We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel value on SoBe!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal South Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royal South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Royal South Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   763 Pennsylvania Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best hotel value on SoBe!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed at the Royal South Beach Hotel during Art Basel Miami Beach week from December 4-10. Can't say enough positive things about this charming hotel! Mel, who greeted me upon check-in was super nice & friendly as well as helpful in her advise of local flavor. She told me it is important for guests to book directly through their hotel web site as there are other partners/owners of rooms in the hotel and the quality of cleanliness, etc can not be guaranteed if booked through 3rd party websites. So book through their direct site only to guarantee quality control!! The location was perfect! 2 blocks from the beach. The drive to Wynwood, downtown, etc was super easy right down from 8th & Washington to 5th Street and over. The room was SPOTLESS, which is my #1 priority. I was skeptical as the price was just too good to be true, so I was prepared for less than what I received. The room was spacious with a huge closet, great sized bathroom, fridge, sink, coffee maker & microwave in room. Also a cool modern furniture decor. I even parked my rental car on the street on the same block as the hotel at meter parking or a couple blocks away at public parking. I was so happy to score a room there!! I will be back next year!!! I HIGHLY recommend this hotel for budget conscious travelers looking for a great price, CLEAN, spacious room, convenience to everything and overall EXCELLENT experience!! THANKS MEL!! :)

Room Tip: Book directly through the Royal South Beach Hotel web site for guaranteed quality!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    63
    50
    23
    38
See reviews for
11
88
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Port Richey
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

After confirming our room twice...including once to inform of a late arrival, we arrived after midnight only to be told that our room had been given to someone else. AND, the man working the front desk was sitting there watching PORN!! He didn't even bother to turn it off when I arrived. After flipping through papers for 30 minutes, he said there was nothing he could do, there were no rooms left! After driving for 5 hours and arriving only hours before a competition, this was the last thing we needed. Expedia upgraded us and made it right, but this hotel experience was awful. Not to mention, it is in a bad section of town with people urinating right by the front door and crazy loud music. And the interior is NOTHING like the pictures. It is old and run down, not the slightest decor in the lobby. Never made it up to a room. Would absolutely not recommend this hotel. Thank you's only go out to Expedia for getting us a beautiful room and a couple hours of rest!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel is central to everything!!!! Beach is about a 3-5 minute walk, stores are along the street, restaurants are all over the place, and the clubs (OMG they are all within 5 minutes within walking distance.) Loved it! The staff was friendly and very helpful

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Every year I'm coming back to this simple but good situated and nice hotel. The location is just great - very central 8th Street and you can walk to the Beach, Ocean drive etc. - very lively but not noisy. It has no restaurant and no pool but the Beach is 2 blocks away and many nice restaurants around. The rooms are quiet big with a small kitchen, big bathroom and everything clean and confortable. The staff is very friendly, kind and helpful. Always happy to come back as it is the perfect location!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here 2 outta five prepaid days. Thought I got a deal but rest assured I got bottom dollar. The web pics aren't even close. After the second night we checked out lost out on three days and paid three days at best western. It's just the boutique hotel isn't a holiday inn, crowne plaza it is well below those standards. Rooms are small, tiny, the building is old. No parking. Just don't ourself a favor pay the extra bucks it worth it for yourself.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

After reading everyone's reviews we were not expecting too much. First off, price was fair compared to others. Cheap parking is convenient with a public parkade just 5 minutes away. Location is amazing and felt safe. The night club downstairs runs Wednesday, Friday and Saturday. Other nights were just fine. Can't imagine how noisy it is for those hotels on beach drive that has bars and clubs EVERYNIGHT.

Only complaints were the air conditioning in our unit was faulty. It was unbearably loud. Luckily we brought ear plugs and worked just fine. Front desk gave us another room option with a better AC but we were too lazy to pack our stuff and switch rooms. We found a few ants crawling around the floor and made it onto the bed. No big deal since they did not bite. Just removed it and back to sleep. We were too tired from the sun to really care about the minor details. Overall Royal South Beach did its job.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel F, Manager at Royal South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We are sorry if your were inconvenienced in any way. We always make an effort to try to make our guests as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

The worst hotel ever I was just there July 20 when I arrive they didn't have my room they relocated me two 30 street far away from everything had two waste more money in cabs and the staff was the worst please don't stay there you will hate it looks verry run down I was a verry upset costumer. If u want a good hotel stay at the red great hotel

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel F, Manager at Royal South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are very sorry about your inconvenience. Rest assured it gives us no pleasure to have to relocate a guest. Unfortunately, there are circumstances that are beyond our control and we are forced to accomodate our guest at another location. We hoped that your stayed there was pleasant and I urge you to give us a call to discuss your situation in detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal South Beach Hotel

Address: 763 Pennsylvania Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal South Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An newly restored ultra hip historic hotel in the heart of the Art Deco District. Rooms feature unique, futuristic furnishings. Hotel is featured in "Best Designed Hotels in North & South America." Italian marble floors, tile bathrooms, high quality down bedding, refrigerators, CD players, flat screen TV w/cable, etc. We now have kitchenettes and high speed Internet access in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal South Beach Condo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.