We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodations, Needs More Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Palms Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Palms Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Advance Purchase $180
Ranked #54 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodations, Needs More Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Just finished a 3 night stay at the Palms. Had a wonderful time. There are some aspects, however, that guests will want to be aware of.

PROS
- Delightful accommodations. Nice pool area. The beach was spacious and not too crowded. Tiki Bar was well-equipped, and the porch and lounge area were great in the late afternoon. The size was a good fit too. Not insanely huge like some of the larger resorts, but had everything we wanted with none of the crowds.
- Location. The resort is in between the popular deco strip downtown area and the Clubby Fountainbleu Resort. We were able to walk to both and enjoyed its location right on the boardwalk. Not a far cab ride either.
- Value. The rooms themselves are wonderfully decorated, and well-maintained. For the price and the location, the room rate is a great deal.

CONS
- Fees on fees on gratuity/tax on fees. I knew this going in, but in case you didnt, Miami is EXPENSIVE. After visiting, it seems obvious that the Resorts make the majority of their money on the food and booze you buy, not the rooms. Menu prices are not inclusive of a hefty Miami tax or a 18% tip. I think most people would tip 18% anyway, but with the taxes and gratuity added on everything, it always felt that the bill was much higher than what you'd expect looking at the menu. Again, not a big deal, but something to be aware of.
The bigger deal were some of the fees. Resort fees of $14 a day per person add up, and other fees like $75 early check in are certainly not appreciated. We we're checked in at 11am, which was very nice, and worth the money in my opinion, but still seemed a bit excessive. I have not experienced this in any other hotel around the world, but again, this is Miami, so expect to pay up. There was also an odd $39 lost towel fee, which we didn't experience, but was widely advertised. Its these little ticky-tack things that make the place feel less luxurious than it is
- The Staff. The majority of the staff we encountered were very nice, but they were sparse and few between. Long waits for food and drinks were not uncommon, especially if you were ordering from the beach. The poor guys are very hard workers, but they need more help. I hope hotel management considers it.

OVERALL - Had a great stay and would come again. If you know it's going to be expensive, and anticipate it coming in, you'll have a great time. Relax and enjoy the sun, and try not to think about being nickel and dimed - you'll have a much better time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    402
    113
    62
    56
See reviews for
251
527
35
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The Palms is a beautiful oasis on Miami Beach which has a European-like feel in the rooms. However, while the rooms are beautifully appointed, be prepared for their really small size that makes them challenging to maneuver in (we had 2 adults and a teenager, and could barely find space to stow our luggage). The hotel overall was spotlessly clean and service was excellent. Our favorite find was the amazing coffee that Pauline brews in the gift shop that's a great option for breakfast items (Pauline was wonderful too!). The hotel restaurant Essensia is excellent albeit pricey, with beautiful outdoor and porch seating areas. Be aware that the hotel automatically charges an 18% gratuity on all restaurant and bar purchases. The Palms has one of the wider sections of beach along the coast, and the chaise lounges and umbrellas are included unlike some of the other resorts along the beach. Tiki Bar also provides food & beverage service on the beach which is nice. The beach had nice white sand and the water was crystal clear - a bit cool in February but not too cold for swimming (although surf was a bit rough and ocean had a bit of a tow (yellow flag) for the majority of the week). It was 83 degrees and sunny the entire week so we had no complaints! There's a wonderful boardwalk right between hotel and beach that runs several miles along Miami Beach and South Beach. The biggest downsides were not at all specific to the hotel, but Miami: the amount of annoying smoking on the beach and in the outdoor hotel/restaurant areas (since it's allowed in Miami), and the amount of "air noise" from the constant helicopters and small airplanes towing banners up and down the coast all day (the only day we noticed a momentary lull was on Sunday morning). We would readily go back and stay at the Palms again - it was a great winter vacation getaway!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing neighboring high-rise residence under construction in order to avoid any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Boston Beachnik,
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests at The Palms Hotel & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to review and share your “Palms” experience with us. I will certainly let Pauline know how wonderful she is and her amazing coffee. Thank you for your recognition! We appreciate your kind words regarding our “beautiful oasis” and look forward to welcoming you back next time that your travels bring you to Miami Beach.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Escaping the -26 weather back home we decided to stay at the Palms Hotel and Spa. When we arrived the staff were very friendly from the valet parking (which is the only option $35/day) to the front desk and the concierge staff Andrea who was helpful in making spa reservations. Lunch by the tiki bar was beautiful with a staff that was very pleasant (we had a lovely lady serve us lunch who was eager to please) and the surrounding reminded us of our time in Costa Rica with all of the trees and birds around us. The food was and drinks at the tiki bar was good we enjoyed the Mediterranean wrap and pulled pork lunch menu.
NEGATIVE THOUGHTS:
While standing in the lobby, my husband accidentally bumped into the other lady working at the concierge desk and was very apologetic but in return he received a dirty look from the staff which was unexpected.
While ordering room service for tea (which cost $7) I had asked for a side of lemon and honey and when it arrived we got packs of sugar and limes. I was not pleased and called the front desk and asked for my money back, hopefully they did not charge my room for this expensive mistake.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Marianne C,
Thank you for taking the time to review The Palms Hotel & Spa and for being our recent guests. We appreciate your lovely comments regarding our friendly valet parking, front desk and concierge team members. Much appreciation for acknowledging Andreea, our Concierge! I regret the inconveniences you mentioned and would like the opportunity to discuss further. Kindly contact me at alma@thepalmshotel.com I look forward to your email.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The Palms is visually a beautiful hotel. The lobby reminds you of a bye gone age with ceiling fans moving gracefully as you check in. The problem is the bedroom/bathroom design, if you are staying a couple of nights for a conference the facilities are fine, but if you doing a serious trip and have several bags to unpack there is very little wardrobe or drawer space and the bathroom is hopeless, no space at all and the toilet is so cramped a large person or someone with long legs would be very uncomfortable, a shame as the is plenty of floor space between the bedroom and bathroom to sort this situation out. This is a short term stay hotel, a romantic week end or a short stay conference, perhaps management should try staying in a room for a week and see thr problems for themselves.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed at the Palms for 2 nights on the way from the Bahamas to NYC.

