We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Important for ALL- expirience from room 415” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Design Suites at Castle Beach to your Saves list
Design Suites at Castle Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5445 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
europe, German
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Important for ALL- expirience from room 415”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Dear all,

Firstable, something for all who want to put here some words:
PLEASE, when you leave here your experience, please, please, please... write your Unit No. it will be the best help for readers. Because lot of people doesn`t know that Castle Beach Club is not a clasical hotel, This is condo association and in that building you have a lot of unit owners. Some of them are great and take care about their unit, but also there is a lot of owners who are not responsible and do not take enought care about cleaning etc.
Because I was there (Castle Beach Club) two times, 2009. and 2011. and my experience is beautifull I beg you all, leave your room number, because some people who read our experience can`t know a real and try story about this place. When I was in searh, I was a little bit scary about stories of this building, but when I went there it was so difrent feeling. Location is THE BEST. You have a Ocean and the beach in your garden, right beside a great pool and the room 415 is so cute and it was so clean. Al inside was so fresh. That owner diserve the best rating. Believe me!!! I was there and first and second times we stay there 21 day. I recomend to you this place and Unit 415. Agency who represent this owner is so, so profesional and responsible. Like you can see the point of this place is which unit you will take- From responsible and profesonal owner or ..... someone who is nothing of that. All other stuff are o.k. You have a free parking place per room(valet parking), bus station is infront of building, you have small market, restorans and more interesting in the building... What other to say- GO there but be careful about unit and if you get some dirty room , ask from your agency or owner to be refunded and find the other one nice like 415 :-) That is your right and you have legal right to ask and do that. Goooooood luck!!! Regards from Europe
P.S. Maybe it will be helpful, I will leave to all of you link from unit I use -Unit 415 -(name: Garden)
http://www.miamiapartmentsrent.com/Unit.mvc/Details/42294

Room Tip: Clean, comfortable, internet, all the best for my Unit and location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    143
    110
    76
    172
See reviews for
216
155
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I stay there only one night with my three granddaughters (18,14,8). When I walk in the hotel
hall was dirty o my god. Inside townhouse more disaster, when I check bedroom, bad look like somebody just weak up, not change not clean,sheets was in big wood container, I have worry to toush the sheets they was dirty and I didn't want to cover my self with them. When I call owner (Peter from Russia)he doesn't like to talk with me, finally when he show up, he offer me million thinks just stay there (dinner, spa .....). I would like to walk out but he tell as stay here and we can talk tomorrow morning. After he left I went check the beach ; dirty, lot of cigarette's all over the beach was not even 2 meters clean, shower outside broken, tiles broken just disaster - no privacy . I will show you all pictures you can see at. I will add all pictures tomorrow. We stay up all night. On the morning he didn't show up, didn't even pick up the telephone. Then lady she work there she try to call him from different tel.number he didn't know was me, he tell me he can't come over he need to go to the church.. We drove the car 25 hours from Canada, when you think about the rest boom big surprise ...all night up. I just left. I can't stay there not even one more minute. He is not owner of the hotel I think he's doing werry bad name for them.

Room Tip: Don't even think stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Despite the mixed reviews on the site, we booked a bayside studio here for a weekend celebration with friends. It is an older hotel/condo but it right in the middle of millionare's row. Like the reviewers state, most of the condos are owned by different people.

Pros: Our room wasn't a five star hotel room but the room was clean and secure and that is all we required for the short time there. The studio had a a mini fridge, microwave and small appliances if you wanted to make a late night snack. The owner provided towels for the room and if we needed more, it wasn't a problem getting them. The building itself is under contruction but the people, especially the the security chief, were helpful and very nice. On the bottom level there are shops and 2 ATMs.

Cons: The elevators are slow. The laundry rooms are use at your own risk and on some floors do not work.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

