We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Decision - Look elsewhere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Travelocity
and 11 more sites!
Design Suites at Castle Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5445 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book now and Save 15%!
Ranked #157 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Bad Decision - Look elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Overall would never stay here again. Price was cheap due to booking very far in advance through a discount site, but it was in no way worth it. The place just needs A LOT to get itself up to date and has made half-of-an-effort to accommodate. You're much better off staying anywhere else. Really take a moment to read the reviews and make your decision based ont he experience of others staying here, it's really not recommended unless what you're looking for is simply cheap with no expectations. Booked *adjoining rooms* ended up with two separate rooms on two different floors, which were both different. 423 / 523 . 523 was clearly much better of the two though neither room was worth staying at ever again. There are clearly endless violations on this building all through-out, just keep in mind the photos on the website grossly over-promise.

Positives:
+ Convenience and price (after advance discount)
+ Internet is wireless (took a while to get it to work)
+ Free Parking included (1 spot per room, but be prepared it takes a very long wait to get your car out, 15-20 min every time, as valet is a requirement)
+ Pool
+ Beach Access

Neutrals:
0 - Cleanliness overall was so-so
0 - Staff overall was so-so
0 - "Kitchenette" (it's more *for show* and simply not realistic to even think of attempting to cook anything in the room)
0 - "receptionist" is actually Security Guards watching the cameras at the front entrance, this didn't necessarily bother me but appeared unusual and is only inches above a negative.


Negatives:
- Deceiving advertising (no clock, no phone, no radio, no ipod dock, no daily cleaning)
- No Breakfast options
- Lighting in the room is very limited and dimly lit (they use a small track lighting to light the entire room, any electrician could spend a pair of hours and put in a standard ceiling light centered and solve this problem for less then $200 and would be a very welcomed fix)
- Walls are paper thin (they were drilling nails from 8am-2pm from all sides and I could hear my neighbors watching tv / moving around)
- Far from the south beach strip (5445 = 54th Street)
- Elevators are ancient (only 2 working for 20 floors, very VERY slow long waits, approx 15-20 minutes, on top of the 20 minutes to get your car)
- Construction (I came for vacation and work, there were no listings or notices anywhere about construction going on, but that is all I heard all morning and day during my stay)
- "Limited View" meant a roof wall in-front of the window with bird poop all over it (literally)
- Rooms and hallways STUNK of cigarettes at all times
- Building needs A LOT of attention to fix up and restore, it's very out-dated all around and is just not in good shape.
- The Turkish Bath and shops downstairs were very questionable... if you have kids this is definitely not a hotel for your family... if you're just going to party you might not care as much
- Door knobs don't work or lock and are just *for show* (you have to use the deadbolt and shove the door open when unlocked)
- Beach area access is not where you want to spend time if you're thinking of "going to the beach" yes you have access and there is "a beach" but if you really want to be on south beach you'll need to get in your car, or take a bike, or cab down a good 2 dozen blocks.

Room Tip: Keep looking for a different place to stay. I would not stay here again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desigmiami, Owner at Design Suites at Castle Beach, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
HI! Did you stay with Design Suites At Castle Beach?
If you did, we are deeply sorry to know that your experience wasn’t what we give to all of our customers.
Our Mission is to give the best possible service to our customers. Still, there are some aspects that even though we try solve, they depend on weather conditions.
We are experiencing the last stage of a massive renovation in the building, and this may cause inconvenient noises during the day and delays on the request of the elevators (which are being changed one by one).
We have a weekly plan of extermination and disinfestation for it is a major problem in the city.
Our beds have been bought within the last two years, and we respond immediately to any claim that we receive. And last but definitely not least, our staff is monthly trained with the best customer service high standards, and our own reception is now open from 9 am to 9 pm.
We appreciate your review, and we look forward to your visit very soon offering you a 50 % discount on your next visit.
The Staff At Design Suites At Castle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    80
    68
    54
    127
See reviews for
142
103
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely disguising.. We booked through the design inn owners. The second we got in the room we saw 5 big cockroaches it was terrible. There is no wifi the floors were dirty and no cell phone service what so ever. Staff Is never around. I would never ever visit this hotel again as far as I'm concerned it should be shut down. Everything was dirty including the bed. Unless you like BUGS don't stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desigmiami, Owner at Design Suites at Castle Beach, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
HI! Did you stay with Design Suites At Castle Beach?
If you did, we are deeply sorry to know that your experience wasn’t what we give to all of our customers.
Our Mission is to give the best possible service to our customers. Still, there are some aspects that even though we try solve, they depend on weather conditions.
We are experiencing the last stage of a massive renovation in the building, and this may cause inconvenient noises during the day and delays on the request of the elevators (which are being changed one by one).
We have a weekly plan of extermination and disinfestation for it is a major problem in the city.
Our beds have been bought within the last two years, and we respond immediately to any claim that we receive. And last but definitely not least, our staff is monthly trained with the best customer service high standards, and our own reception is now open from 9 am to 9 pm.
We appreciate your review, and we look forward to your visit very soon offering you a 20 % discount on your next visit.
The Staff At Design Suites At Castle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is definitely advertising itself as something better than it really is. I read the reviews after booking on (unnamed website) for a greatly reduced rate without knowing its name first. I was a little worried, but figured, for the number of stars it has, even with these reviews, it can't be terrible, it must at least be average. And that's what it was. I definitely heard some complaints from people while we were there, though we didn't have anything major go wrong. The walls are PAPER THIN, however. Also, there was an unannounced four-hour water shutdown one morning (there were signs up in the hotel - but only once the shutdown had stopped, not before). After staying here, I was not annoyed or angry at all because of how much (or how little, as it were) I had paid. But had I been a full-paying guest, I probably would have been. The pool is nice, and the beach is right at your door, so what more could you want?... As someone who's "booked blind" before and been pleasantly surprised many times after finding out where I was staying, this was not one of those places, though....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desigmiami, Owner at Design Suites at Castle Beach, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
HI! Did you stay with Design Suites At Castle Beach?
If you did, we are deeply sorry to know that your experience wasn’t what we give to all of our customers.
Our Mission is to give the best possible service to our customers. Still, there are some aspects that even though we try solve, they depend on weather conditions.
We are experiencing the last stage of a massive renovation in the building, and this may cause inconvenient noises during the day and delays on the request of the elevators (which are being changed one by one).
We have a weekly plan of extermination and disinfestation for it is a major problem in the city.
Our beds have been bought within the last two years, and we respond immediately to any claim that we receive. And last but definitely not least, our staff is monthly trained with the best customer service high standards, and our own reception is now open from 9 am to 9 pm.
We appreciate your review, and we look forward to your visit very soon .
The Staff At Design Suites At Castle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I heard the worst things about this hotel and all I have to say is those things have been corrected or were untrue..This is more of a condo than a hotel and my biggest complaint is there is no concierge, telephone in the room, or services. However, for the price I paid, I can't complaint. It was clean, comfortable, beautiful pool, great food and bar service near the pool. There is no pool boy to get your chair, supply a towel and the same applies to the beach area which is absolutely gorgeous. Maid service supplies you with enough towels and the elevators work just fine. The valets were most helpful with directions and courtesy. It does help if you speak Spanish, you feel like you're vacationing in Some Latin country. There are several shops in the lower lobby where you can buy foodstuff to keep in your refridge since the suite comes with a kitchen which is nice since there is no room service.

