We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel, very convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal South Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal South Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   763 Pennsylvania Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Budget hotel, very convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Hi all.. This is a little hotel in the heart of south beach.. The room is 4 mins walk to the beach, has a bus stop pretty much out side to downtown Miami..all really convenient..the rooms are pleasant though all in white furnishing can get a bit dirty..rooms gave cable, wifi and microwave.. There's also a balcony area with a sundeck great for sunbathing with a small jacuzzi to keep you cool... All in all very pleasant.. Just don't expect 5 star accom when it's a 2 star and you'll be satisfied!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel F, Manager at Royal South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank so for your feedback. We are glad you found our location convenient. Thank you. We hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    61
    47
    23
    38
See reviews for
10
84
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

This place was disgusting , the first smell when you walk in is terrible , like mould or grime , my room had 2 fridges and no stove .. Place is extreamly run down , honest spend the extra 40 a night somewhere else

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel F, Manager at Royal South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We are sorry you were not satisfied with the property. We really make an effort to keep the place spotless and comfortable for eveyone. We welcome your comments directly to the hotel so we may learn from our mistakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Carabobo, Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Sitio agradable, limpio, bonito, cerca de todo en South Beach. No se arrepentirán.

Very nice place, clean, pretty, near of everything in SOBE. You wont regret your stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel F, Manager at Royal South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you had a pleasant stay and hope you can stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The room was nice and clean. As other people have mentioned you can hear the night club, but we where out most nights later than the club closed. I would recommend this to anyone that is looking for a cheap clean place to stay and are only going to sleep in the room. We did have a problem with the toilet but they did fix it

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel F, Manager at Royal South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We are glad you had a pleasant stay. We hope you can stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The place was very clean and as seen in the pictures. The location was awesome. The rooftop was great to sit out on as well but keep in mind the jacuzzi up there does not work and i wouldnt recommend taking a dip in it lol. Um lets see the plumbing here has old pipes i guess so the septic system kinda sucked and my toilet got clogged a few times and overflowed once too. The shower could use a new head as well. Overall the place was cool for the price i paid on such an expensive weekend. If it wasnt for the few things above mentioned and the fact that my last night here the desk lady was overly nosy trying to peek in my room and had the nerve to question my guests and me when coming in at 430am AND following me up to my room pretty much causing a scene (mind you it was the only night we had gone out over the memorial weekend and we never bothered anyone) i would have gave this place 5 stars. The host was very responsive polite and helpful before and during my stay. Would i stay here again? probably not.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Great location for those who do not want to rent a car. It is possible to move by using public buses. The hotel is 3 blocks far from the beach and main Avenues like Collins Av., Ocean Drive and Washington Av.
The service was good, hotel personnel was nice and very helpful.
I recommend to improve the cleaning and the computer at the reception. Internet access is very slow when using hotel computer. When I used the wi-fi connection with my laptop I did not have any problem.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Royal just one night on our way down to Key West. We arrived before check in at around 11am. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We were allowed to leave our bags "locked up" while we went to lunch and waited for a room to be ready to check in to. The only problem with this was that the bags are "locked up" with what is essentially a bike lock right near the front door. This would certainly stop a thief from running off with your bags, but not from opening them. We made sure to take everything of value out of our bags and keep it with us. Other than this minor detail, this hotel was great. Friendly staff, clean room, and a good location. We were able to walk to all of our favorite spots on Washington and to the Lincoln Rd Mall area.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal South Beach Hotel

Address: 763 Pennsylvania Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal South Beach Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An newly restored ultra hip historic hotel in the heart of the Art Deco District. Rooms feature unique, futuristic furnishings. Hotel is featured in "Best Designed Hotels in North & South America." Italian marble floors, tile bathrooms, high quality down bedding, refrigerators, CD players, flat screen TV w/cable, etc. We now have kitchenettes and high speed Internet access in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Royal South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal South Beach Condo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.