We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Miami beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Palms Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Palms Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 20% Here!
Ranked #59 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Roanoke
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Miami beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

This was a great place to stay in Miami Beach. The hotel was very nice, with ample rooms. The hotel is located about 13 blocks from South Beach which was okay with us since we did wish to be in that area due to the noise at night. The on site dining is very good, but is a little expensive. You can walk to Lincoln Road where there is a lot of good eating places. There is no on site parking at the hotel, so you are better doing the valet parking. Overall our experience was very good.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here at the end of April. We had a great time. We were upgraded our room to a nice corner room facing the street and lobby area of the hotel. All of the staff members were accommodating and most were attentive. Loved the pool and beach areas. I did find that the wait staff at the pool and beach were above average as they were friendly and remembered your name, but sometimes I had to go and ask for things. I don't expect to be waited on hand and foot, but there were times when we got our lounge chairs and nobody would ask if we needed anything for a half hour. Don't know if it was busy, understaffed a bit maybe. Overall though, it was a very relaxing and pleasant experience. Definitely would be back to this hotel. If you stay here, take advantage of the Aveda spa. We both got the Salt Scrub and a couples massage that was excellent. There's a nice sauna you can use in the waiting area after you check in for the spa and they give you ice cold bottled water in between all the things you do there. Essensia is a very nice restaurant, had dinner there 4 times, and every meal was excellent though a little on the pricier side. The Essensia staff members were perfect. Thanks Palms Hotel & Spa, you made my girlfriend's first visit to Miami a good one.

Green Features: This is a pretty cool idea, but I'm not sure it really impacts much in the way a hotel guest would value the hotel itself. But it's neat that they are doing this.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Been coming to the beach for years so I'm particular. The Palms met all my expectations. Friendly, helpful staff. Beautiful decor with numerous options for spots to relax and enjoy. Attentive amenities from complimentary slippers to ice with turndown service. The fruit flavored water was in endless supply as you relax by the pool or ocean. Gorgeous, well-tended grounds with dazzling orchids and ginger plants. The addition of pet parrots added to the already interesting array of birds spied on the property. There were complimentary print newspapers and ample coffee supplies in room. Just a perfect spot to enjoy why we love Miami Beach and still feel at home.

Green Features: definitely a plus, it even has a garden for herbs and vegetables on the grounds. It shows that it understands our important connection with nature.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley Beach, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

My girlfriend and I visited The Palms in April 2014 and the entire experience was a pleasure. We had booked the "Ultimate Romance Package" which included two free breakfasts (for both of us) as well as a candlelit 5-course dinner in a private cabana. The food at Essensia in the hotel is amazing. There wasn't a thing on the menu I disliked and everything was bursting with fresh, citrus, and natural flavors. I highly recommend the duck sliders as an appetizer.

In the morning, few breakfast buffets compare to the one at The Palms. The spread is outrageous, complete with fresh fruits, belgian waffles, an omelette station and my girlfriend's favorite - fresh croissants paired with "the most delicious brie" she's ever had.

The pool area is clean and beautiful surrounded by palm trees, orchids, and beautiful / friendly parrots. The private beach is equally as nice with fresh towels, reclining chairs, umbrellas upon request.

If you have the opportunity to get a couple's massage in the spa, I also HIGHLY recommend it. Everyone at the entire resort was friendly and accommodating.

I especially want to thank Daniel S. at the front desk for checking up on us throughout our stay and for making sure everything was perfect.

Green Features: The entire resort is built with nature in mind which results in an environmentally friendly experience, but not the kind that seems like an excuse just to cut costs. They really care.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Strato D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