My fiance and I stayed there for 5 nights on the 6th floor. Our room was very clean, quite and overall very homely. It appeared to have been recently remodeled but did not have any paint after smell in it. It was fully equipped and functional with a small kitchen, two bedroom and bathroom. Interesting though was that if we wanted our room cleaned daily ($15 charge each day) or other concerns we had a name and number of some one from the fourth floor. This makes me think that perhaps different people or companies own/rent/lease different rooms/floors in Castle Beach and it is not like your traditional hotel where one company owns and is responsible for all the rooms and services.
The 6th floor hallway was literally being finished up with brand new carpet when we arrived. Nice color and softness. The workers were courteous.
Our view faced inland and was very nice. The valets are a plus, especially since the service is free, and they all worked hard to accommodate every one. They were professional and polite. Well worth a tip each time.
The lobby was absolutely stunning with beautiful chanderliers, a pool like blue ceiling, new carpet, paint and art works. In the lobby the front desk staff were helpful and friendly.
The pool was large and clean and went to a depth of almost 10 feet.
The beach access and view is absolutely to die for. The crystal clear ocean is breathtaking to say the least. There are also many nearby restaurants, both fast food and more formal as well as grocery stores and pretty much anything else one might need on a vacation.
I read a number of the reviews for this Club before our trip and it seems that many travelers have arrived during the construction that seems to have been going on for quite some time. To be honest I was quite concerned about this before our trip in thinking we might get down there to a room that was in desperate need of a re-due.
There appeared to be a other construction going on in other parts of the Club so that brings up the question to which rooms/floors have been redone and which haven't. This I cannot answer so my best advice is to do ask questions and be specific. Is the room I am going to be staying in been remodeled yet or is it to be done in the future. What if I am not happy with my room when I arrive...what are my options on getting a different? Is there a specific person or company who takes care of the room where I will be staying and how can I contact them before my trip?
So to sum up, the Castle Beach Club is a nice place to stay with courteous staff. The parts of it that have already been remodeled are beautiful. The pool is nice and the gem by far is the beach and ocean. We'd be happy to stay there again in the future. A couple tips of advice are to come with a GPS...you'll be glad you did and if you haven't driven on Collins ave before then prepare to be alittle confused for awhile til you get the hang of how all the traffic works driving up and down Miami Beach.

Room Tip: Be clear that you will only make reservations if they guarantee you will get a room that has already...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwood, Texas, USA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Didn't like having to wait on valet. Film was being made and couldn't use lobby. Lobby was only place to get internet. The film crew was snotty and smelly. The halls were filthy. The place only provided 6 towels and we had 8 people. Pictures on rental site were misleading. Was supposed to be two bedroom. Was actually one bedroom with large livingroom and bed in it. The other bedroom was in a dungeon. One bathroom has such small shower, that even a midget would have trouble fitting in it.
Beach was beautiful, which is one of the only positive points. Pool was ok.
Traffic is terrible and road system is horrendous. Drivers are a nightmare. People are unfriendly.
Won't be back. Will go to Cancun next time. I didn't go there this year because of all the hoopla about drug gangs. After experiencing the people in Miami, will take my chances there in Mexico.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011 via mobile

ok,so this review is a little late.but I felt like it would be a sin not to warn other people about this place.the place is super creepy,mold all over the place.and dont even get me started on the state of the bed.i'm sure I would have fallen ill if I had slept on it.other than the location there is not 1 good thing I can say about this place.please help yourselves=avoid this place at all costs

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We travelled to Miami Beach in February after NYC and Orlando. We had 3 nights and needed a place to fit two adults and two teenagers. We went through condo rental company and took the insurance offered for $25. I dealt with the owner's representative and we had a unit on the M level. It had a large kitchen, washer, dryer and two bathrooms. We had the two bedrooms upstairs and ocean view. Unfortunately the view was good but balcony was under construction. The unit is older but functional. Only problem was a few fittings in the bathroom had deteriorated and downstairs toilet was not flushing properly. We knew it was older when we booked so this wasn't a problem. The wifi worked perfectly and the kitchen and lounge was clean. We were met at reception by Edith, who maintains the unit and she was lovely and helpful and rushed to great us as we arrived earlier than expected. Security was good. This unit is cheaper because it isn't five star but as we spent very little time there except to sleep, it was fine. Booking was done over the internet with rep Natasha who answered our questiones and we had no problems with our security deposit return etc. Like mentioned in other reviews, Castle Club units are owned by many people so do some research, look at all reputable rental sites and review sites. I will add some photos soon.

Room Tip: Research and look at travellers photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Design Suites at Castle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Suites at Castle Beach

Address: 5445 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#97 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Design Suites at Castle Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design Suites at Castle Beach, a beachfront property, is a selected group of condos on the emblematic Castle Beach Club -formerly The Playboy Hotel-. It has direct access to the beach, an outdoor pool and sun deck, fitness center, restaurant, pool bar, a grocery store in site, vending machines, laundry, dry cleaner, and Russian and Turkish bath.Guests can relax over the lounge chairs by the pool, with Wi-Fi access. All condos at Design Suites at Castle Beach, feature a flat screen TV with cable channels, iPod docking station, Wi-Fi or cable access (free), safe box (free), kitchenette or full kitchen, daily cleaning and free parking.Only a 10 minutes’ drive from South Beach and Bar Harbor, and 20 minutes from MIA International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Design Suites at Castle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Suites At Castle Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Suites at Castle Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.