Hotel and facilities were adequate. Great serviced lounge area on the beach.

Only negative is the location as it is a reasonable walk back to the main area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at The Palms Hotel & Spa. We find that being located on 30th street and Collins is a perfect locale for our guests, as this allows for enjoying the peaceful tranquility of our secluded & pristine beach while still having the option to head down to Ocean Drive by walking a mere 1.6 miles or 2.5 kilometers down our beach boardwalk to the heart of South Beach or a short 5 minute cab ride. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back next time that your travels bring you to Miami Beach.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon, in which we traveled around Florida. From the minute we walked into the lobby it was like being transported to a tropical island. The room was perfectly decorated and was cleaned to such a high standard!
The pool facilities were brilliant, the pool itself was large and clean and when not soaking ourselves we availed of the comfy loungers which there are plenty of. We had food by the pool and it was amazing as well as the service by the pool staff.
One of the days whilst sitting by the pool, we encountered a couple of beautiful Green Iguana's which I'm told are regulars here. They didn't bother anybody other than cooling themselves down from the hot Miami sun. And the hotels Birds are really beautiful!
At this end of the beach, which is the quieter end there is a lot of construction work going on close by but it never bothered us and there was very little noise if any!
My wife used the spa facilities (had a mani/pedi) and was delighted with herself afterwards.
We got a room service a couple of nights and the food was so tasty!
The staff were really courteous and helpful!
It is a decent walk but nice walk to the center of the action of South Beach but Taxi rides are less than $10.

All in all this place is pure serenity, absolutely PERFECT!

Room Tip: Beach Facing on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear nymco,
It was a pleasure to have had you as our guests and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Palms Hotel & Spa. We appreciate your lovely comments regarding our beautiful property, clean rooms, pool, lush gardens, delicious food, and courteous and helpful staff! I am very glad to read that your stay was absolutely perfect! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I hate to say we were not able to stay at this resort due to extreme cancellations at the airport because of snow. However, even though it was the day we were to arrive, the reservations department, namely Gio, made our serious disappointment a little better by being so helpful.
I will definitely plan to stay at The Palms again because of the customer service,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Jane W,
I am sorry to hear that you didn’t get to stay due to the snow! I sure hope you are able to visit soon and enjoy our beautiful gardens, pool, beach, Aveda Spa and Essensia Restaurant. Thank you for reviewing your reservation process and I am glad to read that Gio was very helpful. I will definitely share with her your feedback. When you are ready to book your stay, please contact us directly so we can handle the details of your reservation.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel & Spa

Address: 3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us welcome you with genuine service and laid-back sophistication at our serene oceanfront resort, set in the heart of Miami Beach. Soul-reviving AVEDA spa experiences, natural gourmet cuisine at Essensia and newly renovated rooms, all inspired by the beautiful nature surrounding our sanctuary. Discover Miami Beach’s award-winning independent beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Palms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel And Spa
The Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms South Beach
The Palms South Beach
Miami The Palms
Palms Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.