We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A much better experience than other reviewers, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Design Suites at Castle Beach to your Saves list
Design Suites at Castle Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5445 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #155 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Long Beach
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A much better experience than other reviewers, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I must preface this review by saying that we rented directly from an individual rather than any of the management companies mentioned here (of which there are several).

The location is approximately 1 mile to the Publix grocery store - this makes for a nice morning walk to and from, plus an excuse to stop at the French Artisan bakery/restaurant along the way for breakfast! We used public transportation our entire stay - there are several bus lines that serve Collins Ave. and there is a stop right in front of the building. The buses run 24 hours.

We stayed for 15 days. We found the elevators to be prompt and didn't experience any delays. The security/front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool was lovely and seemed to be well maintained. Direct beach access was very nice. The lower lobby has a coin-operated laundry facility ($1.50 for each wash and $1.50 for each dry). There is also a convenience store with a wide array of products at the expected elevated price (it's a convenience store).

I keenly regret that there were roaches. We took extraordinary measures to control the situation but I have to say that the worry of scanning the counters every time you turn on a light is trying and I doubt I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Facundo Y, Guest Relations Manager at Design Suites at Castle Beach, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for your detailed and honest review. We knew our pros (like our great location and wonderful staff, always attentive and kind) Yet, it is highly important to take notes of the aspects that need improvement. We hope you come back and choose to stay with us again
Design Suites Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    225
    169
    107
    228
See reviews for
325
237
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We planned a trip for a group of 7 stay in for a fun miami weekend. Our 2 bedroom "adjoining suite", did not connect anywhere they are just two rooms side by side. Rooms were VERY poorly maintained, we kept finding huge roaches during our stay! The elevators don't work, the security is a joke, you have to give your credit card for beach towels that are small and filthy (and if not returned to the front desk they charge $20/towel), valet is also ridiculous- while trying to unload your luggage they will take your keys every time you walk in to put your items on the bellhop because there is no ramp to take one out to your car and no one will help you take in luggage. This gets very frustrating. We only planned to sleep at the hotel during our stay but it quickly made for a sour trip. Do not recommend, please read reviews before booking!! Some photos seemed nice but I didn't read the reviews before our trip and I wish I had, it will save you a hassle!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Facundo Y, Staff Design Suites Miami at Design Suites at Castle Beach, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thanks for your review.
First of all, on our listing we display that these studios can be communicated by a door or share a corridor.
We are working hard on the renovation of all the rooms.
Sincerely,
Design Suites Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I sometimes think that when someone says "disgusting" they are over reacting, but I have had it wrong all along. On the website it says that you can't check-in until 3:00 P.M. I called ahead to make sure and they said that i could check-in at 11:00 A.M. I arrived at the hotel at around 1:00 P.M. and discovered that i had to go downstairs in a basement-type place to check-in. Check-in took about an hour with a very unpleasant man that wouldn't even look at my face. when i went back up to the main lobby i saw that many of the people that i was traveling with looked upset. When i went over to them to ask them whats wrong, they pointed to a woman behind the desk screaming in Spanish at another woman to--and i quote--"sign the damn papers and get out of my face". Now this ladies and gentlemen is what i call RUDE staff.
I gathered up my party and took them over to the elevator to go up to our room. I don't know if they don't have enough funds or they just don't care or notice that the elevator system is a piece of crap. its not something that you see everyday. If you look up inside the elevator you'll find to my disgust that the ceiling paint is coming off in flakes. The first thing i did when i got to my room is sweep the floor, pick up two dead cockroaches (my friend almost fainted), and with a wet paper napkin take off the dust on the furniture. I requested a room with two queen beds and a sofa-bed. i got one queen bed and no sofa bed. I went outside and bought two inflatable mattresses. My people wanted to leave but i told them that we weren't gonna get our money back and that it was only three nights anyways.
I was horrified at the fact that staff didn't come every day and take out the garbage, dress the beds, clean the floor, NOTHING. The have absolutely NO maintenance. The bathroom has mold on the tiles that is just nasty. The pool looks like a puddle of pee, the beach was cold and almost nobody was bathing in it, and the hotel/condominium was absolutely disgusting. My stay at this hotel is one i'll never forget and NOT in a good way. I was counting the days till I left. My friends and I will never come back and I DON'T recommend this place to ANYBODY. For future reference I recommend that you read the reviews and then make a well-educated decision to weather or not you'll stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Facundo Y, Guest Relations Manager at Design Suites at Castle Beach, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Did you stay with Design Suites Miami?
Our office is on the Front Desk and it is open 7 days a week from 8 am to 12am and Our front desk staff, is trained weekly with the customer service standards.
Regarding the cleaning service, we provide cleaning every day, and we make sure that the rooms are in perfect conditions every time a guest checks in.
Thanks
Design Suites Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

