We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hermetically Sealed Total Rip Off” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Palms Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Palms Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hermetically Sealed Total Rip Off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We JUST checked in, 6/22, to our "Oceanfrront" room which overlooks about 600' of rooftops, THE WINDOWS DO NOT OPEN. When I called the front desk a smug person named Fibio told me there are no rooms in this with balconies or windows that open. The room smells creepy, not surprising as it is essentially a tomb. We checked out with 10 minutes of checking in.

Room Tip: Do not stay here - if you must ask for a room on the 12th floor - there are balconies on that floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear NewYorkWaterGirl,
I regret that this was your experience and I am disappointed to hear that you chose to depart early, as we would have loved the opportunity to find the perfect room for you. Our windows do not open so that we can ensure comfortable humidity levels and comply with our zero mold tolerance in the hotel rooms, as well as adhere to safety and security ordinances. We do offer Balcony Suites and guestrooms of all sizes with different views and locations throughout the hotel, from illuminating City Views to breathtaking Ocean Views so we can accommodate all of our guests unique preferences. Should your travels bring you back to the Miami Beach area in the future, I hope you will contact me directly so I may assist you personally with making your reservation and ensuring a flawless guestroom experience and relaxing, tranquil stay at our beautiful pool and beach areas.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    441
    121
    65
    67
See reviews for
276
577
37
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a kid-free weekend getaway. The hotel is beautiful. Very tasteful decor and the grounds are lovely. The hotel staff was very accommodating and pleasant. The restaurant is a must. The food was amazing and the service was wonderful. The spa was also very nice. We had a couples massage that was very enjoyable--especially with the Aveda products.

Our first room was on a lower level, and we weren't pleased with the view, so we upgraded to a higher floor where we had a picturesque view of Miami Beach. The room was also larger with a couch/coffee table space unlike the first room. Both rooms were nice, but it was worth the upgrade for the view.

The gym is clean and has all that you need for a vacation workout - combination of about six cardio machines, free weights and nautilus equipment.

I would highly recommend this hotel for couples or families. You are close enough to get to south beach easily, but you aren't in the heart of the nightlife (which I think is the best of both worlds).

Room Tip: Pay for a higher floor, beach-side room. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear C THeather,
It was a pleasure to have you as our recent guests at The Palms Hotel & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and much appreciation for your kind words regarding our staff, hotel grounds, Essensia Restaurant and Aveda Spa. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our gym. We recently installed 2 brand new Matrix elliptical and a Precor stationary bike. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back next time your travels bring you to Miami Beach.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Beautiful outdoor property: private pool and beach with lounge chairs, poolside bar, live parrots.
Tastefully decorated guest rooms with comfortable beds. However, rooms were not very soundproof. We could hear every conversation that occurred in the hallway outside of our room. Valet parking costs $35/night. All poolside bar/restaurant bills include an automatic 18% tip.

Green Features: Recycling bins in guest rooms and throughout hotel property. Disappointed that poolside food and drinks were served in disposable plastic cups.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Palms surpassed our expectations. We were able to check-in early into an oceanfront room with an incredible view and the room was tastefully decorated. There were these lamps filled with shells, a picture on the wall of a tropical flower and a light switch on the wall to illuminate it. We had 2 small bathrooms, a sink in each room with a toilet in one and shower in the other which also had a rain shower head! The toiletries were Aveda products (they have an Aveda spa on-site). They also provided spa robes and slippers. In the evening, housekeeping does the turn down service and left us Godiva chocolates on our bed, nice touch. A bottle of red wine was left in our room, compliments of the General Manager which was a nice gesture.

We enjoyed several meals at their restaurant, Essensia, and was seated on their lovely terrace. The property is very tropical, garden setting and even has 2 beautiful parrots that were the main attraction. The décor, lighting and furnishings throughout the hotel has a modern feel and enjoyable to view.

The beach chairs and umbrellas provided to guests on the beach were a pretty turquoise blue and updated patio furniture. The cushions were very comfy on the chairs. Even the beach towels were plush and soft. There was staff available to order food and drinks and they would run back to the hotel and deliver it to you. We ended up having our lunch seated at a table poolside but was nice that we had the option if we didn't want to leave our beach chairs.

Unfortunately we did not make the time to use their spa. They did give us a tour and it was a nicely decorated spa. The weather was so nice, could not justify spending time away from the ocean and pool.

We will definitely revisit some day, and highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for an intimate, romantic, tropical, modern style hotel with lots of amenities.

Linda & Tom

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and reserve an oceanfront room, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Luxurious, contemporary-colonial style in a laid back, unpretentious ambiance.

My daughter and I arrived early and waited on the terrace for our room to be ready. Someone from the front desk came outside to find us and bring us the key- what a warm welcome!
The room is tastefully furnished and decorated. The beds are super comfy. Shower and toilet are separated and I was pleased to see that they have a "green" toilet system- environmentally conscious. All was impeccably clean.
The outside is a tropical oasis with breathtakingly beautiful landscaping. (Caribbean meets South Beach.) There are several areas with chaise lounges, either around the pool or in the sandy part with tiki huts for shade. That's where my daughter had fun in the hammock. Unfortunately we missed the tour of the hotel's own organic garden.
The beach is just a couple of steps away, across the board walk, much less crowded than further south.
You can order food/drink at the pool and beach area and sit around the happening tiki style bar.
Breakfast on the outside terrace is quite extensive. We had dinner at Essensia with lovely service and amazing food.
This resort is a bit north of the hustle and bustle of flashy, trendy South Beach, but a 5 min. cab ride (20 min. walk) gets you there.
Waiting for your ride or valet, you can help yourself with fruit infused free water.
I'm having trouble finding fault....

Can't wait to go back with the whole family.

Green Features: From recycling, green toilets to the hotel's own organic garden and food at Essensia restaurant; they seem to really care.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southold, New York
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I celebrated a 50th birthday here with some awesome friends and had an outstanding stay! The rooms and grounds were clean and beautiful. The pool , beach and food were excellent. We have been to South Beach many times and have stayed more South, where it is much busier. Even with all of construction going on, it was a pleasure. Friends enjoyed the spa treatments, while other spent alot of time under the Tiki Hut bars. Staff, Service and food quality was exceptional. I have to say that the bed and bathroom (rain or hand shower heads) in our room was delightful.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor, as lower floors look out over a roof or vegetation
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The Hotel is a jewel box – has the feel of an intimate Inn combined with all the hotel / spa / resort options & services looked for while on a beach front resort vacation. The design, décor, landscaping & lighting of the hotel building is terrific & housekeeping keeps it impeccable - Same goes for the pool & the beach grounds.
After being at The Palms for a day - I was calling the hotel the "land of yes!" all staff encounters from check in @ the Front Desk-to Essensia-the Pool-the Beach-the Lounge-the Gift Shop-Housekeeping-the Spa-the Bell Staff were helpful & professional & cheerfully made the stay fun comfortable & enjoyable. All the staff members that provided the Hotel’s services while we vacationed @ the Palms were great!
The location is central to all the SOBE shopping & hot spots should you wish to venture from your beach lounge! We plan to return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel & Spa

Address: 3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us welcome you with genuine service and laid-back sophistication at our serene oceanfront resort, set in the heart of Miami Beach. Soul-reviving AVEDA spa experiences, natural gourmet cuisine at Essensia and newly renovated rooms, all inspired by the beautiful nature surrounding our sanctuary. Discover Miami Beach’s award-winning independent beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Splendia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Palms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel And Spa
The Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms South Beach
The Palms South Beach
Miami The Palms
Palms Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.