conditioner worked well when needed. The hotel is situated in a place where almost everything is either within walking distance or close to public transit.
In all, my stay was a very positive experience!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Perfect for a couple nights before going on cruise. Tomas was very helpful going so far as to help find accomodations for last minute extra guests. The room is simple but nice. Lots of nice touchs like free snacks, beach towels/toys, sun screen, etc. Location is only 2 blocks from the beach and all the popular bars/shopping/restaurants. Took taxi from airport and had no need for a car over two days of sight seeing. Am light sleeper but no issue at all with noise. For the price overall very good value and service provided by Tomas was outstanding.

Room Tip: Room 329 was just as pictured overlooked whirlpool no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Royal South Beach for 6 nights over New Year; expectations were not high [previous reviews are a mixed bag to say the least], but it actually was fine. Reasonably cheap, clean, comfortable bed and extremely well located for all the South Beach action. The room was OK size wise, the shower was fine, and the interior decoration is very much an acquired taste; moulded white fibre glass that looks as though it's landed from a 1970's sci-fi movie. We actually grew to like it, although it is being replaced as we appear to be in the minority. The air conditioning unit was a bit random and occasionally noisy. Otherwise, we had no noise issues, so good to aim for the 3rd/top floor.

We arrived late and were "greeted" by the night porter. Reviews had prepared us for this.... He wasn't actually viewing porn [as one previous reviewer reported], but eye contact was non existent, various grunts were the full extent of communication, and he told me he was unable to process my card, although it turned out that it had actually gone through. Generally, he did everything to put us off. Quite why he is employed in a country where service is king is a total mystery. On the plus side, Mel the manager was charming, helpful, funny and polite.

Unless starvation has really taken a hold, ignore the "breakfast" in the foyer. The very worst of American coffee, stale croissants and oversized muffins and er... that's it. There are plenty of great diners within 3 mins walk. Our favourite was the News Cafe on Ocean Drive.


Manage your expectations, celebrate what's good about the Royal don't worry about the more dated stuff and you'll find it decent value. And there is the most brilliant pub right next door - Clandestino. For those who have struggled to find decent beer in the USA, this place is Mecca. Great music too.

Nick Ryle

Room Tip: Go for the third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My husband and I plan a yearly trip to Miami Beach. This year we decided to go with this hotel. We were very pleased with the hotel and the service that we received during our time here for our anniversary. There were two rooms (beds) with two televisions. Just in case we did not want to watch the same thing, we had the option to watch something different. Of course, we watched everything together. There was a black leather couch which gave us additional seating. Very nice.staff; accomodating. Very helpful with questions especially about parking. Parking was horrible. $1 per hour or $1.75 per hour depending on where you parked. Would not recommend a car but it was good to get around to the destinations like football games, boat tours etc. We were 2 blocks from the beach and we had a solarium on top of the hotel with lawn chairs and hot tub. Definitely would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: No pool and no fitness center. Glass block windows brought in a lot of sun in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed at the Royal South Beach Hotel during Art Basel Miami Beach week from December 4-10. Can't say enough positive things about this charming hotel! Mel, who greeted me upon check-in was super nice & friendly as well as helpful in her advise of local flavor. She told me it is important for guests to book directly through their hotel web site as there are other partners/owners of rooms in the hotel and the quality of cleanliness, etc can not be guaranteed if booked through 3rd party websites. So book through their direct site only to guarantee quality control!! The location was perfect! 2 blocks from the beach. The drive to Wynwood, downtown, etc was super easy right down from 8th & Washington to 5th Street and over. The room was SPOTLESS, which is my #1 priority. I was skeptical as the price was just too good to be true, so I was prepared for less than what I received. The room was spacious with a huge closet, great sized bathroom, fridge, sink, coffee maker & microwave in room. Also a cool modern furniture decor. I even parked my rental car on the street on the same block as the hotel at meter parking or a couple blocks away at public parking. I was so happy to score a room there!! I will be back next year!!! I HIGHLY recommend this hotel for budget conscious travelers looking for a great price, CLEAN, spacious room, convenience to everything and overall EXCELLENT experience!! THANKS MEL!! :)

Room Tip: Book directly through the Royal South Beach Hotel web site for guaranteed quality!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

After confirming our room twice...including once to inform of a late arrival, we arrived after midnight only to be told that our room had been given to someone else. AND, the man working the front desk was sitting there watching PORN!! He didn't even bother to turn it off when I arrived. After flipping through papers for 30 minutes, he said there was nothing he could do, there were no rooms left! After driving for 5 hours and arriving only hours before a competition, this was the last thing we needed. Expedia upgraded us and made it right, but this hotel experience was awful. Not to mention, it is in a bad section of town with people urinating right by the front door and crazy loud music. And the interior is NOTHING like the pictures. It is old and run down, not the slightest decor in the lobby. Never made it up to a room. Would absolutely not recommend this hotel. Thank you's only go out to Expedia for getting us a beautiful room and a couple hours of rest!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Princess Ann Hotel
#135 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Hotel Shelley
#99 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 973 reviews
The Clay Hotel
#112 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Chelsea
#81 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 667 reviews
South Pointe
Harrison Hotel
Harrison Hotel
#150 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Ocean Spray Beach Hotel
#156 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal South Beach Hotel

Address: 763 Pennsylvania Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal South Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An newly restored ultra hip historic hotel in the heart of the Art Deco District. Rooms feature unique, futuristic furnishings. Hotel is featured in "Best Designed Hotels in North & South America." Italian marble floors, tile bathrooms, high quality down bedding, refrigerators, CD players, flat screen TV w/cable, etc. We now have kitchenettes and high speed Internet access in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal South Beach Condo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.