All I have to say is that this is the most disgusting place I have ever stepped foot it. I found 3 cockroaches in less than 5 minutes. Told the reception and I was completely ignored. This literally just happened to me. I grabbed my things and left.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Facundo Y, Guest Relations Manager at Design Suites at Castle Beach, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Did you stay with Design Suites Miami?
Our goal is to satisfy our guests in order to make your stay as conforting as it can be.
So, with which company did you stay with?
Thanks!
Design Suites Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

party of 6 very understanding people.
Arrived at the hotel at 2pm and hour before check in...
Advertised free parking no mention of motorbikes not aloud, we turned up on 2 motorbikes and 1 car after lots of heated arguments with rude staff bikes are not aloud undercover in the car park and had to be left unprotected with no security on the main road (lucky they were there in the morning!!!!) we had to pay to park the car between. 2-3 (free parking advertised) then get the car out again to re check in under free parking all very un organised.

Checking in:
We new we were early and couldn't check in until 3, and we were only asking if there was a possibility to check in earlier to then be shouted at by "Hector" for him to go off and speak to a colleague loudly about how nobody understands it's 3 check in why are people so stupid! So so rude, one of the worst experiences we have all had at any hotel! (I could go on and on about his service at 3 when we checked in but it's not worth by thumbs typing! Terrible)

Room: hallway had no carpet, bare manky floorboards all half way through renovating.
Our suite was nice and spacious but not very clean had an American fridge with water and ice neither of which worked. I would not recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Facundo Y, Guest Relations Manager at Design Suites at Castle Beach, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Hi!
Did you stay with Design Suites Miami?
Our goal is to satisfy our guests in order to make your stay as conforting as it can be.
The valet parking service in included in the rate (one car for each unit is free)
So, with which company did you stay with? Hector is not a member of our team.
Thanks!
Design Suites Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

From start to end, the service has been more than great.me and my family will definitely look forward to doing this again. Nothing but good things to say about Design Suites Hotel. I would recommend this to my family members and friends.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Facundo Y, Guest Relations Manager at Design Suites at Castle Beach, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback, we are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
We hope to have you around with us again and be sure to let us know when you are coming so we can reserve your favorite room for you.
Please contact me at reservas@desigmiami.com for future reservations. It will be my pleasure to assist you.
Design Suites Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We arrived into Miami early in the morning from Atlanta GA. We went into the hotel about 6am and the security desk told us that the registration people weren't in until 8. OK that was fine so we went and ate and looked around town. At 8 we went back to try and check in early and they said we couldn't check in until 3 I kinda figured that so that was understandable. They made is pay to park our car until we checked in at 3. They barely spoke any English and are very argumentative people. We were just trying to get information on when we could try and check in and she snapped back at us "when I tell you its ready". When we tried to check in at 3 they made our friend rent a towel because his white shirt was wet and they could see through it. We finally got our room and it was OK. Definitely not what was advertised but it was decent. The beds were horrible and they do not change the sheets!!! Beyond gross I still had sand in my bed and I broke out in hives on my body from their dirty bed! We went down to the beach the next day and tried to store a few things in the registration area for a few hours which they had told us before was OK. But than 8 people walked in front of us and they let them store their bags and made us shove our stuff in a corner. One of the maid started screaming at us in Spanish about where the reception lady told us to put it. All around at every turn they were so rude no matter how nice we tried being. Dirty beds! We will never ever stay at this "hotel" again. I'm pretty sure a motel 6 is nicer with clean sheets and decent people.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Facundo Y, Guest Relations Manager at Design Suites at Castle Beach, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Hi!
Did you stay with Design Suites Miami?
Our goal is to satisfy our guests in order to make your stay as conforting as it can be.
Regarding the cleaning service, we provide cleaning every day, and we make sure that the rooms are in perfect conditions every time a guest checks in.
The valet parking service in included in the rate (parking for one car, each unit)
So, with which company did you stay with?
Thanks!
Design Suites Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel
#160 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 1,180 reviews
Deauville Beach Resort
#161 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 2,672 reviews
Beach Place Hotel
#114 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oceanfront
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort
Collins Hotel
#104 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Oceanfront
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#86 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Suites at Castle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Suites at Castle Beach

Address: 5445 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#93 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Design Suites at Castle Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design Suites Miami Beach, a beachfront property, is a selected group of condos on the emblematic Castle Beach Club -formerly The Playboy Hotel-. It has direct access to the beach, an outdoor pool and sun deck, fitness center, restaurant, pool bar, a grocery store in site, vending machines, laundry, dry cleaner, and Russian and Turkish bath. Guests can relax over the lounge chairs by the pool, with Wi-Fi access. All condos at Design Suites Miami Beach, feature a flat screen TV with cable channels, iPod docking station, Wi-Fi or cable access (free), safe box (free), kitchenette or full kitchen, daily cleaning and Free Valet parking. Only a 10 minutes' drive from South Beach and Bar Harbor, and 20 minutes from MIA International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Groupon so you can book your Design Suites at Castle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Suites At Castle Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Suites at Castle Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.