Room Tip: Even if you are not facing the ocean there is still a nice view of Collins Ave, and the anal with it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desigmiami, Owner at Design Suites at Castle Beach, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
HI! Thank you for staying with Design Suites At Castle Beach!
Our Mission is to give the best possible service to our customers.
We are happy to know that your experience was favorable.
We look forward to your visit very soon!
The Staff At Design Suites At Castle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. We payed abut $100 the night and we really enjoyed our stay. You have to take into consideration that this hotel has different owners, therefore you have to just look at who it is that you are renting the apt from.

The hotel has a beautiful pool, and pool area. From the pool, you are able to see the beach view. It is amazing! The sunset is gorgeous! The hotel also has a mini market with a super nice staff. They were nice enough to help us with where to go clubbing and where we should shop as well.

WE WOULD DEFINITELY STAY HERE AGAIN! THANK YOU.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desigmiami, Owner at Design Suites at Castle Beach, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
HI! Thank you for staying with Design Suites At Castle Beach!
Our Mission is to give the best possible service to our customers.
We are happy to know that your experience was favorable.
We look forward to your visit very soon!
The Staff At Design Suites At Castle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed for three nights at the beginning of March. We felt the hotel was a good value for the price. We had an Ocean View room with a microwave and fridge for about $100 per night. The room was not updated or spotlessly clean. This area definitely could use some improvement.

The staff at the front entrance were very helpful and courteous. They were available to answer all questions and went above the call of duty to see that we enjoyed our stay in Miami.

The pool area is awesome at this hotel. It is a large pool with a huge patio that is kept very clean. There is also a reasonably priced restaurant in the pool area. The food there is very good.

The beach access is also nice here. The only thing that would make it nicer is to have beach chairs available. Otherwise it is a great location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desigmiami, Owner at Design Suites at Castle Beach, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
HI! Thank you for staying with Design Suites At Castle Beach!
Our Mission is to give the best possible service to our customers.
We are happy to know that your experience was favorable.
We look forward to your visit very soon!
The Staff At Design Suites At Castle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Not a place I would book again but I used Hotwire and you get the name of the Hotel after finishing the booking only. Its may be a place for school trips ore spring break party but not for families or couples, who want spent a nice time in Miami. No warm welcome, cold white rooms like a hospital, whole building in a bad kosmetic condition.You get much nicer places for this money we payed for the room here. the stuff trie to be friendly but you can feel it, nobody likes the job there. no wonder with so many unsatisfied guests around them. The location on the beach and the pool is nice. But thats the only nice things about it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desigmiami, Owner at Design Suites at Castle Beach, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
HI! Did you stay with Design Suites At Castle Beach?
If you did, we are deeply sorry to know that your experience wasn’t what we give to all of our customers.
Our Mission is to give the best possible service to our customers. Still, there are some aspects that even though we try solve, they depend on weather conditions.
We are experiencing the last stage of a massive renovation in the building, and this may cause inconvenient noises during the day and delays on the request of the elevators (which are being changed one by one).
Our beds have been bought within the last two years, and we respond immediately to any claim that we receive. And last but definitely not least, our staff is monthly trained with the best customer service high standards, and our own reception is now open from 9 am to 9 pm.
We appreciate your review, and we look forward to your visit very soon .
The Staff At Design Suites At Castle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Design Suites at Castle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Suites at Castle Beach

Also Known As:
Design Suites At Castle Beach Hotel
Design Suites At Castle Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Address: 5445 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#157 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Design Suites at Castle Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design Suites at Castle Beach is a selected group of the best suites in this emblematic building of Miami Beach. All of our suites have a fully equipped kitchenette, 32" LCD, WIFI, and everything that you need to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Design Suites at Castle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Suites at Castle Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Design Suites at Castle Beach to your Saves list