First time staying here in Miami. Best parts were the breakfast buffet and location to beach Service and staff eager to please. Our room with king bed could use some sprucing up. Badly in need of better pillows too. Had to remind housekeeper to empty garbage and replace light bulb. Also called to fix door lock. It's all in the details. More attention should be given to room before next guest checks in.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank favorite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us at The Palms Hotel & Spa. We truly appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to address our guests concerns and gain an invaluable guest perspective on ones experience. We appreciate your kind words regarding our helpful staff and pleased that you enjoyed breakfast buffet at Essensia. I was however, disappointed and taken aback to read about your guestroom experience. Guestroom functionality and cleanliness are top priority at The Palms hence our guestrooms are constantly being upgraded by way of our preventive maintenance program. I would love the opportunity to speak with you personally about this stay if you would kindly reach out to me at alma@thepalmshotel.com
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vufflens-le-Chateau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stayed there with my husband and 13 years old son. I made the reservation thru booking.com for 3 people and payed 395.- dollars plus taxe. It was our last night in Florida after a 2 weeks roud trip. We had the opportunity to sleep in many other middle class hotels and kept the best for the end. But We were very disappointed about our room witch was really small, especially the beds and just next to the elevator. The bathroom had no space to tidy our things for 3 people. 2 adults in one narrow bed for that price! I asked at the reception to change for having bigger beds, but nothing else was possible without paying a surcharge. We paied also 85.- dollars more for a late departure. I was really looking forward staying there, fortunately the breakfast having outside was great, but no pancakes, and the acces direct to the beautiful beach with beach chairs is great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c_bonnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for being our recent guests at The Palms Hotel & Spa. We truly appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to address our guests concerns and gain an invaluable guest perspective on ones experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed having breakfast at Essensia terrace but regret your disappointment with your accommodations. We offer several different room types, sizes and locations throughout the hotel at all levels and price points, so that we can accommodate all of our guests unique preferences. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to find that perfect room for your next stay. Please contact me directly next time your travels bring you to Miami Beach and I’ll be happy to handle the details of your reservation.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Overall, the facilities at the hotel were good. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the pool was nice and our kids loved it. The beach was wonderful. Some of the staff were very good.

However, we had three interactions with staff that turned out to be not so good; enough that it brought my review from what would have been 5 stars down to 3, and means we probably would not consider the Palms for any future visits to Miami.

1. At check-in, we were greeted well and everything seemed good. We upgraded our room for 2 nights of our stay; there was no upgraded room available for the third night but we were okay with that. The check-in person gave us certificates to cover the cost of our children at breakfast for each day. She failed to mention that the adults breakfast was also included, and that we would also receive a $25 credit towards a meal at the restaurant in the hotel. Not a big deal, and we were able to get it straightened out but still... if your hotel offers things like this, tell the guests.
2. As we didn't have a car for the visit, we made arrangements with the concierge to take a visit to Jungle Island. We should have done our research as we vastly overpaid, but that's on us. However, the tour operator (Paradise Tours) that brought us between the hotel and the attraction was... well, bad. (The details of that are going in a separate review). When we got back, we told the concierge that we were extremely disappointed that she would recommend an operation like that, she basically said sorry and that there wasn't anything she could do.
3. We had a lot of luggage as we had been on a cruise prior to our stay. Knowing this, we called down to bell services to ask them to call for a minivan taxi as the quantity of luggage would not fit in a normal cab. He brought the bags down, and we went to check out. After we checked out, we went around the corner to see him and a cab driver trying to force our luggage into the normal sized cab. Which of course involved a lot of shoving, slamming. We found later that the zipper of one of the bags had been so damaged in this process that the suitcase is no longer usable.

It's a shame - the hotel is a nice one, some of the staff really seems to care but the inattentiveness or indifference of a few ruined the experience for us. The noise of the construction next door, while not the fault of the Palms, did enter the room through a poorly constructed window. In all honesty, next time we're in Miami we're going to find a differnet hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
I am truly disappointed to hear about your recent visit and the fact that you would not consider the Palms for your future visits to Miami. Clearly we fell short of your expectations and delivering genuine, attentive service and follow thru which you should have received. We have reviewed your comments together as a team extensively and will use these as an integral enhancement towards our training efforts. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to continue to improve upon our guest services and genuine hospitality deliverance. I would love to speak with you directly so that we may hopefully have the chance to regain your loyalty and patronage as a valued Palms guest once again, if you would be so kind as to contact me (alma@thepalmshotel.com or 305-908-5477) at your leisure.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Thompson Miami Beach
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Beach Hotel
#62 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 3,593 reviews
Oceanfront
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#97 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel & Spa

Address: 3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us welcome you with genuine service and laid-back sophistication at our serene oceanfront resort, set in the heart of Miami Beach. Soul-reviving AVEDA spa experiences, natural gourmet cuisine at Essensia and newly renovated rooms, all inspired by the beautiful nature surrounding our sanctuary. Discover Miami Beach’s award-winning independent beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Palms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel And Spa
The Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms South Beach
The Palms South Beach
Miami The Palms
Palms Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#